Graal Forums

Graal Forums (http://forums.graalonline.com/forums/index.php)
-   Level Design (http://forums.graalonline.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Gonstruct Feedback (http://forums.graalonline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=134258190)

Fry 02-26-2010 11:44 PM

Gonstruct Feedback
 
Hey,
so recently we recreated the level rendering in Gonstruct in the hopes of increasing performance and scalability for new features, and I was kind of hoping to get some feedback and testing done in on the current version.
New features are listed in the change log, but generally there's a bunch of layer editing fixes, shading of unselected layers and of course the new level rendering.

Here's a Windows installer which should work.
There's also a Linux binary, but you will most likely have to instruct your packet manager to install "gtksourceviewmm" and "gtkglextmm".

I'm especially interested in any crashes and how to reproduce them, if you find them and any other oddness with the level drawing.
Also, the layer editing controls are obviously pretty terrible right now, so I'm open for suggestions on how to improve them, I've got hotkeys for changing the layer and reordering functionality in mind, but there's probably more.

Also check out the GitHub page if you want, it provides a pretty good platform for bug reports/feature requests, and Dusty has already posted a few suggestions there (ages ago, though).


Bugs we're aware of right now are:
- Flickering when resizing, scrolling or selecting a level
- Screenshot level doesn't work
- Takes all the available CPU time (it's not greedy though and shouldn't slow down other applications)

DustyPorViva 02-26-2010 11:59 PM

Sorry I didn't get back to you on that. Sadly I got an error on the new version:
http://i50.tinypic.com/1zz19na.png

Fry 02-27-2010 12:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DustyPorViva (Post 1559187)
Sorry I didn't get back to you on that. Sadly I got an error on the new version:
http://i50.tinypic.com/1zz19na.png

Drat, I knew I forgot a DLL. Thanks for the report, fixing it as soon as possible :(

DustyPorViva 02-27-2010 02:07 AM

Okay, running fine so far. Got a crash error on closing it, however:
http://i48.tinypic.com/wvz8dj.png

cyan3 02-27-2010 03:06 AM

Just installing the packages but don't have enough time right now to use it :( but I'll come back to it tomorrow.

Umat 02-27-2010 05:19 AM

Have you compiled it with debugging variables so it's usable in gdb?

WhiteDragon 02-27-2010 05:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Umat (Post 1559286)
Have you compiled it with debugging variables so it's usable in gdb?

If he didn't, you can.

All you need on Linux is libboost (was libboost-all-dev in Debian repos), and possibly some other stuff. To compile get premake, move the binary into the source root, and then run
Graal Script Code:

./premake4 embed; ./premake4 gmakesh build.sh 

There might be some more deps you need to resolve, but the compile errors should probably be readable enough to figure out what you need.

Birdo13 02-27-2010 03:58 PM

when I go to use it, no tileset shows up? I have pics1.png and pics1_layers.png in my GRaal/levels/tiles folder. And I have Gonstruct in my Graal/Gonstruct folder. I have the preferences set to the graal folder also. How do I get the pics1_layers tileset to load?

Umat 02-27-2010 04:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WhiteDragon (Post 1559287)
If he didn't, you can.

All you need on Linux is libboost (was libboost-all-dev in Debian repos), and possibly some other stuff. To compile get premake, move the binary into the source root, and then run
Graal Script Code:

./premake4 emed; ./premake4 gmakesh build.sh 

There might be some more deps you need to resolve, but the compile errors should probably be readable enough to figure out what you need.

Oh, right. That was a stupid question. :D I know how to use premake I use it for personal projects.

Fry 02-27-2010 04:34 PM

Okay, fixed the Windows installer (same link), thanks for the reports and sorry it took so long (****ty laptop)!

Fry 02-27-2010 04:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Birdo13 (Post 1559358)
when I go to use it, no tileset shows up? I have pics1.png and pics1_layers.png in my GRaal/levels/tiles folder. And I have Gonstruct in my Graal/Gonstruct folder. I have the preferences set to the graal folder also. How do I get the pics1_layers tileset to load?

Hm, did you add it to the "Tilesets list", marked as a "Main" tileset and open a level? The tileset settings are a bit messy, going to try to come up with a better version of that at some point.

Deas_Voice 02-27-2010 10:08 PM

silly question, but, does it work on 32bit linux now or is it still for 64bit?

Loriel 02-27-2010 10:19 PM

32bit, I did the 64bit linux builds the last time and I did not do anything this time!

WhiteDragon 02-27-2010 10:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Deas_Voice (Post 1559476)
silly question, but, does it work on 32bit linux now or is it still for 64bit?

This should work for 64-bit: gonstruct-0.2.0-lin-64bit.tar.gz

Deas_Voice 02-27-2010 11:27 PM

NPC Code:
[email protected]:~/Desktop/gonstruct-0.2.0$ ./gonstruct
./gonstruct: error while loading shared libraries: libboost_filesystem
8.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory



uhh..

can't find "libboost_filesystem 8.0"..
suggestions?


Quote:

Originally Posted by WhiteDragon (Post 1559483)
This should work for 64-bit: gonstruct-0.2.0-lin-64bit.tar.gz

sorry mate, i'm a 32bit-er.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (C) 1998-2008 Linux cyberjoueurs All Rights Reserved.