Graal Forums  

Go Back   Graal Forums > Development Forums > NPC Scripting
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2008, 08:24 PM
DarkReaper0 DarkReaper0 is offline
No.
DarkReaper0's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas,USA
Posts: 344
DarkReaper0 will become famous soon enough
Send a message via MSN to DarkReaper0
level.tilelayers[0].z and you

Edit: I suppose the thread should actually be level.tilelayers[0].z ..... crap

I've been wondering for quite some time now why it is that a simple script like this automatically gives someone the ability to walk over tiles.

PHP Code:
//#CLIENTSIDE
function onPlayerEnters() {
  
level.tilelayers[0].z=1//Moves the z value up one
  
level.tilelayers[0].y=1//Moves Y down one so the level still looks the same.

I mean....seriously now....is there a point to this? The tiles dont even draw over the player so to yourself and everyone around you, you're just plain wall-hacking.

And isn't it unsafe to have this clientside anyway...? I'm not too familiar with hacking tools.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2008, 09:00 PM
DarkReaper0 DarkReaper0 is offline
No.
DarkReaper0's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas,USA
Posts: 344
DarkReaper0 will become famous soon enough
Send a message via MSN to DarkReaper0
No thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2008, 10:12 PM
Chompy Chompy is offline
¯\(º_o)/¯
Chompy's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 2,815
Chompy is just really niceChompy is just really niceChompy is just really nice
Send a message via MSN to Chompy
You often (almost all the time) need to wait more then 36 minutes to get a respond Always been like that, atleast in the scripting section.

Anyways, pretty cool thing you found there :o Should be fixed if you ask me.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2008, 10:42 PM
Rufus Rufus is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,698
Rufus has much to be proud ofRufus has much to be proud ofRufus has much to be proud ofRufus has much to be proud ofRufus has much to be proud ofRufus has much to be proud of
It's just the way Graal handles y/z. The z-axis is pretty much identical to the y-axis in terms of how it's drawn.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loriel View Post
Seriously, you have ****-all for content and you're not exactly pulling in new developer talent, angling for prestigious titles should be your last concern.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2008, 10:45 PM
LoneAngelIbesu LoneAngelIbesu is offline
master of infinite loops
LoneAngelIbesu's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toldeo, Ohio
Posts: 1,049
LoneAngelIbesu has a spectacular aura aboutLoneAngelIbesu has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via AIM to LoneAngelIbesu
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
It's just the way Graal handles y/z. The z-axis is pretty much identical to the y-axis in terms of how it's drawn.
With players, the z-value affects the distance of the body from the shadow. With tilesets, there's no reference point to see the up/down movement. You guys probably know this, though.
__________________
"We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars."
— Oscar Wilde, Lady Windermere's Fan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2008, 11:01 PM
coreys coreys is offline
N-Pulse Assistant Manager
coreys's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,180
coreys has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via AIM to coreys Send a message via MSN to coreys Send a message via Yahoo to coreys
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chompy View Post
You often (almost all the time) need to wait more then 36 minutes to get a respond Always been like that, atleast in the scripting section.

Anyways, pretty cool thing you found there :o Should be fixed if you ask me.
It's been around so long. This is nothing new, just no one knows about it.
Now they will.
gg, guys, gg.
__________________

Quote:
*SlikRick: so should I even ask about your aim status?
*Xor: well if you want to
*Xor: but i am LARPING
*SlikRick: While on a computer?
*Xor: yes
*Xor: in my living room
*SlikRick: ahh
*Xor: i have a fort setup to hide from beasts
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-08-2008, 12:08 AM
DarkReaper0 DarkReaper0 is offline
No.
DarkReaper0's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas,USA
Posts: 344
DarkReaper0 will become famous soon enough
Send a message via MSN to DarkReaper0
-shrug- I'm just saying its a silly thing to have.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-08-2008, 02:59 PM
Admins Admins is offline
Graal Administration
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Admins
Posts: 11,693
Admins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud of
It's made so that tile layers above zero are not blocking because they are for decoration
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-08-2008, 06:23 PM
xXziroXx xXziroXx is offline
Master of Puppets
xXziroXx's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,288
xXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant future
Send a message via AIM to xXziroXx Send a message via MSN to xXziroXx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan View Post
It's made so that tile layers above zero are not blocking because they are for decoration
I believe the "issue" is that the layers can't be displayed above the players.
__________________

"A delayed game is eventually good, but a rushed game is forever bad." - Shigeru Miyamoto
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-09-2008, 01:47 AM
DarkReaper0 DarkReaper0 is offline
No.
DarkReaper0's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas,USA
Posts: 344
DarkReaper0 will become famous soon enough
Send a message via MSN to DarkReaper0
Yeah if your going to let us move the z value of the tiles to be decorational....shouldn't we be able to draw them above the player or other useful things? Petition for full tilelayer manipulation please.

Last edited by Darlene159; 09-11-2008 at 05:25 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-09-2008, 04:36 PM
Inverness Inverness is offline
Incubator
Inverness's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 3,613
Inverness is a jewel in the roughInverness is a jewel in the rough
I've been wanting more customizable tile layers for forever and a more flexible layer system.

And I suppose a server option would be needed so nothing is broken.

Basically make it so layer 200+ is the GUI and everything below it can be in the level. Of course nobody will ever need that many but that just makes it similar to image indexes. With that you could put tiles on any layer from 0 to 199 and they would draw above or below the player depending on what layer the player is on.

Example: A Bridge
Layer 0: the whole of the level, including what is under the bridge. Players are here.
Layer 1: This overlayes the bridge over players. Players walk under this if on layer 0.
Layer 50: Shadows Morning
Layer 51: Shadows Noon
Layer 52: Shadows Afternoon

When a player is going to walk onto a bridge, a script switches his layer to 1. This makes the player draw on the bridge and above any players walking below it. Changing to layer 1 means the player is using that layer's tiletypes so even if there is water below the bridge it doesn't matter. A system script hides and shows the shadow layers depending on time of day.

I suppose a way to make it compatible with things as they are now would be to have a tilelayer variable. Tiles would be on layer -1. Putting anything else like the player on layer -1 makes it subject to the tilelayer variable, which controls the tile layer you walk on and such.
__________________

Last edited by Inverness; 09-09-2008 at 04:48 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-09-2008, 11:49 PM
DarkReaper0 DarkReaper0 is offline
No.
DarkReaper0's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas,USA
Posts: 344
DarkReaper0 will become famous soon enough
Send a message via MSN to DarkReaper0
+1 for Inverness Idea.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-19-2009, 05:04 PM
xXziroXx xXziroXx is offline
Master of Puppets
xXziroXx's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,288
xXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant future
Send a message via AIM to xXziroXx Send a message via MSN to xXziroXx
Bumping in hopes of Stefan adding this with the next Graal version, as it's probably the most wanted change.
__________________

"A delayed game is eventually good, but a rushed game is forever bad." - Shigeru Miyamoto
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-19-2009, 05:10 PM
Loriel Loriel is offline
Somewhat rusty
Loriel's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 5,059
Loriel is a name known to allLoriel is a name known to allLoriel is a name known to allLoriel is a name known to all
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inverness View Post
Layer 0: the whole of the level, including what is under the bridge. Players are here.
Layer 1: This overlayes the bridge over players. Players walk under this if on layer 0.
[...]
When a player is going to walk onto a bridge, a script switches his layer to 1. This makes the player draw on the bridge and above any players walking below it.
This is pretty much what is already possible with NPCs and attachplayertoobj. It is also pretty ****ty because you could stand next to the bridge and instead of walking onto it, throw a bush right through it into the water.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-20-2009, 06:52 PM
DarkIceX DarkIceX is offline
(Developer)
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 125
DarkIceX is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inverness View Post
I've been wanting more customizable tile layers for forever and a more flexible layer system.

And I suppose a server option would be needed so nothing is broken.

Basically make it so layer 200+ is the GUI and everything below it can be in the level. Of course nobody will ever need that many but that just makes it similar to image indexes. With that you could put tiles on any layer from 0 to 199 and they would draw above or below the player depending on what layer the player is on.

Example: A Bridge
Layer 0: the whole of the level, including what is under the bridge. Players are here.
Layer 1: This overlayes the bridge over players. Players walk under this if on layer 0.
Layer 50: Shadows Morning
Layer 51: Shadows Noon
Layer 52: Shadows Afternoon

When a player is going to walk onto a bridge, a script switches his layer to 1. This makes the player draw on the bridge and above any players walking below it. Changing to layer 1 means the player is using that layer's tiletypes so even if there is water below the bridge it doesn't matter. A system script hides and shows the shadow layers depending on time of day.

I suppose a way to make it compatible with things as they are now would be to have a tilelayer variable. Tiles would be on layer -1. Putting anything else like the player on layer -1 makes it subject to the tilelayer variable, which controls the tile layer you walk on and such.
Pleasepleasepleaseplease Stefan!
__________________

Bloodvayne
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright (C) 1998-2019 Toonslab All Rights Reserved.