Graal Forums  

Go Back   Graal Forums > Graal V6 forums > Questions about V6
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 3.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2015, 07:35 PM
evilchaseofdoom evilchaseofdoom is offline
Registered User
evilchaseofdoom's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 106
evilchaseofdoom will become famous soon enough
Computer was fine, now is having lag spikes

My computer was fine for the longest time, and now is randomly having lag spikes. Since it first started I have: ran CCleaner, updated my drivers, cleaned out my fan in my laptop, bought an additional fan for my laptop, ran malware bytes and hitman pro. I also havent downloaded anything recently that I could think of and my CPU useage isn't crazy high. The only program that exceeds graal when it is open would be McAfee, but ive had that for a while. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2015, 08:26 PM
Cubical Cubical is offline
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,348
Cubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant future
failing turn signal fluid
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-28-2015, 09:21 PM
scriptless scriptless is offline
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N-Pulse
Posts: 1,412
scriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to behold
I noticed on my mac mini that the cpu didn't determine if I was going to lag or not. Memory on the other hand would fill up and the cpu has to wait for it to free some up to process instructions even. Is it possible your ram is running low? Also, the lag could be internet based. Your internet says your allowed to use X amount of bandwidth.. if your downloading files on your computer or another family member is streaming movies or anything that can also effect you. So the lag could be with the computer itself or the internet. If other programs that don't use the internet at all work fine then your problem is your connection. If offline only programs don't work well then the internet connection plays no role in that since the program does not use internet. Does your laptop get warm? Also what kind is it? Specs? any other details you can provide?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-28-2015, 09:52 PM
fowlplay4 fowlplay4 is offline
team canada
fowlplay4's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,200
fowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond repute
get rid of mcafee and see if it works better
__________________
Quote:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-28-2015, 10:15 PM
evilchaseofdoom evilchaseofdoom is offline
Registered User
evilchaseofdoom's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 106
evilchaseofdoom will become famous soon enough
Windows 7
GPU: GeForce 610M
CPU: Intel Core i7-2670QM quad-core processor
RAM: 6 GB

I don't see how it could be McAfee @ fowlplay4. I understand if I remove it that it might help, but it doesn't explain that Graal used to function fine without it. Also scriptless I am 95% sure it is client lag. I fluctuate between 20fps to 13ishfps

Thanks for everyones help in advance
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-28-2015, 10:45 PM
scriptless scriptless is offline
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N-Pulse
Posts: 1,412
scriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to behold
I agree with FP4.

Ram is probably fine @ 6GB on Win7. I wouldn't suggest any lower tho.
Also GeForce 610M, I don't think that can catch my hd 5000 (mac air) or hd 4000 (mac mini) So I kinda feel your pain on that, id expect some lag occasionally but not like AlOT. Processor looks cool tho.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-28-2015, 11:02 PM
evilchaseofdoom evilchaseofdoom is offline
Registered User
evilchaseofdoom's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 106
evilchaseofdoom will become famous soon enough
I don't see how specs are too important though. The issue I am having is Graal working well for a while and constantly running at 20 fps, but now I am spiking. Considering reinstalling Windows 7, just curious if there's any other options.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-28-2015, 11:13 PM
scriptless scriptless is offline
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N-Pulse
Posts: 1,412
scriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to behold
1) Remove unused files and programs
2) Defrag computer if needed
3) Stop using mcafee

Reformat if you want tho, seems like a lot more work imo
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-29-2015, 11:19 AM
fowlplay4 fowlplay4 is offline
team canada
fowlplay4's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,200
fowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilchaseofdoom View Post
I don't see how it could be McAfee @ fowlplay4.
because anti-virus programs in general reduce the performance of a computer. if it's scanning every file Graal loads then it could easily be contributing to the lag issues you're experiencing.

remove it, if it doesn't help then re-install it.
__________________
Quote:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-29-2015, 11:30 AM
Elk Elk is offline
Sr Marketing Strategist
Elk's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Deerland
Posts: 3,829
Elk has a brilliant futureElk has a brilliant futureElk has a brilliant futureElk has a brilliant futureElk has a brilliant futureElk has a brilliant futureElk has a brilliant future
Send a message via ICQ to Elk Send a message via AIM to Elk Send a message via MSN to Elk Send a message via Yahoo to Elk
CCleaner can be dangerous too
__________________
iEra IGN: *Elk (Darkshire)
iCla. IGN: *Elk (Darkshire)
iZone IGN: *Elk (Darkshire)




Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-29-2015, 11:55 AM
cbk1994 cbk1994 is offline
the fake one
cbk1994's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 10,718
cbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to cbk1994
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilchaseofdoom View Post
My computer was fine for the longest time, and now is randomly having lag spikes.
What kind of lag spike? Low FPS or high latency (ping)?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-29-2015, 02:37 PM
evilchaseofdoom evilchaseofdoom is offline
Registered User
evilchaseofdoom's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 106
evilchaseofdoom will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbk1994 View Post
What kind of lag spike? Low FPS or high latency (ping)?
It's fps lag, I go from 20 to 13 on Era each couple of tiles. Also fowlplay I understand McAfee takes away from performance, I see it in my control panel using the most memory. I am saying I have been use McAfee alongside Graal this whole time with no problems, just recently I have these lag spikes.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-07-2015, 09:53 AM
scriptless scriptless is offline
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N-Pulse
Posts: 1,412
scriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to behold
Sounds like some program updated and you didn't know it updated and not its more a resource hog. You got 2 options. Uninstall things see if it gets better or reformat (because that will get rid of things too)... It sounds like you're not considering the former so I would suggest the latter. Because if you haven't changed anything your doing then it shouldn't give results your not expecting. Simple as that, Einstine would say expecting a different result would be the definition of insanity. And we can't convince you to uninstall things that hay perhaps have updated behind your back and without your knowing.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-07-2015, 10:48 AM
Crono Crono is offline
:pluffy:
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 20,000
Crono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Crono
Try installing Graal to a new folder too while you're at it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-07-2015, 09:19 PM
Cubical Cubical is offline
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,348
Cubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant future
and if that doesnt work try installing on another computer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright (C) 1998-2019 Toonslab All Rights Reserved.