Graal Forums  

Go Back   Graal Forums > Graal V6 forums > Bug Report
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 13 votes, 4.69 average. Display Modes
  #631  
Old 10-04-2010, 12:57 PM
Admins Admins is offline
Graal Administration
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Admins
Posts: 11,693
Admins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud of
Quote:
Originally Posted by xXziroXx View Post
Confirmed. Also seems that previously barely visible smoke emitters now have turned pitch black. Same thing happening in OpenGL, but even the fire itself changed behavior there and more or less completely vanished.
Please give server name, level name and script.
Reply With Quote
  #632  
Old 10-04-2010, 01:11 PM
xXziroXx xXziroXx is offline
Master of Puppets
xXziroXx's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,288
xXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant future
Send a message via AIM to xXziroXx Send a message via MSN to xXziroXx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Admins View Post
Please give server name, level name and script.
Maloria, mal-h06.nw, object_torch.
__________________

"A delayed game is eventually good, but a rushed game is forever bad." - Shigeru Miyamoto
Reply With Quote
  #633  
Old 10-04-2010, 11:20 PM
spydrct02 spydrct02 is offline
Registered User
spydrct02's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 69
spydrct02 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Admins View Post
Hmmm If it's freezing each 3 seconds then it might be the FILENAMECACHE.txt. If you have installed Graal on an external or very slow hard drive then saving the file name cache can slow down the game. Can you try to open game_config.txt and change this value: cachefilenames=false
The skipping happens every 1 second... it even syncs with my clock ticking. It isn't hard drive usage causing it, it's CPU usage spikes every second it seems. Anyway, I tried the filenamecache to false and it still skips.

Pressing any key also doubles the CPU usage graal uses for me until I let go of it, including movement. This is me on v6 with only me in a level:
slowwwwww*SKIP*slowwwwww*SKIP*slowwwwww*SKIP*sloww www

I'm so tempted to make a video of it, should I?
Reply With Quote
  #634  
Old 10-04-2010, 11:29 PM
Sky Sky is offline
GK Manager
Sky's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 622
Sky is a glorious beacon of lightSky is a glorious beacon of lightSky is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via AIM to Sky Send a message via Skype™ to Sky
If you have something highlighted in the F2 menu and you try to get something to add to it, it won't unless you unhighlight whatever you had highlighted. o-o hopefully I explained this right. :P
__________________
Sky
Reply With Quote
  #635  
Old 10-05-2010, 01:50 PM
Admins Admins is offline
Graal Administration
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Admins
Posts: 11,693
Admins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud of
Quote:
Originally Posted by spydrct02 View Post
The skipping happens every 1 second... it even syncs with my clock ticking. It isn't hard drive usage causing it, it's CPU usage spikes every second it seems. Anyway, I tried the filenamecache to false and it still skips.

Pressing any key also doubles the CPU usage graal uses for me until I let go of it, including movement. This is me on v6 with only me in a level:
slowwwwww*SKIP*slowwwwww*SKIP*slowwwwww*SKIP*sloww www

I'm so tempted to make a video of it, should I?
There are a few things which are done one time each second, e.g. removing unused textures from memory and similar things. May be I can make a special verison which is logging how much time those things take.
Reply With Quote
  #636  
Old 10-05-2010, 04:50 PM
spydrct02 spydrct02 is offline
Registered User
spydrct02's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 69
spydrct02 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Admins View Post
There are a few things which are done one time each second, e.g. removing unused textures from memory and similar things. May be I can make a special verison which is logging how much time those things take.
Ok, I'll test it if you make it. But what about the overall slowness? It's both slow and skips for me. Is it maybe just like this for Windows XP? Some other people say it's faster for them, but I think they have Vista or 7.
Reply With Quote
  #637  
Old 10-05-2010, 05:07 PM
Admins Admins is offline
Graal Administration
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Admins
Posts: 11,693
Admins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud of
Could you post or attach your game_console.log file (from the Graal folder) ?
Reply With Quote
  #638  
Old 10-05-2010, 06:10 PM
MrOmega MrOmega is offline
One More Time
MrOmega's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: TN, USA
Posts: 631
MrOmega is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to MrOmega Send a message via MSN to MrOmega Send a message via Yahoo to MrOmega
I'm getting a weird image where my mouse is when taking videos.

EDIT: OK, here's something new... The client just crashed while I was playing through my server ( In OpeGL, btw)
Attached Files
File Type: zip graal_1286291261.zip (531.7 KB, 124 views)
__________________
Time is the fire in which we burn...
Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Right, Left, Right, B, A, Select, Start! Now I got 99 LIVES!!!

Last edited by MrOmega; 10-05-2010 at 06:58 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #639  
Old 10-05-2010, 09:11 PM
spydrct02 spydrct02 is offline
Registered User
spydrct02's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 69
spydrct02 is on a distinguished road
Here it is, and I guess I used opengl mode last.
Attached Files
File Type: zip game_console.zip (2.9 KB, 114 views)
Reply With Quote
  #640  
Old 10-05-2010, 10:08 PM
Riot Riot is offline
Delteria Management
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Seminole County, Florida
Posts: 280
Riot is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffcmike View Post
I never actually described it as a glitch did I?
Also I mentioned it as it isn't consistent with what Tig said:
The statement should be revised, it does not 'ghost' on Vista or 7 when Aero is enabled. By turning Aero off it will still happen, as Window contents are no longer buffered.
Reply With Quote
  #641  
Old 10-05-2010, 10:34 PM
Admins Admins is offline
Graal Administration
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Admins
Posts: 11,693
Admins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud of
Quote:
Originally Posted by spydrct02 View Post
Here it is, and I guess I used opengl mode last.
Can you also do this without opengl?
Reply With Quote
  #642  
Old 10-06-2010, 01:35 AM
spydrct02 spydrct02 is offline
Registered User
spydrct02's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 69
spydrct02 is on a distinguished road
Here it is in regular v6
Attached Files
File Type: zip game_console.zip (3.9 KB, 110 views)
Reply With Quote
  #643  
Old 10-06-2010, 07:04 PM
Jiroxys7 Jiroxys7 is offline
Hazard to Graal
Jiroxys7's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 343
Jiroxys7 will become famous soon enough
I don't suppose there's any way to install this without uninstalling v5 is there? I'd like to try stuff on my server, but from the sound of it, I dont think it'd cope too well at all with my computer for casual use.
__________________
MY POSTS ARE PRONE TO EDITS!
Reply With Quote
  #644  
Old 10-06-2010, 07:10 PM
DustyPorViva DustyPorViva is offline
Will work for food. Maybe
DustyPorViva's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 9,589
DustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to DustyPorViva Send a message via MSN to DustyPorViva
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiroxys7 View Post
I don't suppose there's any way to install this without uninstalling v5 is there? I'd like to try stuff on my server, but from the sound of it, I dont think it'd cope too well at all with my computer for casual use.
Just make a copy of the v5 exe and keep it in the Graal folder.
Reply With Quote
  #645  
Old 10-06-2010, 07:43 PM
xXziroXx xXziroXx is offline
Master of Puppets
xXziroXx's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,288
xXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant future
Send a message via AIM to xXziroXx Send a message via MSN to xXziroXx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiroxys7 View Post
I don't suppose there's any way to install this without uninstalling v5 is there? I'd like to try stuff on my server, but from the sound of it, I dont think it'd cope too well at all with my computer for casual use.
You could just extract the v6 client to a completely new folder and have it run from there?
__________________

"A delayed game is eventually good, but a rushed game is forever bad." - Shigeru Miyamoto
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
graal v6, windows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (C) 1998-2008 Linux cyberjoueurs All Rights Reserved.