Graal Forums  

Go Back   Graal Forums > Development Forums > Graphic Design
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 04-17-2011, 09:00 PM
cbk1994 cbk1994 is offline
the fake one
cbk1994's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 10,718
cbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to cbk1994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devil_Lord2 View Post
At least rarely any good ones for programming...
Learning Java or JavaScript or PHP or another similar language is probably the easiest way to learn GScript.

Quote:
Also, I believe Paint could set transparencies.. it took me forever to figure out how, but I believe I have... kinda just have to keep searching for the ways to do it lol.. anyway the search probably isn't worth it.
Paint cannot set transparencies.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-17-2011, 11:49 PM
MattKan MattKan is offline
the KattMan
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 1,325
MattKan is a splendid one to beholdMattKan is a splendid one to beholdMattKan is a splendid one to beholdMattKan is a splendid one to beholdMattKan is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via AIM to MattKan Send a message via Skype™ to MattKan
nice!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-18-2011, 01:39 AM
Devil_Lord2 Devil_Lord2 is offline
David K?
Devil_Lord2's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: PA, MD.
Posts: 643
Devil_Lord2 can only hope to improve
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbk1994 View Post
Paint cannot set transparencies.
I could have sworn I have done it once in the past.
Either way it wasn't easy and I couldn't do it again because I really don't know what I did. Searching Google now I an only find stupid replies that aren't exactly what people are asking.. So either I actually did somehow pull it off, or I imagined I did years ago.. Kind of depends on the reason I started searching for a different program like PSP7 ... I don't remember D:


Does Graal use Java, would it be helpful to learn, or are other games / websites moving away from Java, I heard CSS would be good for websites but there was something else coming out x.x;; I don't know.. hardly learned anything about CSS in class anyway..


-EDIT-
Btw, I wasn't being sarcastic, I'm sure I have imagined doing things in the past. x.x;
But I still could have sword I did it once... D:
__________________

Digital Media Artist - David K? </3 (UnLoved)
www.davidkrout.com
www.twitch.com/DavidKkz



Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-18-2011, 01:53 AM
cbk1994 cbk1994 is offline
the fake one
cbk1994's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 10,718
cbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to cbk1994
Sorry for hijacking your thread, Jer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devil_Lord2 View Post
I could have sworn I have done it once in the past.
Either way it wasn't easy and I couldn't do it again because I really don't know what I did. Searching Google now I an only find stupid replies that aren't exactly what people are asking.. So either I actually did somehow pull it off, or I imagined I did years ago.. Kind of depends on the reason I started searching for a different program like PSP7 ... I don't remember D:
Paint cannot set transparencies. There are some conditions where pure black is treated as a transparent color by Graal, but it is not real transparency and should be avoided.

Quote:
Does Graal use Java, would it be helpful to learn, or are other games / websites moving away from Java,
Graal does not use Java, but it uses a syntax which is very close to Java. JavaScript is closer to GScript since it is not strictly typed.

Java was never used for websites, although it is widely used for the serverside end of web applications (such as Gmail, Google Docs, ...). Java Applets are very rarely used now; Flash or JavaScript is preferred.

There is no widely-supported alternative to JavaScript for clientside web scripting.

Quote:
I heard CSS would be good for websites but there was something else coming out x.x;; I don't know.. hardly learned anything about CSS in class anyway..
CSS is not a programming language. Cascading Style Sheets are simply style sheets that contain information on how elements should be laid out and formatted.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-18-2011, 06:17 AM
Devil_Lord2 Devil_Lord2 is offline
David K?
Devil_Lord2's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: PA, MD.
Posts: 643
Devil_Lord2 can only hope to improve
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbk1994 View Post
Sorry for hijacking your thread, Jer.


Paint cannot set transparencies. There are some conditions where pure black is treated as a transparent color by Graal, but it is not real transparency and should be avoided.
That could be what happened, it wasn't on Graal though..

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbk1994 View Post
CSS is not a programming language. Cascading Style Sheets are simply style sheets that contain information on how elements should be laid out and formatted.
Oh, I thought CSS was slowly replacing HTML.. again we didn't learn all that much on it, and I didn't get it at all.. nor did I like my website design class.. I learned more from Graal rather then pressing buttons on Dreamweaver x.x; In my opinion learning the program isn't the same as learning HTML..



Anyway, keeping to the subject, I heard Gimp and paint.net were good but I have not used either of them, and I doubt a lot of people have photoshop so there isn't much need to say how.. Or should I?

-edit-
actually if you have photoshop, and created the image in photoshop, I would think they would know how?
__________________

Digital Media Artist - David K? </3 (UnLoved)
www.davidkrout.com
www.twitch.com/DavidKkz



Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 05-02-2013, 06:27 PM
fowlplay4 fowlplay4 is offline
team canada
fowlplay4's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,200
fowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond repute
Irfanview added a 'Use main window color for transparency option' un-check both of them in the advanced options when saving in order to manually choose a color to make transparent.

__________________
Quote:
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-04-2013, 10:46 AM
Clockwork Clockwork is offline
ᶘ ᵒᴥᵒᶅ...ᶘ ಠᴥಠᶅ❤...ℳℴℯ
Clockwork's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,071
Clockwork has a brilliant futureClockwork has a brilliant futureClockwork has a brilliant futureClockwork has a brilliant futureClockwork has a brilliant futureClockwork has a brilliant futureClockwork has a brilliant futureClockwork has a brilliant future
Send a message via Skype™ to Clockwork
Easier in photoshop o-o

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-04-2013, 12:30 PM
Elk Elk is offline
Sr Marketing Strategist
Elk's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Deerland
Posts: 3,829
Elk has a brilliant futureElk has a brilliant futureElk has a brilliant futureElk has a brilliant futureElk has a brilliant futureElk has a brilliant futureElk has a brilliant future
Send a message via ICQ to Elk Send a message via AIM to Elk Send a message via MSN to Elk Send a message via Yahoo to Elk Send a message via Skype™ to Elk
not everyone has photoshop though
__________________
iEra IGN: *Elk (Darkshire)
iCla. IGN: *Elk (Darkshire)
iZone IGN: *Elk (Darkshire)




Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-04-2013, 12:50 PM
Crow Crow is offline
ǝɔɐɹq ʎןɹnɔ
Crow's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,153
Crow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond repute
How is Photoshop easier? In IrfanView, you just have to save the image, then click on a color. Done.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-04-2013, 01:59 PM
BlueMelon BlueMelon is offline
asdfg
BlueMelon's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,481
BlueMelon is a splendid one to beholdBlueMelon is a splendid one to beholdBlueMelon is a splendid one to beholdBlueMelon is a splendid one to behold
I just use Paint.NET, the selection tool is great.
__________________
http://i.imgur.com/OOJbW.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-04-2013, 09:48 PM
Fulg0reSama Fulg0reSama is offline
Extrinsical Anomaly
Fulg0reSama's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,049
Fulg0reSama has a brilliant futureFulg0reSama has a brilliant futureFulg0reSama has a brilliant futureFulg0reSama has a brilliant futureFulg0reSama has a brilliant futureFulg0reSama has a brilliant futureFulg0reSama has a brilliant futureFulg0reSama has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crow View Post
How is Photoshop easier? In IrfanView, you just have to save the image, then click on a color. Done.
Depends on who you ask.

All I do is change the layer, select the color, delete it and save and I can save it in a project file for reediting.

If it's just a one time thing, yeah, go ahead and use irfanview or any other free program.
__________________

Careful, thoughts and opinions here scare people.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-04-2013, 09:53 PM
Crono Crono is offline
:pluffy:
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 19,993
Crono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Crono
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elk View Post
not everyone has photoshop though
they should, it's free!!!!!!


if ur a dirty pirate like me!!!!!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-04-2013, 10:12 PM
Crow Crow is offline
ǝɔɐɹq ʎןɹnɔ
Crow's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,153
Crow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fulg0reSama View Post
Depends on who you ask.

All I do is change the layer, select the color, delete it and save and I can save it in a project file for reediting.

If it's just a one time thing, yeah, go ahead and use irfanview or any other free program.
In terms of efficiency (clicks/actions taken), IrfanView is faster. Also, it doesn't take as long to start up.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-05-2013, 12:56 AM
Fulg0reSama Fulg0reSama is offline
Extrinsical Anomaly
Fulg0reSama's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,049
Fulg0reSama has a brilliant futureFulg0reSama has a brilliant futureFulg0reSama has a brilliant futureFulg0reSama has a brilliant futureFulg0reSama has a brilliant futureFulg0reSama has a brilliant futureFulg0reSama has a brilliant futureFulg0reSama has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crow View Post
In terms of efficiency (clicks/actions taken), IrfanView is faster. Also, it doesn't take as long to start up.
But with matters of convenience to someone who might want to do more (more done with possibly the same time), Photoshop excels.
But this is pretty offtopic lol.
__________________

Careful, thoughts and opinions here scare people.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-05-2013, 03:12 AM
BlueMelon BlueMelon is offline
asdfg
BlueMelon's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,481
BlueMelon is a splendid one to beholdBlueMelon is a splendid one to beholdBlueMelon is a splendid one to beholdBlueMelon is a splendid one to behold
In terms of efficiency, what ever is the fastest/more familiar for the user, would be the best.

I can trans an image with 3 actions in Paint.NET because I know the hotkeys and the little tricks
__________________
http://i.imgur.com/OOJbW.jpg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (C) 1998-2008 Linux cyberjoueurs All Rights Reserved.