Graal Forums  

Go Back   Graal Forums > Graal V6 forums > Bug Report
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 13 votes, 4.69 average. Display Modes
  #1531  
Old 10-13-2012, 12:54 AM
cbk1994 cbk1994 is offline
the fake one
cbk1994's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 10,718
cbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to cbk1994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crono View Post
Majority of Graalians won't care to be honest. It is a shame but it would be nice if such smoothness and accuracy could be achieved without port-forwarding.
Port forwarding shouldn't be needed for server-to-client UDP (did Stefan actually remove this? ).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #1532  
Old 10-13-2012, 01:02 AM
alskdjfhg alskdjfhg is offline
alskdjfhg
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 192
alskdjfhg is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crono View Post
Majority of Graalians won't care to be honest. It is a shame but it would be nice if such smoothness and accuracy could be achieved without port-forwarding.
It'll probably kill the competition in events/pking/sparring for those who like things to register properly/smoothly
Reply With Quote
  #1533  
Old 10-13-2012, 01:28 AM
fowlplay4 fowlplay4 is offline
team canada
fowlplay4's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,200
fowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond repute
Along with the switch to UDP as the main Graal data protocol. I think there should be regional servers setup to relay player location information similar to hows others connected to each other using P2P (UDP). While this wouldn't necessarily make it smoother for people in NA to spar people in Europe it would make it better for people in Europe to spar each other.
__________________
Quote:
Reply With Quote
  #1534  
Old 10-13-2012, 08:29 PM
Admins Admins is offline
Graal Administration
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Admins
Posts: 11,693
Admins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud of
The new version v6.033 has been uploaded:

- Fixed problems with the volume of sounds in ganis on gmaps
- GuiMLTextEditCtrl: Shows spaces at the end of the document
- GuiMLTextCtrl, menus: stop selecting or close menus when you move the mouse out of the window
- Drawing of showimgs on drawing panels should work better now (not clipped to 64x64 pixels)
- Improved the speed of drawing ganis with multiple body sprites in the same frame (less texture updates)
Reply With Quote
  #1535  
Old 10-13-2012, 08:54 PM
DustyPorViva DustyPorViva is offline
Will work for food. Maybe
DustyPorViva's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 9,589
DustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to DustyPorViva Send a message via MSN to DustyPorViva
Quote:
Originally Posted by Admins View Post
- GuiMLTextCtrl, menus: stop selecting or close menus when you move the mouse out of the window
That's not the right solution. It shouldn't cancel highlighting if your mouse moves out of the text area/window because it still means you have to be very precise to highlight. It should maintain highlighting but also keep checking mouse input and look for if you let go of the left button.
Reply With Quote
  #1536  
Old 10-13-2012, 09:33 PM
fowlplay4 fowlplay4 is offline
team canada
fowlplay4's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,200
fowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Admins View Post
- GuiMLTextCtrl, menus: stop selecting or close menus when you move the mouse out of the window
This is good and bad. Good in that it doesn't do what I said anymore but bad in that when you're highlighting if your mouse goes outside the window it stops highlighting.

In an RC text window you can highlight and your mouse can leave the boundaries of the window but it keeps track of the mouse position and buttons so when you left off the mouse button it stops highlighting.

You can see what I mean by opening a large script (1000+ lines) and trying to highlighting the entire thing using your mouse. Here's an example of what I'm asking for:

__________________
Quote:
Reply With Quote
  #1537  
Old 10-13-2012, 10:01 PM
ffcmike ffcmike is offline
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London
Posts: 2,029
ffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to ffcmike Send a message via MSN to ffcmike Send a message via Skype™ to ffcmike
Could the fact that no sounds are played while Graal isn't the selected window possibly be an option rather than forced?
It's quite useful to be able to hear a player whistle to you while Graal is minimised, or even as you're typing a PM as that also prevents sounds.
Reply With Quote
  #1538  
Old 10-13-2012, 10:38 PM
Admins Admins is offline
Graal Administration
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Admins
Posts: 11,693
Admins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud of
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustyPorViva View Post
That's not the right solution. It shouldn't cancel highlighting if your mouse moves out of the text area/window because it still means you have to be very precise to highlight. It should maintain highlighting but also keep checking mouse input and look for if you let go of the left button.
Yes but it's a compromise, will need to somehow get the input when it's outside, can check it sometime. Any bigger problem which still needs to be fixed before official v6 release?
Reply With Quote
  #1539  
Old 10-13-2012, 11:15 PM
dragonfire08 dragonfire08 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
dragonfire08 is an unknown quantity at this point
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Admins View Post
Yes but it's a compromise, will need to somehow get the input when it's outside, can check it sometime. Any bigger problem which still needs to be fixed before official v6 release?
yes, the last 2 versions of v6 have been what i've considered finally tolerable lag wise but v5 is still faster in pretty much all ways than the current beta of v6. the input lag from the keyboard on v5 is way less than it is on v6 still. v5 still handles npc and gani spams way better than v6 lag wise. for windows users you should update the version of directx graal uses, what is it directx7? would directx 9 be a big issue? everytime i log into a server with v6 i need to push my tab key twice or click inside the graal window in order to be able to walk anywhere, this is annoying. also when installing v5 and v6 freshly to compare the 2 i notice a difference with their installers. the difference is when u install v5 the files game_config and game_console are both placed on the desktop with the graal shortcut, when doing this with the v6 installer only the game_ config file is placed on the desktop with the graal shortcut. is this intended? just curious. when comparing the 2 versions i assure you that ive properly deleted anything graal related from both my c drive and regedit with ctrl+f and have freshly reinstalled both of them (not at the same time of course) by right clicking their setup files and saying run as admin. my video drivers aren't broken either :P so there is no logical reason for v6 to be all around more laggy fps and input wise than v5 is . like 8/10 people i ask say v6 is more laggy for them so thats why theyre still using v5. if you release v6 now and force v5 users to update many people will be unsatisfied and unhappy i assure you.
Reply With Quote
  #1540  
Old 10-13-2012, 11:22 PM
fowlplay4 fowlplay4 is offline
team canada
fowlplay4's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,200
fowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonfire08 View Post
"lag" complaint
Try changing to OpenGL mode in F3.
__________________
Quote:
Reply With Quote
  #1541  
Old 10-13-2012, 11:25 PM
dragonfire08 dragonfire08 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
dragonfire08 is an unknown quantity at this point
also here is a list of errors that happen on zodiac every time i open the client now with this new update.

C:/Users/jake/Graal/webfiles/http%058%047%047external%046ak%046fbcdn%046net%047 safe_image%046php%063d%061AQB%0459%0459ErpLQEJkg%0 38w%06190%038h%06190%038url%061http%0373A%0372F%03 72Fwww%046graalonline%046com%0372Fthemes%0372Fplay erworlds%0372Fimages%0372Ftrynow%046png for writing!
File download: zodiacminimap.txt not found
File download: hat.png not found
File download: tempsitcbd.ttf not found
File download: neg_discipline.png not found
File download: secret~3.gif not found
File download: elk_zodlight.gif not found
File download: shopglobal_gelat.png not found
File download: hat10008.png not found

seems the client still cant download all the needed files

script errors
Script: Function CT.destroy not found in function onPlayerEnters in script of Weapon +ClassTrainer
Script: Function CMP.destroy not found in function onCreated in script of Weapon +ClassMasteryPoints
Script: Function QuestInfo.destroy not found in function onCreated in script of Weapon +Quest
Script: Function QuestInfo.destroy not found in function onPlayerEnters in script of Weapon +Quest
Script: Function esub not found in function GetCritical of systemfunctions in script of Weapon -AntiHack
Script: Function Player dragonfire08.sendMessage not found in function onCreated in script of Weapon +ChatChannels
Script: Function getMoonPhase not found in function gmoon of systemfunctions in script of Weapon +Status


plz fix
Reply With Quote
  #1542  
Old 10-13-2012, 11:34 PM
ffcmike ffcmike is offline
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London
Posts: 2,029
ffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to ffcmike Send a message via MSN to ffcmike Send a message via Skype™ to ffcmike
The past 2 versions of V6 have caused a bug with a certain gani, which doesn't seem to be related to files not being found.

V5:

Name:  shackv5.png
Views: 112
Size:  1.7 KB

V6:

Name:  shackv6.png
Views: 107
Size:  1.5 KB

Gani is attached.
Attached Images
 
Attached Files
File Type: gani classic_player_buildshack_01.gani (23.5 KB, 191 views)
Reply With Quote
  #1543  
Old 10-13-2012, 11:44 PM
dragonfire08 dragonfire08 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
dragonfire08 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by fowlplay4 View Post
Try changing to OpenGL mode in F3.
i did sir, opengl is less laggy indeed. i was just mentioning the directx stuff because i would just like the directx version in v6 to be superior than opengl in the windows version :P
Reply With Quote
  #1544  
Old 10-13-2012, 11:58 PM
Hoyt1134 Hoyt1134 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 18
Hoyt1134 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Admins View Post
The new version v6.033 has been uploaded:
- Drawing of showimgs on drawing panels should work better now (not clipped to 64x64 pixels)
Thanks for working on this! I've been looking forward to using this feature.
Reply With Quote
  #1545  
Old 10-14-2012, 02:54 AM
Admins Admins is offline
Graal Administration
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Admins
Posts: 11,693
Admins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud of
Please stay on topic, and try to keep the problem short and easy to understand and no jokes please, the goal is to finish and release v6, it's been five years since the last release and we can't keep doing so another five years.

About gani: don't use extremely huge textures, if possible no graphics larger than 1024x1024 pixels. This means no tilesets as npc graphic (@ffcmike)
About DirectX: it's using DirectX 9, this should be more compatible than v5 although some graphic drivers might actually be slower. On the other hand we have made a lot of optimizations. Please download and use the latest version before posting lag problems.
About Zodiac errors: I'm not sure what the problem with the serverlist news image is, but the other errors are Zodiac related.
About selecting text: you can hover the mouse over the scrollbar or bottom bar with the line number to get it scrolling. I can understand that it's not perfect but it should not be something which prevents the release of v6.

Seriously, what is needed before releasing v6?
Please report problems like:
- crashes
- broken functionality
- major compatibility problems on servers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
graal v6, windows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (C) 1998-2008 Linux cyberjoueurs All Rights Reserved.