Graal Forums  

Go Back   Graal Forums > Development Forums > NPC Scripting
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-15-2014, 01:31 AM
scriptless scriptless is offline
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N-Pulse
Posts: 1,412
scriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to behold
gmap's with multiple tile sets...?

Okay so I have a gmap, and I set a default tile set for all levels. I set all levels with another prefix to use a different. But when I enter the second level, it changes tile set for both levels. Like the level I am in, and the other levels around it also show using that tile set. Is there any way to prevent this behavior?

PHP Code:
  removetiledefs("");

  
// Set our overworld's tileset
  
addtiledef("other_tiles.png"""0);
  
addtiledef("pics1.png""vol"0); 
When I am in any level vol I see pics1.png and while standing in the level all levels that should be using the other tiles look like pics1.png until I enter those levels.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-15-2014, 05:02 AM
Jakov_the_Jakovasaur Jakov_the_Jakovasaur is offline
Deleted by Darlene159
Jakov_the_Jakovasaur's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Deleted by Darlene159
Posts: 353
Jakov_the_Jakovasaur has much to be proud ofJakov_the_Jakovasaur has much to be proud ofJakov_the_Jakovasaur has much to be proud ofJakov_the_Jakovasaur has much to be proud ofJakov_the_Jakovasaur has much to be proud ofJakov_the_Jakovasaur has much to be proud ofJakov_the_Jakovasaur has much to be proud of
its an age old limitation, most recently mentioned here - http://forums.graalonline.com/forums...85#post1728685

one possible way around it depending on the amount of tile differences is to use addtiledef2() on the entire gmap
__________________
This signature has been deleted by Darlene159.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-15-2014, 05:07 AM
Crow Crow is offline
ǝɔɐɹq ʎןɹnɔ
Crow's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,153
Crow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond repute
addTileDef2() is preferred here. You'll just have to make sure that your differences in tiles are not overlapping with nearby levels, and then add the required rules to neighboring levels as well.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-15-2014, 08:23 PM
scriptless scriptless is offline
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N-Pulse
Posts: 1,412
scriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to behold
What do you mean by overlaping? I'll look into it when I get home. Thanks for the point in the right direction.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-16-2014, 05:30 AM
Elk Elk is offline
Sr Marketing Strategist
Elk's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Deerland
Posts: 3,829
Elk has a brilliant futureElk has a brilliant futureElk has a brilliant futureElk has a brilliant futureElk has a brilliant futureElk has a brilliant futureElk has a brilliant future
Send a message via ICQ to Elk Send a message via AIM to Elk Send a message via MSN to Elk Send a message via Yahoo to Elk
youll most likely have to put the script and level definitions in a global weapon that the player has, something like -Environment or -System, whichever

easier control over things

the tileset overlaps because it saves unneccessary resources i think, this wasnt considered when it was programmed and superhighresolutions didnt exist...maybe
__________________
iEra IGN: *Elk (Darkshire)
iCla. IGN: *Elk (Darkshire)
iZone IGN: *Elk (Darkshire)




Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-16-2014, 05:55 AM
Crow Crow is offline
ǝɔɐɹq ʎןɹnɔ
Crow's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,153
Crow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by scriptless View Post
What do you mean by overlaping? I'll look into it when I get home. Thanks for the point in the right direction.
addTileDef2() is for replacing small parts of the tileset, not the whole tileset at once. Let's say you have a base set. Then there's a specific subset of 100 tiles you need in a certain level, but not anywhere else. In a level next to that, there's 50 different tiles you only need in that level. First off, you'll need to make use of addTileDef2() in the surrounding 8 levels of both the first and second level as well. This includes the second level for the first level's tiles, and the first level for the second level's tiles; so you will have to make sure that those 100 tiles do not overlap the 50 tiles of the second level, and vice versa.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright (C) 1998-2019 Toonslab All Rights Reserved.