Graal Forums  

Go Back   Graal Forums > Development Forums > Level Design
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2011, 11:30 PM
Kiwi27 Kiwi27 is offline
Not the fruit.
Kiwi27's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 173
Kiwi27 will become famous soon enough
Unhappy Terrain Generator: Offline Help

Hey,

I've been working on my own little offline server(s - Same server, different types of tilesets, etc), And right now I'm attempting to use the Terrain Generator for it.

The actual design part is working okay for me, but I'm having trouble using it in the offline editor.

So, would someone please be able to make a more simplified guide to doing it that's more compatible with my small brain?

Also, if anyone wants a more detailed idea of what it is thatsnot working, I'd be happy to include it in my next post .

Thanks,

Kiwi
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2011, 11:49 PM
cbk1994 cbk1994 is offline
the fake one
cbk1994's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 10,718
cbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to cbk1994
This might help.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2011, 12:00 AM
fowlplay4 fowlplay4 is offline
team canada
fowlplay4's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,200
fowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond repute
How To Generate and Use a Terrain Map Offline

You can replace yourworld with anything you want below.

Step 1. Download and Run Terrain Generator
Step 2. Change the Generator Options to your liking. (See Image 1)
Step 3. Check off 'Generate Graal levels'
Step 4. Click 'Generate World'

Step 5. Create a Blank Folder for your New Overworld Map (See Image 2)
Step 6. Save yourworld.gmap in your new folder.

Step 7. Navigate to your new overworld's folder, if done correctly you should see all the levels in the folder. (See Image 3)
Step 8. Open yourworld_aa-01.nw

Step 9. Lay an empty NPC on the level. (See Image 4)
Step 10. Give it the following script:

Graal Script Code:
//Tutorial by fp4
//#CLIENTSIDE
if (created) {
  
removetiledefs;
  
addtiledef picso.png,yourworld_,5;
  
loadmap yourworld;

Step 11. Close the script.
Step 12. You should see the terrain properly with the default GK/terrain tileset.

Editing terrain is fairly simple, just click and drag the + up or down to manipulate the elevation.

The overworld can then be uploaded to your server and be set up like any other gmap.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	step1.png
Views:	78
Size:	65.8 KB
ID:	52704   Click image for larger version

Name:	step2.png
Views:	67
Size:	49.8 KB
ID:	52705   Click image for larger version

Name:	step3.png
Views:	49
Size:	160.6 KB
ID:	52706   Click image for larger version

Name:	step4.png
Views:	75
Size:	301.7 KB
ID:	52707  
__________________
Quote:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2011, 12:03 AM
Kiwi27 Kiwi27 is offline
Not the fruit.
Kiwi27's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 173
Kiwi27 will become famous soon enough
Okay. Thanks

This looks way easier to understand

EDIT: Still doesn't work. When I saved it, it said it would be saved as a gmap, but when I look at it, its just a file, so it doesn't work. Help?
__________________

Last edited by Kiwi27; 04-16-2011 at 01:03 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-16-2011, 01:47 AM
Kiwi27 Kiwi27 is offline
Not the fruit.
Kiwi27's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 173
Kiwi27 will become famous soon enough
I know its been around half an hour, but *Bump*
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2011, 02:06 AM
cbk1994 cbk1994 is offline
the fake one
cbk1994's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 10,718
cbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond reputecbk1994 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to cbk1994
Does renaming it to give it a gmap extension work?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-16-2011, 02:07 AM
0PiX0 0PiX0 is offline
Coder
0PiX0's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 130
0PiX0 is a jewel in the rough0PiX0 is a jewel in the rough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiwi27 View Post
EDIT: Still doesn't work. When I saved it, it said it would be saved as a gmap, but when I look at it, its just a file, so it doesn't work. Help?
So rename the file adding .gmap as the file extension, or save it again as mygmapfilename.gmap rather than just mygmapfilename.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-16-2011, 04:10 AM
Kiwi27 Kiwi27 is offline
Not the fruit.
Kiwi27's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 173
Kiwi27 will become famous soon enough
YAY! Thanks to all of you who have helped me. This is the first time its ever worked for me
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-16-2011, 04:32 AM
MattKan MattKan is offline
the KattMan
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 1,325
MattKan is a splendid one to beholdMattKan is a splendid one to beholdMattKan is a splendid one to beholdMattKan is a splendid one to beholdMattKan is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via AIM to MattKan Send a message via Skype™ to MattKan
Adding this easy to understand guide to the wiki... good job
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-16-2011, 08:20 AM
Kiwi27 Kiwi27 is offline
Not the fruit.
Kiwi27's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 173
Kiwi27 will become famous soon enough
This is... Kind of depressing. A few hours ago, I posted it was working. But that was only the showing as a gmap file with all the levels. But, when I tried to use the gmap, I put all the script into a NPC, as you said, but

1. It only shows the one flat tile everywhere, not the actual terrain, and
2. It shows the warp, but no handy arrow thing to move around the gmap.

Help?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-16-2011, 09:25 PM
fowlplay4 fowlplay4 is offline
team canada
fowlplay4's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,200
fowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond repute
ZIP up your folder with the GMAP file and all it's levels in it and attach it please.

When you're saving you need to put the .gmap extention at the end. If you save it as just:

yourworld instead of yourworld.gmap it messes up, and doesn't generate the levels properly.
__________________
Quote:
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-16-2011, 10:52 PM
Devil_Lord2 Devil_Lord2 is offline
David K?
Devil_Lord2's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: PA, MD.
Posts: 643
Devil_Lord2 can only hope to improve
Quote:
Originally Posted by fowlplay4 View Post
ZIP up your folder with the GMAP file and all it's levels in it and attach it please.

When you're saving you need to put the .gmap extention at the end. If you save it as just:

yourworld instead of yourworld.gmap it messes up, and doesn't generate the levels properly.
I'm not sure if that always works, maybe you could enlighten myself as well.
As a Mac user, I've noticed working with ganis, I open them up as a text file and as long as I click save the gani usually works. The icon also is still plain white.
However when I use save as the file looks like a text file, and I don't believe it works.. I know it doesn't on Graal Shop any longer, but I haven't tried it online. It basically takes it out of gani state even when I change it to .gani and I'm unsure why. May have to test it all again..

Anyway, from what I believe I know now, on Macs at least, sometimes changing the extension doesn't seem to work...

I'd strike through the part Mac seeing as I used an older windows computer.. but there is no strikeout button on here.. D: Point is, sometimes it changing the extension doesn't seem to work.. >.> or just those few times for me..
I have a lot of problems randomly with gani files. Anyway I don't know if this helps point out the problem he may be having.. could only be a problems with ganis for all I know..
__________________

Digital Media Artist - David K? </3 (UnLoved)
www.davidkrout.com
www.twitch.com/DavidKkz



Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-16-2011, 11:02 PM
fowlplay4 fowlplay4 is offline
team canada
fowlplay4's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,200
fowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devil_Lord2 View Post
I'm not sure if that always works, maybe you could enlighten myself as well.
It's an issue with the Terrain Generator. If you don't specify the .gmap extension in the filename when saving it doesn't generate the levels. As seen in my images...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bad.png
Views:	66
Size:	122.4 KB
ID:	52715   Click image for larger version

Name:	badresult.png
Views:	67
Size:	65.9 KB
ID:	52716  
__________________
Quote:
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-16-2011, 11:06 PM
Kiwi27 Kiwi27 is offline
Not the fruit.
Kiwi27's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 173
Kiwi27 will become famous soon enough
nagorias_final.zip

There ya go.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-17-2011, 12:32 AM
fowlplay4 fowlplay4 is offline
team canada
fowlplay4's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,200
fowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond reputefowlplay4 has a reputation beyond repute
Alright I've looked through your zip file, and for whatever reason if you have an underscore (_) it doesn't load properly in the GraalEditor.

You also had... loadmap nagorias_final.gmap; instead of loadmap nagorias_final;

I would recommend re-generating the map as nagorias.gmap instead.
__________________
Quote:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (C) 1998-2008 Linux cyberjoueurs All Rights Reserved.