Graal Forums

Graal Forums (http://forums.graalonline.com/forums/index.php)
-   Bug Report (http://forums.graalonline.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=193)
-   -   Windows v6 beta test (http://forums.graalonline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=134257598)

Tigairius 01-01-2010 11:20 PM

Windows v6 beta test
 
6 Attachment(s)
Edit by Skyld:

I created this thread to keep a track of the bugs in the new Graal 6 client for Windows. I have moved posts from the Mac beta thread to this one. Please post any bugs or problems that you have here. Also consider checking if this bug has already been discussed in the Mac Beta Bugs thread, and make sure that you post the version of Windows that you are running, some information about your hardware and precisely how you replicate the error. I shall try and keep a track of bugs in this post.

__________________

Edit by Tig:

I will gray out anything that gets fixed, if something is fixed and it doesn't get grayed out, feel free to do it.
I will also collect some of the bug reports throughout this thread and post it on this main page.

__________________

Note to beta testers: Connect to "Login 2" to get the updated things (like updated profiles/playerlist). If you notice any bugs or have any suggestions for the profiles/playerlist please write them in here or forum PM me, suggestions about scripted-RC and other things (like Shared functions) would be best to contact Skyld.

__________________

Bugs in v6

+ If you copy something, you cannot copy something anymore, and you will only paste what you originally copied.


+ When calling "maximized = true" and "minimized = true" and such it is acting very strangely. Maximize doesn't maximize a window and minimize seems to destroy all the controls in the window and just decrease the size of the window to something really small.

+ canresize, canmove, canmaximize, etc don't work on external windows.

+ Movement becomes choppy "randomly" sometimes, and movement on attached objects is buggy (this happened after the added memory editing protection to the player.x/y/z in the most recent compiled version).

+ Tile layers support alpha blending (unlike v5) but now they don't support transparency.

+ If you mouse over something that doesn't have a hint, and you're currently looking at hints, the last hint you saw will still be displayed (see playerlist, hover over a player then move over to your "Buddies" tab or so).

+ onDblClick isn't invoked on a textlistctrl if there are multiple selections.

+ There is still some bug with showpolies being displayed 50 tiles south of where I intended them, but I'm unable to replicate it anywhere except my level editor (Tig/LLE on GK Debug -- you can test by pressing F4 and trying to select tiles on the level).
^ Update: Now it seems to be displaying about 3 tiles north of the correct place.

+ Functions like showtop() and makefirstresopnder(bool) are not working on external windows.

+ Windows open at mousex/mousey rather than what's defined in their script.

+ Emitters don't work with text.


+ When you have your mouse down and a new window pops up under your mouse, your mouseup event will never be invoked. Would be nice if it was doing some sort of object checking so it knew to invoke the event for mouseup.
For example, if you right click someone to open their profile, the "rightmousebutton" flag is still set to true, even after you close their profile, until you right-click again.

+ While you're walking and you press alt/ctrl or you click out of Graal, you will just continue walking even if you're not pressing the keys. The above suggestion could probably fix this.

^Update: Alt/ctrl is ok now, but if you click another window while walking you still continue walking.

+ Guitextlistctrls don't update unless they are active or you hover your mouse over them, for things like the playerlist this is not a good thing.

- should add some script commands (if not already added) to control a player's online status (like for plisticons: online,dnd,away,etc)

+ Login privileged scripts can't seem to read from the main graal folder anymore but they can write to the main graal folder.

+ External windows aren't calling events like onResize().

- Things like GuiPopUpMenuCtrls can support icons, but they only display in the drop-down list. As you can see here Attachment 50169 the icon displays, but in GS2, it doesn't: Attachment 50168 (even though the selected row has an icon). Reference to the playerlist on Login 2 for examples.

+ There are some problems with drawing on several controls (like scroll), you can see here that unless the scroll is clicked or scrolled, it cuts off the right side of the scroll:
Attachment 50171 How it should look: Attachment 50172
An example would be open your profile on Graal and just press enter a bunch of times in your "favourite quote" box, you'll notice that until you scroll the box or click the scroll, part of the scroll is chopped off.


+ There is also no task bar icon, it's just a blank 16x16 open spot: Attachment 50173
~ Reminder: Don't forget to pack the icons when you release the client.


+ Run command -listscriptfunctions is not working, it simply starts Graal normally. Actually, TSA reports that no run commands are working.


+ Certain bodies aren't displaying properly. (See: post 1 & post 2)

+ Syntaxhighlighting crashes the client.


+ Possible UDP problems? (See Rufus' post)

+ You can't walk and do an emoticon that is animated, only those that aren't.

+ When you drag external windows across the screen, it quits drawing the main Graal window. It would be nice if it continued to update other windows instead of doing this while you're dragging a window (Note: winXP and lower only):
Attachment 50188



Important Suggestions

* Suggestion: The "flickering" boolean, maybe it should also have something like "flickerimage" so we can define what is displayed in between flickers, and if flickerimage is not defined it could just show nothing. (This is needed for the playerlist).

* Suggestion: Some way to select multiple rows in a textlist, like setSelectedRows({0,1,2,3,4}); and setSelectedRowsByID({12,43,20,13,1}); This would be used for the playerlist.

* Suggestion: Some way to select text in a MLText ctrl.

* Suggestion: Some way to flash external windows when they're updated. On Mac the default behavior for this is to "pop" the window out on the dock, and certain linux distros also support the window flashing. Should look like this:
http://img64.imageshack.us/img64/8536/aimmsg.th.jpg

* Suggestion: Should update the client so .nw files also can specify if a tilelayer is blocking or non-blocking or using the tileset, and also if the tilelayer is drawoverplayer or drawunderplayer, etc. Also need to add some scripting variables to access this.

* Suggestion: In v6, you should check the integrity of default files like sword.gani, head0.png, sprites.png, etc so we don't have servers replacing them or so.

* Suggestion: Some sort of boolean for external windows to show always on top whenever the Graal client is the active application. Boolean could be something like GuiWindowCtrl.alwaysontop. (Will be used for the playerlist, PMs and Profiles).

Unimportant Suggestions

* Would be neat if string.substring(-1) cut off 1 character from the back of the string instead of having to do string.substring(0, string.length() - 1);

* Some level.zoom affect to scale the size of the level would be neat. I know many people had hoped this is possible. It would open a lot of possibilities for Graal, especially if it's also able to be done with tilelayers.

* Enabling timevar3 on regular servers.

Admins 01-06-2010 02:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tigairius (Post 1548427)
-Guitextlistctrls don't update unless they are active or you hover your mouse over them, for things like the playerlist this is not a good thing.

You mean when you change the text of an entry?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tigairius (Post 1548427)
- should add some script commands (if not already added) to control a player's online status (like for plisticons: online,dnd,away,etc)

There is TServerPlayer.playerlisticon, not sure if that helps.

Admins 01-06-2010 08:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tigairius (Post 1548296)
- onDblClick isn't invoked on a textlistctrl if there are multiple selections.

Aren't double clicks selecting a single list entry anyway?

Admins 01-06-2010 09:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tigairius (Post 1548296)
- If you mouse over something that doesn't have a hint, and you're currently looking at hints, the last hint you saw will still be displayed (see playerlist, hover over a player then move over to your "Buddies" tab or so).

Fixed.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tigairius (Post 1548296)
- There is still some bug with showpolies being displayed 50 tiles south of where I intended them, but I'm unable to replicate it anywhere except my level editor (Tig/LLE on GK Debug -- you can test by pressing F4 and trying to select tiles on the level).

Fixed, was a problem with the menu moving the graal control offset.

Admins 01-07-2010 03:04 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tigairius (Post 1548694)
- There is also no task bar icon, it's just a blank 16x16 open spot: http://forums.graalonline.com/forums...1&d=1262844424

Hmmm requires these images (in graal folder), someone remind me to package them with the next version:

Admins 01-07-2010 03:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tigairius (Post 1548694)
- Things like GuiPopUpMenuCtrls can support icons, but they only display in the drop-down list. As you can see here http://forums.graalonline.com/forums...1&d=1262837586 the icon displays, but in GS2, it doesn't: http://forums.graalonline.com/forums...1&d=1262837576 (even though the selected row has an icon). Reference to the playerlist on Login 2 for examples.

Ok added icon display in GuiPopUpMenuCtrl.

Tigairius 01-07-2010 11:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Admins (Post 1548800)
Hmmm requires these images (in graal folder), someone remind me to package them with the next version:

Actually, would it be possible to control the icon via login-privileged scripts? Would be nice for the playerlist to show when you're getting a PM and stuff. Also an option to turn the icon off.

Skyld 01-09-2010 12:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tigairius (Post 1548993)
Another thing I'd really like to see fixed would be this:

- When you drag external windows across the screen, it quits drawing the main Graal window. It would be nice if it continued to update other windows instead of doing this while you're dragging a window:

Very odd; I don't get this on Windows 7.

Riot 01-09-2010 01:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skyld (Post 1549171)
Very odd; I don't get this on Windows 7.

I assume Tig is using Windows XP. In Windows Vista the window manager was changed and now caches the image a program displayed to prevent that exact issue from happening due to lock ups.

Stephen 01-09-2010 02:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skyld (Post 1549171)
Very odd; I don't get this on Windows 7.

I also do not get this on Windows 7


- Player movement is rendered very choppy for some reason (cannot find the cause) but the canvas continues to render flawlessly.
- Cannot copy and paste multiple times, only once...
- movement on GMAP is not as nice as the initial beta released many months ago, it takes a long time to load the GMAP from an interior level and there is a short pause when the client loads the next level during movement.

Tigairius 01-09-2010 02:39 AM

Hmm.. Windows are still opening at mousex/y :(

Quote:

Originally Posted by zephirot (Post 1549186)
How to access the beta?

The Windows beta is not open yet, but more information will be posted soon.

Edit: Contact Skyld for information.

Rufus 01-09-2010 02:57 AM

I'm using a laptop which is running Windows 7, 32 bit. I haven't changed any settings, nor the program compatibility or anything like that.
  • When moving using the I, J, K, and L keys, if you hold down Ctrl or Alt and let go of your movement key, it will continue to walk in the direction that you were walking towards.

  • You can't walk and do an emoticon that is animated, only those that aren't.

  • The default "font height" on both the Graal 5 and Graal 6 clients is "24" but there is a notable difference in size. In addition to this, the text in the Graal 6 client isn't in bold like the other previous versions. [Graal 5] [Graal 6]

  • 'Special' characters that showed previously are now being replaced. [Graal 5] [Graal 6]

  • Maximizing to full screen messes up the screen. Ctrl, Alt and Delete and opening a program that disables visual themes also achieves this. These don't happen on my Graal 5 client, though a little error does pop up when I do Ctrl, Alt and Delete.

  • I use UDP (have the option unchecked) on the Graal 5 client, have my router forwarded correctly, and see people walking around fine. On the Graal 6 client I can't see anyone move who also uses UDP, even though I'm using the exact same settings.

TSAdmin 01-09-2010 03:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skyld (Post 1549171)
Very odd; I don't get this on Windows 7.

Nor do I. That said, all bugs I report have occurred on Windows 7. Here are some things I do notice-

http://i50.tinypic.com/npq5bp_th.png
Click for larger image
-Some heads and bodies (Only seems to be on Classic servers, had no problems on Zone or GK) are not displaying at all. The heads aren't always a problem, but there are still some that don't show up. A lot of bodies don't show up at all though.

-Just a sidenote on this screenshot while it's up though, behind my "Movement chooser" GUI in the lower right, you'll notice that Era's displayed text for server alerts never disappears, just turns black. I'm figuring there's some support issues related to how Era displays it's messages specifically because it doesn't look to have any problem with showtext();

http://i50.tinypic.com/5yavzm_th.png
Click for larger image
-Trying to edit in Client RC causes the client to not respond, and inevitably crash once you click a script to edit.

http://i47.tinypic.com/27wx1xg_th.png
Click for larger image
-No matter what setting you choose for "Run:" in the Graal's shortcut properties, it will open in "Normal window" but with the attribute chosen enabled anyway. EG: I set my Graal shortcut to "Run Maximized", but opening it the game doesn't open maximised at all, however the "Maximize" button is still visually changed to "Restore Down".


This is not the bug in action, but on Kingdoms when you hold down left, right and down, it is almost identical to the bug.
-Okay, I am not entirely sure what causes this one specifically but after the client's been running for some time, I've noticed that switching from one window to another then back to the Game client seems to give slow movement feedback to the client to respond.
For example, once the bug kicks in, I cant move diagonally (Doesn't allow two buttons at once to be pressed, the new button cancels the first), and when I do move the feeling is as if it is moving 1 tile every 0.05 seconds with a sharp pause giving instead of a solid __________ feel like you see in my video, it gives a ---------- feel with cuts in the movement, jolts if you will.

If you get "An error occurred. Please try again later. it may not be "Live" just yet.

-No screenshot for this one since it happens only randomly, but it was also a bug in v5 that seems to have continued over to v6, and I'm sure most of you have probably seen it before. The player's head in the minimap occasionally changes to a randomly selected other online player's head image.

That's all I have for now that I gathered since I started testing.

DustyPorViva 01-09-2010 03:09 AM

Is the body problem the typical bug where changing the color values of the gani makes them disappear until they move? Or are files missing or some such?

cbk1994 01-09-2010 03:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rufus (Post 1549198)
  • The default "font height" on both the Graal 5 and Graal 6 clients is "24" but there is a notable difference in size. In addition to this, the text in the Graal 6 client isn't in bold like the other previous versions. [Graal 5] [Graal 6]
  • 'Special' characters that showed previously are now being replaced. [Graal 5] [Graal 6]

These are both probably a result of using a different font rendering engine (same one Mac/Linux uses). Both of these things have been happening on Mac since I've been using it, and Stefan mentioned he was switching how fonts were rendered in the new version of Windows as well.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (C) 1998-2008 Linux cyberjoueurs All Rights Reserved.