Graal Forums  

Go Back   Graal Forums > Development Forums > Level Design
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2012, 02:06 AM
sssssssssss sssssssssss is offline
Cyril Rain
sssssssssss's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,134
sssssssssss will become famous soon enough
V6 Layers Create Tile Errors

We have a type 1 tileset, using layers (2-3 I believe). On V5, this doesn't happen, but in V6 it does.

It shows blackness on the layers almost specifically in this area, but also in other areas. These tiles are not just black. If you look at the screenshots, I uploaded them in order moving to the right. When you go on certain levels, it fixes them kind of on the previous or current level at random. Going back makes them come back for some, but not for all.

Is there a reason this is happening? I see people on here using layers, but haven't come across this error in searching. I'm not really sure how to explain it besides the above.

If someone has a solution please let us know, as we don't want to continue doing gmap levels and this happening everywhere then have to backtrack them all.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	graal_1355100120TILEMESS.png
Views:	110
Size:	129.7 KB
ID:	55223   Click image for larger version

Name:	graal_1355100137TILEMESS.png
Views:	90
Size:	114.0 KB
ID:	55224   Click image for larger version

Name:	graal_1355100148TILEMESS.png
Views:	87
Size:	108.7 KB
ID:	55225  
__________________
Cyril Rain
Creator and leader of SLX
Admin of Elysium
Elysium's Facebook Page: http://facebook.com/GraalOnlineElysium
Graal Forum Thread: http://forums.graalonline.com...
Graalians Thread: http://www.graalians.com...


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2012, 02:16 AM
xXziroXx xXziroXx is offline
Master of Puppets
xXziroXx's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,288
xXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant future
Send a message via AIM to xXziroXx Send a message via MSN to xXziroXx
Quote:
Originally Posted by xXziroXx View Post
Stefan, I have found another problem regarding layers. Logon Maloria, and warp to forest.nw. There's nothing wrong with the level itself, but the client seems to have some rendering problems with it and skipping tiles in the top layer randomly. If you resize the window a few times, it eventually renders the level correctly.

If you need to see how the level itself is designed: http://forums.graalonline.com/forums...hp?t=134266558

It's been fixed in the latest v6 version, or well, at least I haven't ran into it since in any of my layer test levels that helped find the bug to begin with.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan View Post
Ok fixed in my version, it was a problem with bugged optimization of transparent/black tiles in upper tile layers.
__________________

"A delayed game is eventually good, but a rushed game is forever bad." - Shigeru Miyamoto
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2012, 02:16 AM
scriptless scriptless is offline
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N-Pulse
Posts: 1,412
scriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to behold
Which Level Editor are you using? Classic default one, or Gonstruct?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2012, 02:22 AM
sssssssssss sssssssssss is offline
Cyril Rain
sssssssssss's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,134
sssssssssss will become famous soon enough
Gonstruct. Does the classic have layers now?

I have the newest client as far as I know, unless there has been a new one within the last month.

Also ignore the brown in the middle of the water, that IS an error on us. Haven't changed the tiles yet. It's just the black.
__________________
Cyril Rain
Creator and leader of SLX
Admin of Elysium
Elysium's Facebook Page: http://facebook.com/GraalOnlineElysium
Graal Forum Thread: http://forums.graalonline.com...
Graalians Thread: http://www.graalians.com...


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-10-2012, 02:28 AM
xXziroXx xXziroXx is offline
Master of Puppets
xXziroXx's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,288
xXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant futurexXziroXx has a brilliant future
Send a message via AIM to xXziroXx Send a message via MSN to xXziroXx
Quote:
Originally Posted by scriptless View Post
Which Level Editor are you using? Classic default one, or Gonstruct?
He's -obviously- using Gonstruct if he's making layered levels.

p.s. let me logon Roak and see if the error happens to me too :3
__________________

"A delayed game is eventually good, but a rushed game is forever bad." - Shigeru Miyamoto
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-10-2012, 02:30 AM
scriptless scriptless is offline
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N-Pulse
Posts: 1,412
scriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to behold
Quote:
Originally Posted by sssssssssss View Post
Gonstruct. Does the classic have layers now?

I have the newest client as far as I know, unless there has been a new one within the last month.

Also ignore the brown in the middle of the water, that IS an error on us. Haven't changed the tiles yet. It's just the black.
no, the default one does not have layers.. tho i have made levels with layers, using the default editor, and notepad to inset the layers.. which was a pain in the ass at the time lining stuff up.. and I made errors.. was just curious if that had happened here.. those levels look amazing.. I was playing with something similar in a thread where I was trying to accomplish diving a over a year ago!

http://forums.graalonline.com/forums...hp?t=134263001

Are you planning on doing any sort of diving?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-10-2012, 02:34 AM
sssssssssss sssssssssss is offline
Cyril Rain
sssssssssss's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,134
sssssssssss will become famous soon enough
Eventually, most likely yes. It's a bit far on our todo list atm tho. and you can get on bro.
__________________
Cyril Rain
Creator and leader of SLX
Admin of Elysium
Elysium's Facebook Page: http://facebook.com/GraalOnlineElysium
Graal Forum Thread: http://forums.graalonline.com...
Graalians Thread: http://www.graalians.com...


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-10-2012, 02:37 AM
scriptless scriptless is offline
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N-Pulse
Posts: 1,412
scriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to beholdscriptless is a splendid one to behold
Quote:
Originally Posted by sssssssssss View Post
Eventually, most likely yes. It's a bit far on our todo list atm tho. and you can get on bro.
I have been wondering for years why people never did there water like that, it's very cool. I wish I could logon, haha it looks nice. definitely keep up the good work!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-10-2012, 02:37 AM
sssssssssss sssssssssss is offline
Cyril Rain
sssssssssss's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,134
sssssssssss will become famous soon enough
roak_bd20.nw is near the level. That coast line. I have to restart my laptop it's being funny so I'll be on there in a min.

And thanks dude. It's really Decus he does a pretty good job on levels. I've heard he's a level machine lol. xD
__________________
Cyril Rain
Creator and leader of SLX
Admin of Elysium
Elysium's Facebook Page: http://facebook.com/GraalOnlineElysium
Graal Forum Thread: http://forums.graalonline.com...
Graalians Thread: http://www.graalians.com...


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright (C) 1998-2019 Toonslab All Rights Reserved.