Graal Forums

Graal Forums (https://forums.graalonline.com/forums/index.php)
-   Level Design (https://forums.graalonline.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Activity: Cliff Collab (https://forums.graalonline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=68480)

excaliber7388 08-31-2006 11:36 PM

Activity: Cliff Collab
 
2 Attachment(s)
This Collab is to serve as a tutorial for cliffs. Right now, I'm working on the water cliffs.
I have the basics down, but waterfalls are tricky.
Feel free to add normal cliffs to this too :)
Also, if you find tileerrors, feel free to fix them. This way, we'll have a level with perfect cliffs that people can use to make their own :)

Crono 09-01-2006 12:38 AM

1 Attachment(s)
I pretty much cliff the way Wan taught me to tile wise, I find it has the least tile errors.

Though I'm sure there are some tile errors here, very minor ones at that. Too lazy to find/fix them. x_x

Infernix 09-01-2006 12:47 AM

repost the level crono and then this time fix Excaliburs tile errors. Zz Noob.

Crono 09-01-2006 01:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Infernix
repost the level crono and then this time fix Excaliburs tile errors. Zz Noob.

***** I deleted the level on accident!

sorry guys x_x....just use my post for reference i guess.

excaliber7388 09-01-2006 02:48 AM

:(
I wanted to stael it :p
Now I have to hunt those tiles down

Luda 09-01-2006 04:30 AM

i always thought 1. was wrong and 2. was right :redface:
http://img179.imageshack.us/img179/6416/oum6.png

excaliber7388 09-01-2006 04:58 AM

I like 1 more though, looks smoother.
2 looks strange (and harder to do)

Magadal 09-01-2006 02:00 PM

3 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by excaliber7388
I like 1 more though, looks smoother.
2 looks strange (and harder to do)


But in some situations it gives less tile errors. Btw, its not hard :o

Edit: Added some water cliffing and tried to fix some of your tile errors. Well, I dont know how to do water falls right, but I dont care xD

Editē: I think this could help alot. My cliffing tile objects :o Just copy them into the Graal\tileobjects\ folder.

Crono 09-01-2006 03:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Luda
i always thought 1. was wrong and 2. was right :redface:
http://img179.imageshack.us/img179/6416/oum6.png

2 is the more correct way but it's also VERY UGLY. The way I did it is better in my opinion.

Look at classic's big cliffs, they are so ugly with those layer tiles, just merge it all god damn. X_X

excaliber7388 09-01-2006 04:28 PM

2 Attachment(s)
I downloaded the tileobjects, but when I started the edirot, it was all the same.
It seems as though they were not added.
I downloaded them into the right folder, and did not change the name. How do I use them now?
Also, I think Crono's cliffs are the best. Much smoother.
I've tried making the cliffs both ways, Cronos just look better.
I have to get to a class soon, but here's what I have so far:
(You may want to move them around a bit, I want to try to include every angle or piece used for perfect cliffing, so keep the little one too, just put it 'on top' of the larger cliff example, something like that. Also fix tile errors if you see them, I'm hoping this level serves as the perfect example for cliffs.

Draenin 09-01-2006 05:41 PM

I would pitch in, but I really avoid cliffs like the plague.

excaliber7388 09-01-2006 06:47 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Got a bit farther.:)
exit: does anyone ever use that waterfall anyway?

Draenin 09-01-2006 07:17 PM

The placement of that waterfall really looks quite terrible. It's like the cliff just suddenly cuts off.

excaliber7388 09-01-2006 07:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Draenin
The placement of that waterfall really looks quite terrible. It's like the cliff just suddenly cuts off.

I know, I don't like it either. I was hoping someone would know how to do it better, but I don't think anyone even uses it

Magadal 09-01-2006 07:40 PM

If my tileobjects arent loading, open the editor, go into test mode and press F1. Then you search for the filenamecache option, disable it and restart the editor. You have to do it in the Editor because it is still using the v2 config txt.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright (C) 1998-2019 Toonslab All Rights Reserved.