Graal Forums  

Go Back   Graal Forums > Development Forums > Tech Support
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2013, 10:55 PM
Decus_Arillias Decus_Arillias is offline
Armageddon Son
Decus_Arillias's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 84
Decus_Arillias is on a distinguished road
Gmap and tile layers

I'm having issues using multiple tile layers. I'm using gonstruct to design levels on a gmap and layers 0 - 4 are fine but when i start adding a 5th layer to the gmap things are getting messed up. The only way it will show the 5th layer is if i update the gmap, but if you close and reopen it will go away. The blocking properties for the 5th layer is there but you cannot see the tiles. Its like the 5th layer is invisible but still blocks as it should.


The tileset that is being used is correctly transed, with the gmap layer trans applied and it seems its only on the gmap, with the 5th layer.
any suggestions would be greatly appriciated.

Thanks,
__________________
Isaiah 41:10
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2013, 11:38 PM
xXziroXx xXziroXx is offline
Master of Puppets
xXziroXx's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,288
xXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant future
Send a message via AIM to xXziroXx Send a message via MSN to xXziroXx
Is this what you're talking about? If so, it's a known bug with tile layers. Only solution is to use less layers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hezzy002 View Post
If you move large amounts quickly, sometimes the rendering will break up and you get black areas on the level, even when the level data is available. It's only happened with scripts I've made specifically designed to do this, and on gmaps where the area was large enough to actually facilitate this type of error. If it was rasterizing to the screen every frame, then those black areas would disappear after the first frame. Instead, they only clear when you move past the bounds of the screen.

Sometimes you can make the artifacts appear so that the black area is the entirety of the screen and you can watch as the tiles draw onto the buffer.

This is complete conjecture, obviously, as I don't have access to the source of Graal, but those artifacts are telltale of that type of rendering technique being used. There isn't any other way to explain them.
Although I swore I got Stefan to fix this issue...
__________________

"A delayed game is eventually good, but a rushed game is forever bad." - Shigeru Miyamoto
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-27-2013, 12:16 AM
Angel_Light Angel_Light is offline
Varia Developer
Angel_Light's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,684
Angel_Light is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Angel_Light Send a message via MSN to Angel_Light
I'm using 6 layers on varia with no problem, just make sure that each level has the same amount of layers, using a transparent non-blocking tile to fill up any empty space in the layers.
__________________
Deep into the Darkness peering...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2013, 07:05 PM
sssssssssss sssssssssss is offline
Cyril Rain
sssssssssss's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,134
sssssssssss will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Skype™ to sssssssssss
It ended up being something with an online editor doing it's own layers, and it somehow messing up using layers in gonstruct.
__________________
Cyril Rain
Creator and leader of SLX
Admin of Elysium
Elysium's Facebook Page: http://facebook.com/GraalOnlineElysium
Graal Forum Thread: http://forums.graalonline.com...
Graalians Thread: http://www.graalians.com...


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (C) 1998-2008 Linux cyberjoueurs All Rights Reserved.