Graal Forums  

Go Back   Graal Forums > Development Forums > Level Design
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 11-24-2011, 07:52 PM
DustyPorViva DustyPorViva is offline
Will work for food. Maybe
DustyPorViva's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 9,589
DustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to DustyPorViva Send a message via MSN to DustyPorViva
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbk1994 View Post
You should put this on GitHub so it's easier to keep track of changes and contribute to. I wouldn't mind trying to fix the memory stuff if you do that.
Sorry, missed this post.
https://github.com/dustyshouri/NW2PNG2.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by ffcmike View Post
No errors were returned for me this time which is good for generating a basic map, however no characters/ganis were rendered.
I tested it with a GS2 showcharacter() in the following script:
Graal Script Code:
function onCreated() {
  
// Initialize the attributes
  
showcharacter();
  
this.headimg     "head19.png";
  
this.colors[0]   = "orange";
  
this.colors[1]   = "gray";
  
this.colors[2]   = "gray";
  
this.colors[3]   = "brown";
  
this.colors[4]   = "black";
  
this.shieldimg   "shield1.gif";
  
this.shieldpower 1;
  
this.dir 3;
  
setcharani("walk",null);

  
this.startx this.x;
  
this.starty this.y;

  
this.this.starty 5;
  
this.this.startx 16;

  
this.shadow.-= 1;

And it worked fine. Could you email me the gmap and levels, or at least one of the levels that's having problems? [email protected]
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-24-2011, 08:10 PM
ffcmike ffcmike is offline
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London
Posts: 2,029
ffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to ffcmike Send a message via MSN to ffcmike Send a message via Skype™ to ffcmike
Actually it was my mistake, the gani files were not within the cache, there being no "gani file not found" error.

Edit: Now the weird thing is, I've updated filenamecache, but the program is just getting stuck on generating, there being no command prompt in the background.

Last edited by ffcmike; 11-24-2011 at 08:33 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-24-2011, 09:18 PM
DustyPorViva DustyPorViva is offline
Will work for food. Maybe
DustyPorViva's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 9,589
DustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to DustyPorViva Send a message via MSN to DustyPorViva
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffcmike View Post
Actually it was my mistake, the gani files were not within the cache, there being no "gani file not found" error.

Edit: Now the weird thing is, I've updated filenamecache, but the program is just getting stuck on generating, there being no command prompt in the background.
It's hard for me to say exactly what it's hanging up on without seeing the error. Maybe the next version should output all print traces to a log file.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-24-2011, 11:37 PM
DustyPorViva DustyPorViva is offline
Will work for food. Maybe
DustyPorViva's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 9,589
DustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to DustyPorViva Send a message via MSN to DustyPorViva
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffcmike View Post
Actually it was my mistake, the gani files were not within the cache, there being no "gani file not found" error.

Edit: Now the weird thing is, I've updated filenamecache, but the program is just getting stuck on generating, there being no command prompt in the background.
Here, newest version writes all stack traces to a log file. That way you can paste the logs so I can review them.
Attached Files
File Type: zip NW2PNG2.0.zip (244.4 KB, 292 views)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-25-2011, 10:51 AM
ffcmike ffcmike is offline
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London
Posts: 2,029
ffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to ffcmike Send a message via MSN to ffcmike Send a message via Skype™ to ffcmike
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustyPorViva View Post
Here, newest version writes all stack traces to a log file. That way you can paste the logs so I can review them.
An error.txt file is generated, however no text is contained within it.
I've made sure an older version is still working.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 11-25-2011, 02:13 PM
DustyPorViva DustyPorViva is offline
Will work for food. Maybe
DustyPorViva's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 9,589
DustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to DustyPorViva Send a message via MSN to DustyPorViva
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffcmike View Post
An error.txt file is generated, however no text is contained within it.
I've made sure an older version is still working.
You can try this one, apparently I didn't catch all errors.
Attached Files
File Type: zip NW2PNG2.0.zip (244.4 KB, 332 views)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-25-2011, 05:43 PM
ffcmike ffcmike is offline
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London
Posts: 2,029
ffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to ffcmike Send a message via MSN to ffcmike Send a message via Skype™ to ffcmike
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustyPorViva View Post
You can try this one, apparently I didn't catch all errors.
Quote:
java.lang.NumberFormatException: For input string: "="
at java.lang.NumberFormatException.forInputString(Unk nown Source)
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at src.born2kill.nw2png.NW2PNGHelper.renderLevel(NW2P NGHelper.java:333)
at src.born2kill.nw2png.NW2PNGHelper.renderGmap(NW2PN GHelper.java:706)
at src.born2kill.nw2png.NW2PNGHelper.run(NW2PNGHelper .java:148)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

java.lang.NumberFormatException: For input string: "g"
at java.lang.NumberFormatException.forInputString(Unk nown Source)
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at src.born2kill.nw2png.NW2PNGHelper.renderLevel(NW2P NGHelper.java:333)
at src.born2kill.nw2png.NW2PNGHelper.renderGmap(NW2PN GHelper.java:706)
at src.born2kill.nw2png.NW2PNGHelper.run(NW2PNGHelper .java:148)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

java.lang.NumberFormatException: For input string: "="
at java.lang.NumberFormatException.forInputString(Unk nown Source)
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at src.born2kill.nw2png.NW2PNGHelper.renderLevel(NW2P NGHelper.java:333)
at src.born2kill.nw2png.NW2PNGHelper.renderGmap(NW2PN GHelper.java:706)
at src.born2kill.nw2png.NW2PNGHelper.run(NW2PNGHelper .java:148)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
I don't know what this means exactly, but I have re-browsed to each necessary file/location to ensure the destinations exist.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-25-2011, 05:48 PM
Emera Emera is offline
Delterian Hybrid
Emera's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle Upon-Tyne
Posts: 1,704
Emera is a jewel in the roughEmera is a jewel in the rough
Good work dusty!

Quote:
ensure to ensure
lol?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-25-2011, 07:45 PM
DustyPorViva DustyPorViva is offline
Will work for food. Maybe
DustyPorViva's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 9,589
DustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to DustyPorViva Send a message via MSN to DustyPorViva
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffcmike View Post
I don't know what this means exactly, but I have re-browsed to each necessary file/location to ensure the destinations exist.
Okay, sorry but I realized it's pretty useless without knowing the levels the errors are occuring in, so I've tried to keep track of the activities somewhat for better debugging. Then at least you could try to trace it down to a specific NPC or at least level. Then you could maybe send me the level.
Attached Files
File Type: zip NW2PNG2.0.zip (245.1 KB, 335 views)
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-25-2011, 08:02 PM
ffcmike ffcmike is offline
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London
Posts: 2,029
ffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to ffcmike Send a message via MSN to ffcmike Send a message via Skype™ to ffcmike
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustyPorViva View Post
Okay, sorry but I realized it's pretty useless without knowing the levels the errors are occuring in, so I've tried to keep track of the activities somewhat for better debugging. Then at least you could try to trace it down to a specific NPC or at least level. Then you could maybe send me the level.
Figured it out.

The problem happened to be occurring with the very first top left level of the map, even if I had "Render NPCs" unticked.
So I gradually removed all of the more complex NPCs to try and single out the culprit, the problem still happened, and continued until I had removed every NPC, then it managed to move onto the next level.
However adding a simple image only NPC worked, whereas adding an NPC of this.join("object_bush"); caused the problem again.

I hadn't actually got around to testing class images, I tried again after removing "bush=bush.png" from the text file and it's still happening.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-25-2011, 08:07 PM
DustyPorViva DustyPorViva is offline
Will work for food. Maybe
DustyPorViva's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 9,589
DustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to DustyPorViva Send a message via MSN to DustyPorViva
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffcmike View Post
Figured it out.

The problem happened to be occurring with the very first top left level of the map, even if I had "Render NPCs" unticked.
So I gradually removed all of the more complex NPCs to try and single out the culprit, the problem still happened, and continued until I had removed every NPC, then it managed to move onto the next level.
However adding a simple image only NPC worked, whereas adding an NPC of this.join("object_bush"); caused the problem again.

I hadn't actually got around to testing class images, I tried again after removing "bush=bush.png" from the text file and it's still happening.
Your current version is in the middle of content updates, so some stuff doesn't work, like the 'Render NPCs' option. Could you tell me the log with the new debug version so I can find out what exactly is chocking the parser, and maybe send me the level it's having problems on?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-25-2011, 08:16 PM
ffcmike ffcmike is offline
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London
Posts: 2,029
ffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to ffcmike Send a message via MSN to ffcmike Send a message via Skype™ to ffcmike
The same thing happens if I create a blank level in the editor, add an NPC with the script this.join("object_bush");, save it as new1.nw and attempt to render that.
Error log just contained "Parsing level: new1.nw", unless I'm missing something.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-25-2011, 08:40 PM
DustyPorViva DustyPorViva is offline
Will work for food. Maybe
DustyPorViva's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 9,589
DustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to DustyPorViva Send a message via MSN to DustyPorViva
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffcmike View Post
The same thing happens if I create a blank level in the editor, add an NPC with the script this.join("object_bush");, save it as new1.nw and attempt to render that.
Error log just contained "Parsing level: new1.nw", unless I'm missing something.
Oh okay, I know the problem. Problem is it's expecting "this.blah = 1" and thus looking for "=" and causing a parsing error when it can't find it(in this case calling a function). It should only attempt to parse variables if actually assigning a value to one now.

Here's an updated version until the "complete" update, the render NPCs option still does nothing, but join classes are now rendered and we can see if it's fixing your issues.
Attached Files
File Type: zip NW2PNG2.0.zip (246.0 KB, 297 views)
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-26-2011, 12:04 AM
ffcmike ffcmike is offline
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London
Posts: 2,029
ffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond reputeffcmike has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to ffcmike Send a message via MSN to ffcmike Send a message via Skype™ to ffcmike
Same problem is still occurring.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-26-2011, 12:32 AM
DustyPorViva DustyPorViva is offline
Will work for food. Maybe
DustyPorViva's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 9,589
DustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to DustyPorViva Send a message via MSN to DustyPorViva
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffcmike View Post
Same problem is still occurring.
Here, I think I fixed it. I wasn't accounting when searching for a join image reference was returning null.
Attached Files
File Type: zip NW2PNG2.0.zip (246.0 KB, 268 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (C) 1998-2008 Linux cyberjoueurs All Rights Reserved.