Graal Forums  

Go Back   Graal Forums > Development Forums > Tech Support
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2006, 04:36 PM
ZeLpH_MyStiK ZeLpH_MyStiK is offline
Scripter
ZeLpH_MyStiK's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 553
ZeLpH_MyStiK is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to ZeLpH_MyStiK Send a message via Yahoo to ZeLpH_MyStiK
Enabling UDP

What configurations are necessary for UDP to work?
I've tried enabling port forwarding for 14988, and I've also tried allowing it in router firewall setups. WindowsXP automatically asks me whether I want to allow Graal to use that connection, and I've unblocked it. Yet it refuses to work. Anyone with a knowledge answer here? Thanks.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2006, 09:29 PM
Fogles Fogles is offline
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Niger
Posts: 271
Fogles is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Fogles
I also need to know aswell, I can't hear mics when i'm not using UDP!

But i can't see people move when i am, so.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2006, 07:37 PM
ZeLpH_MyStiK ZeLpH_MyStiK is offline
Scripter
ZeLpH_MyStiK's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 553
ZeLpH_MyStiK is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to ZeLpH_MyStiK Send a message via Yahoo to ZeLpH_MyStiK
So no one knows the requirements that are needed for UDP to work? Maybe Stefan can enlighten us?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2006, 09:21 PM
Skyld Skyld is offline
Script-fu
Skyld's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,914
Skyld has much to be proud ofSkyld has much to be proud ofSkyld has much to be proud ofSkyld has much to be proud ofSkyld has much to be proud ofSkyld has much to be proud of
Send a message via AIM to Skyld


You can use the former option to specify the UDP port that data is being sent and received on, so I suppose you could use this option and set up your firewall and router port forwarding accordingly.
__________________
Skyld
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2006, 06:35 AM
ZeLpH_MyStiK ZeLpH_MyStiK is offline
Scripter
ZeLpH_MyStiK's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 553
ZeLpH_MyStiK is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to ZeLpH_MyStiK Send a message via Yahoo to ZeLpH_MyStiK
Yes I checked the "Use fixed port for data packages" as well as chose 14899 as the port and opened it up on my router. It still is not working.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2006, 11:43 AM
spydrct02 spydrct02 is offline
Registered User
spydrct02's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 69
spydrct02 is on a distinguished road
Checking the use fixed UDP option seems to disable UDP altogether (not supposed to)--or at least in V2 it did. I suspect noone noticed this, so try unchecking both UDP options and see if it works.

If all else fails, you could also try enabling DMZ on your router. May want a software firewall if you go that way, as I'm pretty sure it bypasses the router's firewall to the chosen local computer.

Even if it is working for you, you won't know until you find another person that can use UDP. I've found a few ways to tell whether a person has UDP or not:

If they have UDP
- When you hit them, they make multiple hurt sounds. Otherwise they only make a single hurt sound.
- You can see them moving in other connected levels that aren't in a GMAP.
- If they pause during a gani, the gani starts over--same with unpausing.
- You can see them perfectly (considering you and them have broadband) during server lag, whereas anyone without UDP will be frozen or very skippy (depending on how bad the server is lagging).

My router seems to let UDP through just fine, port forwarding or not. Though on the other hand, this isn't the case for anyone else I've talked to with a router.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-26-2006, 05:30 PM
ZeLpH_MyStiK ZeLpH_MyStiK is offline
Scripter
ZeLpH_MyStiK's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 553
ZeLpH_MyStiK is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to ZeLpH_MyStiK Send a message via Yahoo to ZeLpH_MyStiK
Actually when I use fixed port for UDP, or just enable UDP on Graal for that matter, I just get a your-UDP-is-not-working message.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-26-2006, 08:55 PM
spydrct02 spydrct02 is offline
Registered User
spydrct02's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 69
spydrct02 is on a distinguished road
Looks like Graal is configured for UDP correctly in that case, just not your router.

You tried enabling DMZ? Though that would be a last resort, it seems to always work. I'll test the fixed port option later to confirm if it does turn UDP off like it did last time I tried. Maybe you could try setting fixed UDP option to another port, though I doubt that would work any better.

Not really sure how to help you if DMZ doesn't do it. Did you check if it works on V2 when everything's configured? I don't think it would be any different between 2 and 4, but I do remember people having problems or something with it in V4 and not V2. See, if we had a fast server in the USA, we wouldn't need UDP. That'll never happen, though, been waiting since October for a decent reply about this whole slow server problem.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-26-2006, 10:49 PM
ZeLpH_MyStiK ZeLpH_MyStiK is offline
Scripter
ZeLpH_MyStiK's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 553
ZeLpH_MyStiK is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to ZeLpH_MyStiK Send a message via Yahoo to ZeLpH_MyStiK
I'm not gonna enable DMZ, because that's just stupid. And fixed port doesn't disable UDP because I get the same message when I check it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-03-2006, 12:34 AM
LilNiglet LilNiglet is offline
stop all the downloadin'
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,178
LilNiglet is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeLpH_MyStiK
I'm not gonna enable DMZ, because that's just stupid. And fixed port doesn't disable UDP because I get the same message when I check it.
Enabling DMZ for a short while to test something if you have a decent firewall is okay. It's not like hackers are waiting at your doorstep for a connection to open.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-03-2006, 02:04 AM
ZeLpH_MyStiK ZeLpH_MyStiK is offline
Scripter
ZeLpH_MyStiK's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 553
ZeLpH_MyStiK is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to ZeLpH_MyStiK Send a message via Yahoo to ZeLpH_MyStiK
Quote:
Originally Posted by LilNiglet
Enabling DMZ for a short while to test something if you have a decent firewall is okay. It's not like hackers are waiting at your doorstep for a connection to open.
Except I don't use a decent firewall as it gets a bit too laggy for me. I already know it's a problem with setting up my router configuration.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-03-2006, 02:44 AM
Ajira Ajira is offline
Poont.
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 477
Ajira is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeLpH_MyStiK
Except I don't use a decent firewall as it gets a bit too laggy for me. I already know it's a problem with setting up my router configuration.
Dude. You're not going to get hacked. Ugh...
__________________
Liek omigosh.

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-03-2006, 03:12 AM
ZeLpH_MyStiK ZeLpH_MyStiK is offline
Scripter
ZeLpH_MyStiK's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 553
ZeLpH_MyStiK is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to ZeLpH_MyStiK Send a message via Yahoo to ZeLpH_MyStiK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajira
Dude. You're not going to get hacked. Ugh...
Dude. I'm not going to enable DMZ to play graal.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright (C) 1998-2019 Toonslab All Rights Reserved.