Graal Forums  

Go Back   Graal Forums > Graal V6 forums > Bug Report
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #106  
Old 10-30-2011, 03:18 PM
Admins Admins is offline
Graal Administration
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Admins
Posts: 11,693
Admins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud of
I don't know why it would crash on that, haven't experienced that at all yet. Is it only happening on certain scripts or always?
We could disable the syntax highlighting for you for now if you want.
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 10-30-2011, 05:57 PM
Emera Emera is offline
Delterian Hybrid
Emera's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle Upon-Tyne
Posts: 1,704
Emera is a jewel in the roughEmera is a jewel in the rough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan View Post
I don't know why it would crash on that, haven't experienced that at all yet. Is it only happening on certain scripts or always?
We could disable the syntax highlighting for you for now if you want.
If I am using the white script editor background window, then it will always crash with certain words. Although, if I start the line or script with // or /*, then it won't crash. It's not even a crash, it just closes instantly.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 10-30-2011, 09:17 PM
Crow Crow is offline
ǝɔɐɹq ʎןɹnɔ
Crow's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,153
Crow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emera View Post
It's not even a crash, it just closes instantly.
Which is a crash.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 11-05-2011, 11:12 PM
WhiteDragon WhiteDragon is offline
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,002
WhiteDragon is a splendid one to beholdWhiteDragon is a splendid one to beholdWhiteDragon is a splendid one to beholdWhiteDragon is a splendid one to beholdWhiteDragon is a splendid one to behold
Just throwing this out there, but there seems to be garbage collection issues when there are large amounts (20k?) of TStaticVars.

It seems like it decides to do the GC cycle whenever you click the mouse or move the mouse out of the screen, and the TStaticVars all survive until that cycle, then the CPU is pegged at full load for ages.

Of course, the solution is to manually destroy() the TStaticVar when it is no longer needed, but I feel like there should be nicer GC being done that doesn't choke entirely on what is not a large amount of memory usage.

Quote:
Stats:
System:
Time: Sat Nov 5 00:57:55 2011
Client-version: 6.011
OS: linux 2.6.32-5-amd64 #1 SMP Wed Jan 12 03:40:32 UTC 2011
CPU: x86

Memory (in bytes):
Total: 29261456
Bitmaps: 1051648
Drawing panels: 1204224
Textures (possibly in video RAM): 2695168

Game engine profiler:
Measured time: 41.655651092 seconds
Ordered by non-sub total time:
%NSTime % Time Invoke # Name
57.035 57.035 4 GarbageCollector
...
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 11-06-2011, 02:38 AM
Admins Admins is offline
Graal Administration
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Admins
Posts: 11,693
Admins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud of
The graal garbage collector is going quite deep (makes full circular reference check) that's why it might be slower with lots of variables. It is recommended to destroy the variables if not needed.
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old 11-20-2011, 12:07 AM
Emera Emera is offline
Delterian Hybrid
Emera's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle Upon-Tyne
Posts: 1,704
Emera is a jewel in the roughEmera is a jewel in the rough
Since Era Radio has just released itself, a new bug has become apparent. V6 can't receive any radio signal. Nothing plays over radio, although V5 plays Era Radio perfectly.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 11-20-2011, 02:58 AM
Admins Admins is offline
Graal Administration
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Admins
Posts: 11,693
Admins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud of
Yes the Linux and Mac versions don't support streaming yet. There is no 64bit version of the sound library we were using before x-x
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 11-27-2011, 03:24 AM
Emera Emera is offline
Delterian Hybrid
Emera's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle Upon-Tyne
Posts: 1,704
Emera is a jewel in the roughEmera is a jewel in the rough
For some reason findimg() won't show any images for V6 on linux. Gui Image Controls are fine though.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 11-11-2012, 03:14 AM
Admins Admins is offline
Graal Administration
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Admins
Posts: 11,693
Admins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud of
Is anyone still using Linux on 32 bit?
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 11-11-2012, 03:42 AM
WhiteDragon WhiteDragon is offline
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,002
WhiteDragon is a splendid one to beholdWhiteDragon is a splendid one to beholdWhiteDragon is a splendid one to beholdWhiteDragon is a splendid one to beholdWhiteDragon is a splendid one to behold
64-bit here.
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 11-11-2012, 04:06 AM
cbk1994 cbk1994 is offline
the fake one
cbk1994's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 10,718
cbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to cbk1994
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteDragon View Post
64-bit here.
Also using the 64-bit Linux client. I think 32-bit could be dropped with minimal impact.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 11-11-2012, 04:08 AM
dylan dylan is offline
AGT
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 60
dylan has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan View Post
Is anyone still using Linux on 32 bit?
I use Linux 32bit.
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 11-11-2012, 04:12 AM
cbk1994 cbk1994 is offline
the fake one
cbk1994's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 10,718
cbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to cbk1994
Quote:
Originally Posted by dylan View Post
I use Linux 32bit.
Why?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 11-11-2012, 04:12 AM
dylan dylan is offline
AGT
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 60
dylan has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbk1994 View Post
Why?
I don't have a 64bit processor.
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 11-11-2012, 04:48 AM
Admins Admins is offline
Graal Administration
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Admins
Posts: 11,693
Admins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud of
Ah and you run Graal on it? It's 5-6 years since the last 32 bit Intel/AMD CPUs were produced

Well anyway:
A new version for Linux (64 bit) has been uploaded: v6.037
It brings a lot of new stuff since the last v6 release and of course plenty of new things compared to v5. Download it as usual from the website although the download from login server should work if you have installed it as user:

http://www.graalonline.com/downloads/Graal6_linux64.zip

This new version is not scanning the current folder anymore, so it should be much easier to just put it anywhere and then run it. Unzip the file, make it executable, then run it:

unzip Graal6_linux64.zip
chmod 775 Graal
./Graal

All files will be download and saved to ~/.graal/graal4 in case you want to clear them or need to find the screenshots or recorded videos. The new version is using "SDL mixer" for playing sounds and music. Depending on the hardware and drivers this should work pretty well, but if there are problems then just disable sounds or music in the options on the login server.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
graal v6, linux

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright (C) 1998-2019 Toonslab All Rights Reserved.