Graal Forums  

Go Back   Graal Forums > Graal V6 forums > Questions about V6
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 08-09-2012, 02:40 PM
Cubical Cubical is offline
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,348
Cubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant future
I think metro is gonna have lots of cool apps created for it as even Web developers can make great applications using html 5 and Javascript. Im sure you'll be able to find something in the store that will emulate the start button
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-09-2012, 06:18 PM
Spikedude Spikedude is offline
Senator Amsel Zephlyn
Spikedude's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 283
Spikedude will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Skype™ to Spikedude
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbk1994 View Post
Are you just pulling this stuff out of your ass or what? Not that I agree with the rest of your post, but this is a pretty strange statement. They switched to a different processor architecture, and as such, all apps need to be recompiled for the new architecture or be run using emulation software. They had plenty of good reasons for switching off of PPC, too.

The same thing happens in the Linux world. It's just less of a problem because most software tends to be free (as in freedom) and can fairly easily be compiled for new architectures by the community. On OS X it's a bigger problem in a large part because more programs are non-free (and thus can only be recompiled by the developer). The vast majority of software has Intel versions available now (even Graal).


If you don't understand how the change to Intel chips necessitated the transition, then you shouldn't be talking about it.

Your comment about Microsoft is particularly ridiculous. Microsoft goes to incredible lengths to keep new versions of Windows compatible with old software, even building in quirks in their operating system so old apps continue to run. For example:

Not everyone knows as much about every operating system as you, I was just making my point that there's no reason to derail every thread that mentions an operating system into an argument over what operating system is best when all of them have the same number of problems in different places. The point I was making there was that the only popular open source operating system (linux) has never had the same sort of problem with suddenly changing chipsets and making their computers incompatible with old software. I used to run Windows 95 way back in the day and was in love with Red Alert: C&C, and switching to XP made it so I couldn't run the game anymore. When I had Mac OSX Leopard I ran Microsoft Office: mac 2004 and Starcraft BW/Diablo II; switching to Lion would make it so I can't run any of these (and never will be able to without purchasing a new microsoft office, diablo III, and starcraft II). I was simply asking if switching to Windows 8 would do the same to Graal and it's developer tools, and then the whole thread got thrown off into "DUDE LOL MAC? WINDOWS 8? LOLOL."

Thanks for the information though. I wasn't intentionally being a dipstick about the companies and saying they don't try, I was just pointing out that the argument over which operating system is "best" is a bit of a moot point.

This thread should honestly be closed. Clearly nobody knows the answer to the original question, or if they do they'd rather just argue about operating systems than make any attempt at answering.
__________________

Last edited by Spikedude; 08-09-2012 at 06:20 PM.. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-09-2012, 07:08 PM
Cubical Cubical is offline
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,348
Cubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant future
Sky answered your question.. Yes it does run
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-09-2012, 07:21 PM
cyan3 cyan3 is offline
Registered User
cyan3's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: England
Posts: 2,919
cyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbk1994 View Post
Are you just pulling this stuff out of your ass or what? Not that I agree with the rest of your post, but this is a pretty strange statement. They switched to a different processor architecture, and as such, all apps need to be recompiled for the new architecture or be run using emulation software. They had plenty of good reasons for switching off of PPC, too.

The same thing happens in the Linux world. It's just less of a problem because most software tends to be free (as in freedom) and can fairly easily be compiled for new architectures by the community. On OS X it's a bigger problem in a large part because more programs are non-free (and thus can only be recompiled by the developer). The vast majority of software has Intel versions available now (even Graal).
This is likely going to be a problem for Windows 8 in the future considering some dedicated devices with Windows 8 pre-installed may be using the ARM architecture instead of x86 making older software incompatible unless it is either re-compiled for ARM or emulated.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-09-2012, 08:11 PM
Spikedude Spikedude is offline
Senator Amsel Zephlyn
Spikedude's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 283
Spikedude will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Skype™ to Spikedude
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cubical View Post
Sky answered your question.. Yes it does run
owow I missed that. Thanks Sky/Cubical.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 08-09-2012, 09:06 PM
Cubical Cubical is offline
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,348
Cubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant future
Microsoft had already said that anything with arm architecture won't support cofactor applications only metro style
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-09-2012, 10:05 PM
devilsknite1 devilsknite1 is offline
C:
devilsknite1's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 269
devilsknite1 has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via AIM to devilsknite1 Send a message via MSN to devilsknite1 Send a message via Yahoo to devilsknite1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crono View Post
Without a start button.
Just not visible, if you either hover over or click the very bottom left, you have something similar to the start menu, I believe. I saw it on YouTube some where when I was looking at how much I would never want that operating system.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-09-2012, 11:41 PM
Cubical Cubical is offline
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,348
Cubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant future
I didn't like windows 7 toolbar at first but it grew on me
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-09-2012, 11:54 PM
Crono Crono is offline
:pluffy:
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 19,991
Crono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Crono
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cubical View Post
I didn't like windows 7 toolbar at first but it grew on me
I disabled grouping up different tabs, etc. Didn't like it at all.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-09-2012, 11:59 PM
Cubical Cubical is offline
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,348
Cubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant future
I grew to love it when I was working on multiple projects outtside of eclipse
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-26-2012, 10:32 PM
Cubical Cubical is offline
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,348
Cubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant future
Works fine for me, less lag than windows 7.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-30-2012, 03:46 AM
Googi Googi is offline
A Serious Epidemic
Googi's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 18,866
Googi has much to be proud ofGoogi has much to be proud ofGoogi has much to be proud ofGoogi has much to be proud ofGoogi has much to be proud ofGoogi has much to be proud of
Send a message via AIM to Googi
It works fine for me, and I'm running Consumer Preview.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-30-2012, 06:48 AM
Tim_Rocks Tim_Rocks is offline
a true gentlemen
Tim_Rocks's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,863
Tim_Rocks is a splendid one to beholdTim_Rocks is a splendid one to beholdTim_Rocks is a splendid one to beholdTim_Rocks is a splendid one to behold
I hope Graal works on Windows 9, I am so pumped!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-09-2012, 01:52 AM
scriptless scriptless is offline
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N-Pulse
Posts: 1,412
scriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to behold
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crono View Post
Without a start button.
There's mod's for that. However what do you need the start menu for? Click the folder icon, and type what you want to do into the search bar MUCH faster.

Ex: to use calc, type "calc.exe".. windows is smart now

Really, I can see WHY microsoft went metro on desktop.. unlike apple, now phone, tablet, and pc share the same experience.. I give microsoft prop's for that. and I actually have my eye on them now but im still not a microsoft fan..

Maybe, with proper skype integration, and xbox both into the metro experience.. like being able to login to windows and see your gamerscore, friends online, etc.. it would be a truely amazing experience..
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-09-2012, 02:10 AM
DustyPorViva DustyPorViva is offline
Will work for food. Maybe
DustyPorViva's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 9,589
DustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to DustyPorViva Send a message via MSN to DustyPorViva
I use my smartphone for a smartphone experience, my tablet for a tablet experience, my Xbox for a gaming experience, and my ****ing computer for a computer experience.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (C) 1998-2008 Linux cyberjoueurs All Rights Reserved.