Graal Forums

Graal Forums (http://forums.graalonline.com/forums/index.php)
-   Questions about V6 (http://forums.graalonline.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=196)
-   -   wtf when graal back (http://forums.graalonline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=134265208)

6sixty6 12-09-2011 10:44 AM

wtf when graal back
 
i have windows xp and my grall client WONT EVEN OPEN!
is the a temp problem, if so i hope it fixed soon, and if i cant use v6 cuz it not capable to run in my platform

Gunderak 12-09-2011 11:12 AM

V6 Should be more than capable to run on windows xp.
What are your PC specs?
If V5 won't open try re-installing, if that won't work then try right clicking graalv5.exe and click properties, under compatibility try running it in compatibility mode for each option.

ff7chocoboknight 12-09-2011 04:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 6sixty6 (Post 1677021)
i have windows xp and my grall client WONT EVEN OPEN!
is the a temp problem, if so i hope it fixed soon, and if i cant use v6 cuz it not capable to run in my platform

How your computer is handling files is not our problem, tbh.

ShadowFist 12-10-2011 05:22 PM

Just don't use v6..?

Cloven 12-10-2011 06:05 PM

I still use v5 on the rare occasion that I log on. v6 absolutely kills all three of my computers (2 running Vista, 1 running Win7).

Admins 12-10-2011 11:13 PM

Kills your computers? In what ways?

Cloven 12-11-2011 12:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Admins (Post 1677185)
Kills your computers? In what ways?

"Kills" was a bit harsh. My frame-rate while using v6 seems like watching a film in slow motion, however -- it takes 30-60 seconds to walk through one level the majority of the time, no matter what I do. I have had no problems with other games, or the v5 client for that matter.

I don't care a whole lot on a personal level because I prefer developing Graal to playing Graal, and incidentally I don't have much time for either as it is and have probably signed on a handful of times all year. But this v6 issue I seem to be having doesn't exactly "encourage" me to "hop on and have fun." :(

fowlplay4 12-11-2011 01:03 AM

Generate dxdiag logs and post them so we can at least get a summary of your specs, and attempt to identify the source of the problem.

1. Start -> Search: dxdiag
2. Click "Save All Information"

Do you get the same issue using OpenGL? There's a checkbox in F3 to toggle between DirectX and OpenGL now.

Also you could generate HiJackThis logs as well.

Link: http://www.trendmicro.com/ftp/produc...HijackThis.exe
1. Download
2. Run -> Do a System Scan and Save Log file

Video card drivers up-to-date?

Do you have Aero enabled? Try disabling it and see if you encounter the same issue.
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...windows-vista/

Graal does a lot of File I/O. An anti-virus's active shield could be hooking the loading processes and running every time Graal attempts to load a file. Try disabling your anti-virus. If it helps try adding the Graal.exe and/or directory to the 'Excluded' items option in your anti-virus.

While Graal is running check the processes tab in task manager (ctrl+alt+del), sort by CPU and see what percentage is being consumed and by what.

jkldogg 12-11-2011 01:42 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by fowlplay4 (Post 1677198)
Generate dxdiag logs and post them so we can at least get a summary of your specs, and attempt to identify the source of the problem.

1. Start -> Search: dxdiag
2. Click "Save All Information"

Do you get the same issue using OpenGL? There's a checkbox in F3 to toggle between DirectX and OpenGL now.

Also you could generate HiJackThis logs as well.

Link: http://www.trendmicro.com/ftp/produc...HijackThis.exe
1. Download
2. Run -> Do a System Scan and Save Log file

Video card drivers up-to-date?

Do you have Aero enabled? Try disabling it and see if you encounter the same issue.
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...windows-vista/

Graal does a lot of File I/O. An anti-virus's active shield could be hooking the loading processes and running every time Graal attempts to load a file. Try disabling your anti-virus. If it helps try adding the Graal.exe and/or directory to the 'Excluded' items option in your anti-virus.

While Graal is running check the processes tab in task manager (ctrl+alt+del), sort by CPU and see what percentage is being consumed and by what.

I have lag issues as well. DxDiag attached. OpenGL seems the same. HiJack this attached. Video card drivers are up-to-date. Aero doesn't change much. Graal uses 20~40% of CPU.

fowlplay4 12-11-2011 07:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkldogg (Post 1677297)
I have lag issues as well. DxDiag attached. OpenGL seems the same. HiJack this attached. Video card drivers are up-to-date. Aero doesn't change much. Graal uses 20~40% of CPU.

I'm pretty sure I told you this before but according your HiJackThis:

You have both Malwarebytes and Bitdefender enabled. Try disabling them or adding your Graal directory to the list of exceptions. Uninstall them completely and see if that helps, if it doesn't reinstall them.

Admins 12-11-2011 10:55 PM

A 10 seconds /clientstats would help me also.

fowlplay4 12-11-2011 11:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Admins (Post 1677373)
A 10 seconds /clientstats would help me also.

As someone who has been trying to help others and solve these performance problems.

You really need to make a better way for players to generate client-stats logs.

Requiring someone with RC to do it is a huge pain in the ass because of the extra coordination and participation required on the third-party.

Just exclude in-depth function profiling from self-generated client-stats.

jkldogg 12-13-2011 11:06 AM

2 Attachment(s)
Alright, I've added them to the ignore list/exclusion list.

cbk1994 12-13-2011 12:23 PM

Why are you running two antivirus programs anyway?

Admins 12-13-2011 10:27 PM

Is it running faster now?
I've seen that sometimes the PC comes with one anti-virus package and the ISP installs another one. It's hard to see why the computer is slow until you go into the task manager and watch the services fight each other. These services are not shown in the program list so it will not even show anything strange in the list.

fowlplay4 12-13-2011 10:38 PM

Running two anti-viruses, Aero, and having Graal full-screen on a laptop with integrated graphics is probably why it's so slow.

Reduce Graal to half the size you have it right now.

Uninstall both Antiviruses and see if your computer is faster afterward. Don't surf the internet when they're gone if you're that paranoid.

jkldogg 12-14-2011 12:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cbk1994 (Post 1677631)
Why are you running two antivirus programs anyway?

I was informed these two programs scan for different bad things such as "malware" and "viruses". I don't know much about anti-virus programs but I have noticed they do different things. When I was looking for anti-virus programs I was told to just use these two for great protection.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Admins (Post 1677678)
Is it running faster now?
I've seen that sometimes the PC comes with one anti-virus package and the ISP installs another one. It's hard to see why the computer is slow until you go into the task manager and watch the services fight each other. These services are not shown in the program list so it will not even show anything strange in the list.

Everytime I use one of these tips, I see little to no difference. For the services, I'm not sure what you mean by "fight each other".

fowlplay4 12-14-2011 12:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkldogg (Post 1677697)
I was informed these two programs scan for different bad things such as "malware" and "viruses". I don't know much about anti-virus programs but I have noticed they do different things. When I was looking for anti-virus programs I was told to just use these two for great protection.

They're basically the same thing, the only difference is their definitions of viruses/malware. Having multiple AV programs is redundant and done at the expense of your computer's performance.

AV programs like to put them in between loading and saving of files, so if the AV was causing a delay every time Graal tried to load a file that would cause noticeable slow down.

Just uninstall them already and see if it's better.

jkldogg 12-14-2011 01:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fowlplay4 (Post 1677702)
They're basically the same thing, the only difference is their definitions of viruses/malware. Having multiple AV programs is redundant and done at the expense of your computer's performance.

AV programs like to put them in between loading and saving of files, so if the AV was causing a delay every time Graal tried to load a file that would cause noticeable slow down.

Just uninstall them already and see if it's better.

Uninstalling them would be a huge pain since it was done in an odd way. This game still lagged before I had them installed so it isn't going to help to uninstall them.

Crow 12-14-2011 08:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkldogg (Post 1677713)
Uninstalling them would be a huge pain since it was done in an odd way. This game still lagged before I had them installed so it isn't going to help to uninstall them.

Nice to see you're not even willing to do anything to fix your ****.

jkldogg 12-14-2011 03:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crow (Post 1677778)
Nice to see you're not even willing to do anything to fix your ****.

I'm willing to do many things, i've taken every suggestion people have given me (obviously except this one).

OasaTor_PK 12-18-2011 07:05 PM

Just pointing out him having MBAM installed wouldn't effect anything. Unless he pays for the service (which I doubt) nothing on that software runs real time and it is all on demand. So unless he runs an MBAM scan 24/7 it wouldn't effect anything.

fowlplay4 12-18-2011 08:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by OasaTor_PK (Post 1678473)
Just pointing out him having MBAM installed wouldn't effect anything. Unless he pays for the service (which I doubt) nothing on that software runs real time and it is all on demand. So unless he runs an MBAM scan 24/7 it wouldn't effect anything.

MBAM is turning on startup (see his Hijackthis) and there's the Malwarebytes service listed there as well so he most likely has the protection module enabled.

So both MBAM and BitDefender are running at the same time, so if a file is opened it's going to get scanned by both of them at once.

Judging by the last screen-shot he posted he's attempting to play it full-screen at 720p res, and the integrated graphics are too weak to run it at a solid 20 FPS.

The only other thing you can try is: Disabling all non-essential services and startup programs in msconfig (start 'msconfig' in search bar).

My final advice is: Format (or replace your HDD with a SSD) and re-install Windows 7, get the latest drivers, then install and try Graal first before you do anything else.

That's really all that can be done.

jkldogg 12-19-2011 09:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fowlplay4 (Post 1678489)
MBAM is turning on startup (see his Hijackthis) and there's the Malwarebytes service listed there as well so he most likely has the protection module enabled.

So both MBAM and BitDefender are running at the same time, so if a file is opened it's going to get scanned by both of them at once.

Judging by the last screen-shot he posted he's attempting to play it full-screen at 720p res, and the integrated graphics are too weak to run it at a solid 20 FPS.

The only other thing you can try is: Disabling all non-essential services and startup programs in msconfig (start 'msconfig' in search bar).

My final advice is: Format (or replace your HDD with a SSD) and re-install Windows 7, get the latest drivers, then install and try Graal first before you do anything else.

That's really all that can be done.

I uninstalled bitdefender and there wasn't a big change, then updated to bitdefender total security 2012. Feels the same as it was before. Yes I have the mbam protection module on as well as the bitdefender. It never says that it scans files so I'm not sure about that. I've optimized my startup programs long ago, and again about 2 weeks ago (nothing new has been added, i just checked). I don't see the point in formatting my pc just to play one game, this game shouldn't be lagging at all since I pass the minimum and recommended requirements on the graalonline website. I don't feel the need to delete all my stuff just for this game, that's drastic. :asleep:

fowlplay4 12-19-2011 04:28 PM

Those requirements are pretty much equivalent to what was expected in 2001, except with Vista/7 slapped on the top.

It doesn't mean you'll be able to play Graal at 720P on Era at a constant 20 FPS.

Can you take an actual video of it "lagging"? Lagging is such a vague term nowadays.

jkldogg 12-20-2011 09:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fowlplay4 (Post 1678620)
Can you take an actual video of it "lagging"? Lagging is such a vague term nowadays.

EDIT: Yeah...excuse the song, from the YouTube AudioSwap from when they delete your audio for WMG blah blah stuff.

Here's a video from november 21, 2010. This shows a pretty good example of how much I lag when trying to pk / move around. At 0:57 you can see how long it takes for me to enter a new level and leave a level. Should be much quicker than that. Also, if you'd like an up-to-date video I can do that as well.



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (C) 1998-2008 Linux cyberjoueurs All Rights Reserved.