Graal Forums  

Go Back   Graal Forums > Graal V6 forums > Bug Report
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2010, 05:59 PM
Engine Engine is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 70
Engine is on a distinguished road
Scripted RC and RC bug

When I try opening up RemoteControl.exe nothing shows up and it doesn't even show it as loading in task manager. I'm running Vista and Graal runs fine with the exception of when there is a lot of text on the screen.

Anyways, my other problem is that Scripted RC doesn't show any buttons yet I can click where they should be. I still have full usage of it, it's just annoying to have to hover to see a tool tip before I click. Here is a screenshot of my problem with Scripted RC. If anyone can help with either problem that would be great.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpg
Views:	360
Size:	153.2 KB
ID:	50386  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2010, 06:12 PM
Loriel Loriel is offline
Somewhat rusty
Loriel's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 5,059
Loriel is a name known to allLoriel is a name known to allLoriel is a name known to allLoriel is a name known to all
man that is a crappy level
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2010, 06:14 PM
Engine Engine is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 70
Engine is on a distinguished road
Take it up with whoever make it, testbed should use the default Graal level.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2010, 07:01 PM
Loriel Loriel is offline
Somewhat rusty
Loriel's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 5,059
Loriel is a name known to allLoriel is a name known to allLoriel is a name known to allLoriel is a name known to all
Eh, I just stole a Zelda level from one of the challenge threads over in the levels forum for my testbed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-06-2010, 07:23 PM
Engine Engine is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 70
Engine is on a distinguished road
Oh, I'm just testing in the main level because I'm too lazy to even steal one;[
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-06-2010, 07:39 PM
Liberated Liberated is offline
not doing alot
Liberated's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,366
Liberated has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by Engine View Post
When I try opening up RemoteControl.exe nothing shows up and it doesn't even show it as loading in task manager.
is it RemoteControl.exe or RemoteControl2.exe.
cuz you need 2 i believe.
Scripted RC buttons also don't show for me, but they're there, if you know where they are you can click them.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigairius View Post
I promise when I get rich I'll send you an iPhone. I'll send everyone an iPhone.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-06-2010, 08:19 PM
Engine Engine is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 70
Engine is on a distinguished road
I have RC2, it's just much easier in external RC in my opinion. If this isn't resolved it doesn't bother me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-06-2010, 08:56 PM
DustyPorViva DustyPorViva is offline
Will work for food. Maybe
DustyPorViva's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 9,589
DustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to DustyPorViva Send a message via MSN to DustyPorViva
I have the same problem with my scripted RC.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-06-2010, 09:31 PM
Grey Grey is offline
Classic Developer
Grey's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 134
Grey will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to Grey
I have the same problem; I believe scripted RC buttons are maindef files

mainfiles/gifs/rc_npclist_pressed.png
mainfiles/gifs/rc_options_normal.png

I've never checked it out as I don't really use scripted RC but do you have the RC buttons downloaded to your Graal files?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-09-2010, 11:59 PM
Engine Engine is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 70
Engine is on a distinguished road
Scripted RC is really annoying to use, especially when you are reconnecting and you have to scroll through all the Weapons/Classes on testbed to get back to what you're doing. Not to mention you can't edit files as text. Does anyone else have any idea on what could be causing RemoteControl2.exe not to start on Vista. Here is an updated list of what I have tried and symptoms:

Symptons:
-RemoteControl2.exe will not start/open at all.
-It doesn't show up in task manager at all.

What I have tried:
-An older copy of RC that I found online which seems to open fine.
-Setting Compatibility to 'Windows XP Service Pack 2'
-Disabling all settings in the compatibility list.
-Running as an administrator.

I'm running Windows vista and I have had RC2 working on here in prior installations.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-11-2010, 04:00 AM
Engine Engine is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 70
Engine is on a distinguished road
is there any things that I could try from the command prompt to try to force this open or open it in another mode or whatever. I mean like -opengl or something haha.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-14-2010, 09:25 AM
TSAdmin TSAdmin is offline
Forum Moderator
TSAdmin's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,980
TSAdmin is a splendid one to beholdTSAdmin is a splendid one to beholdTSAdmin is a splendid one to beholdTSAdmin is a splendid one to beholdTSAdmin is a splendid one to behold
Hi, I just posted this in a thread that Cubical made. It may or may not be relevant to either your case or his, but at least it can be exhausted as a possibility if you also suspect this to be the problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TSAdmin View Post
Just a brain spasm thought here, but are you using an Internet Security program by any chance? Running RC2 for the first time on my computer after a reformat or whatever, my Norton Internet Security deletes it and quarantines it and the only way I can run it is if I "Undo" the quarantine and select "Exempt from scans".

I find the problem is that Internet Security programs seem to find that RemoteControl2.exe and some of the other Dev tools such as GraalShop.exe are being reported as "High risk" items.
__________________
TSAdmin (Forum Moderator)
Welcome to the Official GraalOnline Forums! Where sharing an opinion may be seen as a declaration of war!
------------------------
· User Agreement · Code of Conduct · Forum Rules ·
· Graal Support · Administrative Contacts ·
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-14-2010, 04:37 PM
Admins Admins is offline
Graal Administration
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Admins
Posts: 11,693
Admins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud of
The buttons have been uploaded to all servers, the background is a jpg which will show up with the next gserver update.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-14-2010, 05:02 PM
Cubical Cubical is offline
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,348
Cubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant futureCubical has a brilliant future
They all showed up for me recently, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-14-2010, 10:51 PM
Loriel Loriel is offline
Somewhat rusty
Loriel's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 5,059
Loriel is a name known to allLoriel is a name known to allLoriel is a name known to allLoriel is a name known to all
Can someone make new buttons already
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright (C) 1998-2019 Toonslab All Rights Reserved.