Graal Forums  

Go Back   Graal Forums > Graal V6 forums > Questions about V6
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2010, 11:43 AM
Soala Soala is offline
Ideas on Fire
Soala's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In my head
Posts: 3,208
Soala is a jewel in the roughSoala is a jewel in the rough
Linux Remote Control

Soooooo I'm on Linux Mint 10 on my netbook for developement purposes at school, and I'm having quite some problems installing RC.

First, I've switched to LM only a few days ago, so I'm not really used to this environment.

Here is what I did:

Downloaded rc.gz on the website
--> sudo gunzip rc.tgz
It gave me rc.tar, I then extracted files from rc.tar and did: sudo apt-get install rc (which was the folder I extracted). It told me everything installed fine, but then I cannot find remote control anywhere on Linux.

Did I do anything wrong? Any tips on how to install remote control? I'm such noob with linux

Last edited by Soala; 11-24-2010 at 11:53 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-24-2010, 12:23 PM
Deas_Voice Deas_Voice is offline
Deas
Deas_Voice's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,264
Deas_Voice is a jewel in the roughDeas_Voice is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via AIM to Deas_Voice Send a message via MSN to Deas_Voice Send a message via Yahoo to Deas_Voice
Edit2: you have to unziping the folder and poof u got RC...
place it w/e u want; i placed it in /.graal/rc/

Edit1: "tgz" is a "zip" file

Edir3: "sudo" is just a command to get root access, such as "run as administrator", it should only be used when doing things that requires rights that a normal user don't get to have, such as if ur going to edit/add/remove something outside of '/home/'


lol i totally busted my post w/ edits
__________________
.
WTF is real life, and where do I Download it?
There is no Real Life, just AFK!
since 2003~
I Support~
ღAeonღ | ღTestbedღ | ღDelteriaღ

if you are going to rep me, don't be an idiot, leave your name!
I got nothing but love for you

Last edited by Deas_Voice; 11-24-2010 at 12:33 PM.. Reason: Edit1: tgz. Edit2; confirmed, rc.tgz is just a zip u have to unzip Edit3; Added description of "sudo"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-24-2010, 01:07 PM
Soala Soala is offline
Ideas on Fire
Soala's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In my head
Posts: 3,208
Soala is a jewel in the roughSoala is a jewel in the rough
Ya I know what sudo is, I just do it all the time. Nothing wrong with that right?
The thing is that there is nothing I can run in the RC folder, so how unzipping it in the graal folder will help? I'll try it soon anyway, got exams right now
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2010, 01:34 PM
Deas_Voice Deas_Voice is offline
Deas
Deas_Voice's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,264
Deas_Voice is a jewel in the roughDeas_Voice is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via AIM to Deas_Voice Send a message via MSN to Deas_Voice Send a message via Yahoo to Deas_Voice
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soala View Post
Ya I know what sudo is, I just do it all the time. Nothing wrong with that right?
The thing is that there is nothing I can run in the RC folder, so how unzipping it in the graal folder will help? I'll try it soon anyway, got exams right now
the "rc" is the file you have to run
moving it wouldnt do much difference, since all images for rc is in that folder
doesn't have to be in graal folder, that's just where i have it.
__________________
.
WTF is real life, and where do I Download it?
There is no Real Life, just AFK!
since 2003~
I Support~
ღAeonღ | ღTestbedღ | ღDelteriaღ

if you are going to rep me, don't be an idiot, leave your name!
I got nothing but love for you
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2010, 02:13 PM
Soala Soala is offline
Ideas on Fire
Soala's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In my head
Posts: 3,208
Soala is a jewel in the roughSoala is a jewel in the rough
Okay but how do I run the folder I extracted? I marked it as an executable (allow to run blabla... in properties) but I don't know what to do next. =(
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-24-2010, 02:32 PM
Deas_Voice Deas_Voice is offline
Deas
Deas_Voice's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,264
Deas_Voice is a jewel in the roughDeas_Voice is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via AIM to Deas_Voice Send a message via MSN to Deas_Voice Send a message via Yahoo to Deas_Voice
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soala View Post
Okay but how do I run the folder I extracted? I marked it as an executable (allow to run blabla... in properties) but I don't know what to do next. =(
try with opening the file in Terminal ("cd" to the folder and then ./rc to launch it)
tell me the results.
__________________
.
WTF is real life, and where do I Download it?
There is no Real Life, just AFK!
since 2003~
I Support~
ღAeonღ | ღTestbedღ | ღDelteriaღ

if you are going to rep me, don't be an idiot, leave your name!
I got nothing but love for you
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-24-2010, 02:34 PM
cyan3 cyan3 is offline
Registered User
cyan3's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: England
Posts: 2,919
cyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soala View Post
Okay but how do I run the folder I extracted? I marked it as an executable (allow to run blabla... in properties) but I don't know what to do next. =(
Run the executable RC application in the terminal and see if you have the dependencies installed to use the RC.

For example on Ubuntu I had to install: libgtksourceview1.0-0 for RC to work.

You also might want to check this page: http://wiki.graal.net/index.php/Crea..._Control/Linux

Edit:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deas_Voice View Post
try with opening the file in Terminal ("cd" to the folder and then ./rc to launch it)
tell me the results.
lol I was totally writing the same thing as you.

Last edited by cyan3; 11-24-2010 at 02:38 PM.. Reason: edit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-24-2010, 02:38 PM
Deas_Voice Deas_Voice is offline
Deas
Deas_Voice's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,264
Deas_Voice is a jewel in the roughDeas_Voice is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via AIM to Deas_Voice Send a message via MSN to Deas_Voice Send a message via Yahoo to Deas_Voice
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyan3 View Post
lol I was totally writing the same thing as you.


yeah, i thought about the lib error too, but i was unsure if there was a post or something about it, so i took the safe side and asked him to do that instead of just saying "this is your error, heres how u fix it"

edit: i posted 2 mins before thought >:0!
__________________
.
WTF is real life, and where do I Download it?
There is no Real Life, just AFK!
since 2003~
I Support~
ღAeonღ | ღTestbedღ | ღDelteriaღ

if you are going to rep me, don't be an idiot, leave your name!
I got nothing but love for you
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-24-2010, 02:44 PM
cyan3 cyan3 is offline
Registered User
cyan3's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: England
Posts: 2,919
cyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deas_Voice View Post
edit: i posted 2 mins before thought >:0!
I know I had to do something irl after I opened the reply screen.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-24-2010, 03:47 PM
Soala Soala is offline
Ideas on Fire
Soala's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In my head
Posts: 3,208
Soala is a jewel in the roughSoala is a jewel in the rough
Thanks guys everything works fine, I followed all instructions from the wiki page. Now I only need to fix my IP haha.
Next time I think I'll look at the wiki first, I didn't know there were such articles about Linux on it.

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-24-2010, 04:31 PM
cyan3 cyan3 is offline
Registered User
cyan3's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: England
Posts: 2,919
cyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant futurecyan3 has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soala View Post
Thanks guys everything works fine, I followed all instructions from the wiki page. Now I only need to fix my IP haha.
Next time I think I'll look at the wiki first, I didn't know there were such articles about Linux on it.

Thanks again!
The page is quite new (I made it in March) but I guess its serving it's purpose if It helped you
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-25-2010, 12:56 AM
Zeke_iPhoneGP Zeke_iPhoneGP is offline
Old Account
Zeke_iPhoneGP's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 46
Zeke_iPhoneGP is on a distinguished road
hehe you helped me with my rc too
__________________
Quote:
*Trigger: Xor knows how to have fun too guys...
EllyBelly: suuuuurrreeeeee
Wafflez: thats why we pull out the pizza rolls when xor is back
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-30-2010, 11:08 PM
RegretZ RegretZ is offline
Me.
RegretZ's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 415
RegretZ will become famous soon enough
I would have linux, but my laptop can't hold more than about....3 gb. Yeah, it's pretty sad.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-30-2010, 11:34 PM
Soala Soala is offline
Ideas on Fire
Soala's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In my head
Posts: 3,208
Soala is a jewel in the roughSoala is a jewel in the rough
Quote:
Originally Posted by RegretZ View Post
I would have linux, but my laptop can't hold more than about....3 gb. Yeah, it's pretty sad.
3GB diskspace? are you sure it's a laptop?
Also, most of Linux distros are lightweight (700MB-ish iso, 1GB-ish installed)

if you're talking about RAM, then it's more than enough
I run it fine on a netbook, why would it suck on a laptop???
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-01-2010, 08:21 AM
Zeke_iPhoneGP Zeke_iPhoneGP is offline
Old Account
Zeke_iPhoneGP's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 46
Zeke_iPhoneGP is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by RegretZ View Post
I would have linux, but my laptop can't hold more than about....3 gb. Yeah, it's pretty sad.
lol regret, if you're desperate, just run it off an external storage device (you should have more than 3 gb) xD?
__________________
Quote:
*Trigger: Xor knows how to have fun too guys...
EllyBelly: suuuuurrreeeeee
Wafflez: thats why we pull out the pizza rolls when xor is back
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
linux, remote control

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright (C) 1998-2019 Toonslab All Rights Reserved.