Graal Forums  

Go Back   Graal Forums > Development Forums > Future Improvements
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2009, 10:46 AM
Twinny Twinny is offline
My empire of dirt
Twinny's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,422
Twinny is just really niceTwinny is just really nice
Send a message via AIM to Twinny
0.01 second timeout / 60 fps limit

I'm working with some light/particle effects and, as I showed Tig, the effects are unable to keep up with the mouse due to the slow framerate. Can we please get a 60fps minimum happening and if necessary, provide a method to enforce 20fps on servers (could have an option to limit to 20/40/60 in serverops, client or perhaps both)

I understand a new client will be coming out very soon (beta atleast) so perhaps it couldn't be available in that version but can we get some higher FPS soon? 40FPS would be a good start....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2009, 11:20 AM
Crono Crono is offline
:pluffy:
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 20,000
Crono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond reputeCrono has a reputation beyond repute
With Graal using the torque engine and everything I'd have expected the FPS stuff to be like normal games. As I've posted before, I can actually notice the 20FPS when I move around compared to other games. It even hurts my head sometimes.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2009, 12:28 PM
Samposse Samposse is offline
Chopa Shopa !
Samposse's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Norway
Posts: 87
Samposse is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Samposse Send a message via MSN to Samposse
:O Counter Strike : Source is hawing 100 fps :S abit more then graal

but it is 3d xD
__________________
Delitto :3

A
SERVER
UNDER
CONSTRUCTION !

feel free to ask me about delitto
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2009, 12:52 PM
Twinny Twinny is offline
My empire of dirt
Twinny's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,422
Twinny is just really niceTwinny is just really nice
Send a message via AIM to Twinny
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samposse View Post
:O Counter Strike : Source is hawing 100 fps :S abit more then graal

but it is 3d xD
And that game prob has a fair bit more to process than the average graal screen
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2009, 03:59 PM
coreys coreys is offline
N-Pulse Assistant Manager
coreys's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,180
coreys has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via AIM to coreys Send a message via MSN to coreys Send a message via Yahoo to coreys
You know there's a way around that, Twinny. Gani scripts, I've found, are smooth when it comes to following the player and such. I'm not entirely sure why this is, but anything that required following the player is usually suited to going in a gani script.

Although, being able to have quicker timeouts WOULD be nice. Though, I don't doubt that the .05 limit (.1 for serverside) is the reason Graal doesn't lag like crazy (or more than it already does for some people). >.>
__________________

Quote:
*SlikRick: so should I even ask about your aim status?
*Xor: well if you want to
*Xor: but i am LARPING
*SlikRick: While on a computer?
*Xor: yes
*Xor: in my living room
*SlikRick: ahh
*Xor: i have a fort setup to hide from beasts
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2009, 05:00 PM
Twinny Twinny is offline
My empire of dirt
Twinny's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,422
Twinny is just really niceTwinny is just really nice
Send a message via AIM to Twinny
Quote:
Originally Posted by coreys View Post
You know there's a way around that, Twinny. Gani scripts, I've found, are smooth when it comes to following the player and such. I'm not entirely sure why this is, but anything that required following the player is usually suited to going in a gani script.

Although, being able to have quicker timeouts WOULD be nice. Though, I don't doubt that the .05 limit (.1 for serverside) is the reason Graal doesn't lag like crazy (or more than it already does for some people). >.>
Yes, ganis do resolve some of the issues (like making something look alot more smoother for everyone) but the issue i'm having at the moment is with a particle emitter. Since it's restricted to the 0.05, it causes blotchy particles at high speeds

Basically anything that moves at a fairly high speed on Graal starts to get blotchy. A higher FPS would allow graal to look alot smoother and provide more precise clientside timing (think about those music games where you have to hit exactly on the beat...sucky on a 0.05 timeout )

Would be lovely

[Edit] if people's computers can't handle the increased FPS (lol) then perhaps that frame limiting option would be handy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-30-2009, 05:18 PM
Codein Codein is offline
jwd
Codein's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Greater Manchester
Posts: 2,423
Codein has a spectacular aura aboutCodein has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via AIM to Codein Send a message via MSN to Codein
A higher framerate would be cool
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-30-2009, 05:22 PM
Chompy Chompy is offline
»\(║_o)/»
Chompy's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 2,815
Chompy is just really niceChompy is just really niceChompy is just really nice
Send a message via MSN to Chompy
Graal 3D runs at 60 FPS.
Would be neat to have the option to have a limit at a server, as long it's capped max at 60.

And if it was to be implented, if a limit is set, it must be the same for all players on the server, and not that some players run 60 fps and others 20. It's also not possible to do a merge, have one script run 60 FPS and another 20 FPS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samposse View Post
:O Counter Strike : Source is hawing 100 fps :S abit more then graal

but it is 3d xD
That's changeable with the console and also other third-party softwares. I could make counter strike run at 120/140 etc if I wanted to.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-30-2009, 10:55 PM
cbk1994 cbk1994 is offline
the fake one
cbk1994's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 10,718
cbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to cbk1994
I don't know how easy it would be for Stefan to change, but it's definitely worth looking into and pursuing since the time of 20 FPS games is long past.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-30-2009, 11:21 PM
DustyPorViva DustyPorViva is offline
Will work for food. Maybe
DustyPorViva's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 9,589
DustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond reputeDustyPorViva has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to DustyPorViva Send a message via MSN to DustyPorViva
Would Graal look funny if it's running at 60fps while scripts are still running at 20fps(for backwards compatibility)? Or would it look the same as it does now?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-30-2009, 11:38 PM
cbk1994 cbk1994 is offline
the fake one
cbk1994's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 10,718
cbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to cbk1994
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustyPorViva View Post
Would Graal look funny if it's running at 60fps while scripts are still running at 20fps(for backwards compatibility)? Or would it look the same as it does now?
It would still only update at 20 FPS, so it would look exactly the same (unless you're talking servers with classic systems, which would be adapted to work at 60 FPS or whatever).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-01-2009, 12:21 AM
Admins Admins is offline
Graal Administration
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Admins
Posts: 11,693
Admins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud of
A lot of stuff like animations, scripts, npc move()s and player movement are made for 0.05 intervals and will not be easily transformed to a different frame rate. In v6 it is possible to change the frame rate, but it will probably need to be tested a lot before some (new) server could use it. A lot of people on Graal already complain if the behaviour of projectiles is changing slighty, and I personally don't see how the frame rate change could change the game play a lot. What I would like to see more often is nice quests and similar.

For mouse move particles, you could use onMouseMove() to keep track of the exact mouse position and emit several particles in each frame.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-01-2009, 12:34 AM
cbk1994 cbk1994 is offline
the fake one
cbk1994's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 10,718
cbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to cbk1994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan View Post
For mouse move particles, you could use onMouseMove() to keep track of the exact mouse position and emit several particles in each frame.
...you seriously need to compile a list of all the events and functions that only you seem to know
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-01-2009, 04:04 AM
Admins Admins is offline
Graal Administration
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Admins
Posts: 11,693
Admins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud ofAdmins has much to be proud of
What is so secret about GraalControl.onMouseMove? It's listed in the GuiControl events.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-01-2009, 04:45 AM
Twinny Twinny is offline
My empire of dirt
Twinny's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,422
Twinny is just really niceTwinny is just really nice
Send a message via AIM to Twinny
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan View Post
A lot of stuff like animations, scripts, npc move()s and player movement are made for 0.05 intervals and will not be easily transformed to a different frame rate. In v6 it is possible to change the frame rate, but it will probably need to be tested a lot before some (new) server could use it. A lot of people on Graal already complain if the behaviour of projectiles is changing slighty, and I personally don't see how the frame rate change could change the game play a lot. What I would like to see more often is nice quests and similar.
Perhaps graal servers can have a default of 20FPS while you can raise it to 40/60 in the serverops. If you provide this option, we can certainly test it out in UC worlds
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright (C) 1998-2019 Toonslab All Rights Reserved.