Graal Forums  

Go Back   Graal Forums > Development Forums > NPC Scripting
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-14-2014, 05:07 PM
100Zero100 100Zero100 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 31
100Zero100 is on a distinguished road
Random Neat GScript Stuff

Since I've finally got an active forum account, I'll share with you guys some stuff that I've noticed in GS over the years that I felt didn't make sense / didn't behave as expected. I would consider them "Gscript glitches," if you will. Some of these will be useless to you (just for fun/interesting), while others might actually matter someday!

NPC Code:
client.flag--; //On the clientside, won't update serverside
BUT
client.flag = client.flag - 1; //This will



NPC Code:
this.attr[] = DBNPC.x; //Assumes you want to write DBNPC.attr
BUT
temp.x = DBNPC.x;
this.attr[] = temp.x; //Knows you want to write this.attr



NL's can be saved in strings. Can't be saved in string arrays. I am pretty sure this also applies to "\n" - this came up a long time ago when I was thinking about making a function for say2 that determined the line size (I ended up doing a line size system that works great instead of a wrap system), and I noticed that NL's weren't saving in line arrays. At the time, I just decided to put #b's in there (lol).

I've also noticed that if you attempt to write a showcharacter()'d DBNPC's nickname and several other personal features ('character' appearance: hat, head, maybe AP, etc), you cannot do it too quickly. If you attempt to write it more than like once a second or so (I forget) it just prevents you from writing it.

Similarly, ANY object without a default name (a new TStaticVar(); a temp.img = showimg(); etc) will allow you to write its .name once, but after that, its .name becomes read-only!

putnpc2 NPCs on a level default to having a level index of 300 (and increasing). This isn't a bug, I just thought it was interesting.

When last I checked, attempting to do a scheduleEvent() loop inside of a gani broke the entire gani script (even parts of the script that were unrelated!). You must stick to using onTimeOut's

NPC Code:
function onCreated() {
this.attr[5] = "100Zero100";
temp.a = this.attr[5];
}
//#CLIENTSIDE
function onCreated() {
temp.b = this.attr[5];
temp.c = this.attr[5] @ "";
}



temp.a (serverside): 100Zero100
temp.b (clientside): 100
temp.c (clientside): 100Zero100

Generally speaking: If you attempt to pass a this.attr[] (and maybe player.attr[]'s too?) from server to client (and maybe also client to server), and it BEGINS with a number, the game will assume the entire .attr[] is an INTEGER (and will truncate after the first period, comma, or text). Setting something to this.attr[] @ ""; apparently changes its datatype and fixes it.
Related to:

NPC Code:
temp.a = "";
temp.b = 0;

(a == b): true
(@a == @b): false



^ Similar to having to do "@ """ to fix the datatyping of client-passed this.attr[]'s earlier, it seems you must use @ in front of a variable for the system to datatype and realize that "" (string) is NOT 0 (var). Knowing this, earlier putting "@this.attr[5]" probably would've fixed that.

if (true || undefined) { // Yields FALSE, despite true || ANYTHING should be true. "undefined" being in this case any non-logical operator (eg, this.hi = 2).

temp.a = {0,0};
temp.b = {{1,1},{2,2}};

Say you want to turn that into:

temp.c = {0, 0, {{1, 1}, {2, 2}}};

You would think .add() or .addarray() would work. But nope!

temp.a.add(b)
yields:
{0,0,{{{1,1}},{{2,2}}}}

temp.a.addarray(b)
yields:
{0,0,{1,1},{2,2}}

To get the effect you want:

temp.c = a @ "," @ b;

This last one is truly bizarre:

NPC Code:
//#CLIENTSIDE
function onCreated() {
with (npcs[0]) {
player.chat = this.name SPC thiso.name;
}
}



^ In a weapon NPC ("test").

What I would expect: MY (player) chat to be set to the name of npcs[0] (probably "" or "level_npc_34626" or some other text like that) followed by "test" (the name of the weapon)

What I got: A random NPC in my level (presumably npcs[0]) had ITS chat set to "test test"

However, once I changed the script to:

NPC Code:
//#CLIENTSIDE
function onCreated() {
with (npcs[0]) {
playero.chat = this.name SPC thiso.name;
}
}



Yes, playero.chat. Once I changed the script to playero.chat, MY (player) chat was set properly, but "this.name" still yielded "test"

I'm still stumped by that. I suppose it only even makes sense if npcs[0] was considered to be a player in my level. Even so, then it should be setting a player's chat and not a random NPC's chat. And I don't think playero. is an official prefix anywhere, so I have no idea.

Last edited by 100Zero100; 01-14-2014 at 05:20 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-14-2014, 07:34 PM
Emera Emera is offline
Delterian Hybrid
Emera's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle Upon-Tyne
Posts: 1,704
Emera is a jewel in the roughEmera is a jewel in the rough
As far as your examples demonstrating issues with scope go, I've had some weird ass issues with scope too. For example, calling a function from a single scope that involves using with() or something else that should temporarily switch to/back from a specified object scope and have it return a value will also return the object's scope, switching the entire code's scope from that point onward (£1 for every time I said scope)

These are cool though. Thanks for bringing them into public light.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright (C) 1998-2019 Toonslab All Rights Reserved.