Graal Forums  

Go Back   Graal Forums > Development Forums > Videos
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2009, 02:47 AM
WaDaFack WaDaFack is offline
*
WaDaFack's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 419
WaDaFack is an unknown quantity at this point
HD Recording

Anyone know any HD-Screen Recorders?
One similiar to this quality would be nice
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2h38fc2pzxI&feature=fvw

. . .and yes, I know it's not free.
Im willing to pay
__________________
WaDaFack

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2009, 03:09 AM
cbk1994 cbk1994 is offline
the fake one
cbk1994's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 10,718
cbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to cbk1994
Absolutely, there is a completely free one.

Please excuse the link (or remove it if you must...)

<-- click

It's free, and it records in a lossless format. I've been able to record the entire screen and movement looks completely smooth. You'll have to convert it using some converter, though, unless you mess around with the settings (which I haven't), because the lossless format it records to is huge in file size.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2009, 03:18 AM
Crono1508 Crono1508 is offline
*Shadow (Convoy)
Crono1508's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 488
Crono1508 will become famous soon enough
Also to state that is it possible to record Graal in HD and make them HD format on youtube.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2009, 05:36 AM
fowlplay4 fowlplay4 is offline
team canada
fowlplay4's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,200
fowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond repute
Recording Graal in HD is rather excessive, you'd get the whole level with black on the edges..

However recording in High Quality is a whole different story.
__________________
Quote:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2009, 05:41 AM
WaDaFack WaDaFack is offline
*
WaDaFack's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 419
WaDaFack is an unknown quantity at this point
I'm not only using it for Graal, but also for other games like CS:S, CoD4, GunZ etc.
:O
__________________
WaDaFack

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2009, 06:00 PM
fowlplay4 fowlplay4 is offline
team canada
fowlplay4's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,200
fowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond repute
Try Fraps then, but you will definitely need to re-encode the raw avi files afterwards.
__________________
Quote:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-20-2009, 06:29 PM
WaDaFack WaDaFack is offline
*
WaDaFack's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 419
WaDaFack is an unknown quantity at this point
Fraps doesn't record in HD, does it?
I mean, all the videos I've seen recorded by Fraps had a High Quality option but never a HD one :O
__________________
WaDaFack

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-20-2009, 06:33 PM
DustyPorViva DustyPorViva is offline
Will work for food. Maybe
DustyPorViva's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 9,589
DustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to DustyPorViva Send a message via MSN to DustyPorViva
HD is just a matter of quality. Raise the quality, reslotion and frames(20?) and BAM, 'HD'.

However, afterwards you have to upload it as HD, and I'm not sure what that requires on youtube, because no matter how high the quality of the recording, youtube will dumb it down if you upload it standard.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-20-2009, 10:57 PM
cbk1994 cbk1994 is offline
the fake one
cbk1994's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 10,718
cbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to cbk1994
YouTube's HD is basically:

Video format: MPEG-4, H.264, or uncompressed (which is a really bad idea)
Data Rate: 2000 kbits/sec or higher
Image Size: 1280x720 - you MUST reach this size, scale if needed (use a letter box if needed)
Frame Rate: 15 fps or higher (from my experience, this could be wrong)

This might help a bit, especially if using QuickTime to export.



If you do it right, you can come out with some nice videos:

(click to view in HD - this looks a lot better on YouTube's site because of the landscape player)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-19-2009, 05:56 PM
Crono1508 Crono1508 is offline
*Shadow (Convoy)
Crono1508's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 488
Crono1508 will become famous soon enough
I know its an old thread, but I wanted to show you that Graal in HD is possible.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E5XsWbOohCY&fmt=22

It isn't really HD, its just uploaded in the HD format. A lot clearer than you think.
Its the best settings I found. Notice how it takes up the entire screen (no black edges)

I disabled the sound in the video.

Try fullscreen mode too, looks really good on a widescreen monitor.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright (C) 1998-2019 Toonslab All Rights Reserved.