LOL, I did this once on Zodiac. Looking back its funny, but when it actually happens, you feel bad because you only meant to disconnect them.
I agree, that for cases like this, atleast PWAs or administrative staff should have access to a few days back, or atleast some sort of thing where it backs up reset players into a folder.
This way if someone gets reset by accident or some incompetent staff gets angry and deletes everything, you don't have to wait for help from Stefan.