Graal Forums

Graal Forums (https://forums.graalonline.com/forums/index.php)
-   Questions about V6 (https://forums.graalonline.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=196)
-   -   GS2? In my editor? (https://forums.graalonline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=80748)

Loriel 07-23-2008 10:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheStan (Post 1407480)
Impossible.

Oh, come on. The unicode encoding scheme used by web browsers and applications all over the world was designed by two guys, during dinner, on a piece of paper, and they had it implemented in their operating system on the next monday.

cbk1994 07-23-2008 11:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by excaliber7388 (Post 1407481)
There's really no way to learn without it.

I managed, and, obviously, so did others.

There's no point in it; it's just a waste of time. They just need to set up a testbed-type server.

excaliber7388 07-23-2008 11:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cbk1994 (Post 1407524)
I managed, and, obviously, so did others.

There's no point in it; it's just a waste of time. They just need to set up a testbed-type server.

Let's be honest: Did you have access to an RC at the time?
Because the only way I learned was testing my scripts online. That's the best way to learn, and the only way you can be sure you have a grasp on anything.

DustyPorViva 07-23-2008 11:48 PM

You only learn if you manage to have friends or someone willing to help and let you use their server. Otherwise, you're **** out of luck.

edit: or of course, buy a server

zokemon 07-24-2008 07:12 AM

You have to be mageborn to learn GS2, duh.

Crono1508 07-24-2008 07:45 AM

You (Mon Jul 14 18:08:20 2008):

According to Neener, he's said previous times that Graal is coming out with a new version soon. I was wondering with the next release of a newer version, if it could possibly be a GraalEditor (Offline) update as well; so it has GS2 capability and that clientside and serverside would work properly. So you would know that what you've created will work once its uploaded.

---
Opposite (Mon Jul 14 18:21:06 2008):

offline editor will not support GS2 no


You is me and Opposite is Stefan.

DustyPorViva 07-24-2008 07:50 AM

Heh, Stefan already posted he won't update ANY of the offline tools... YAY!

LoneAngelIbesu 07-24-2008 07:57 AM

If you can find somebody that knows how to build applications and understands GS2 and Torque, it wouldn't be that hard for them to emulate the clientside part GS2, no? The hard part is finding somebody to do it for free.

xXziroXx 07-24-2008 01:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by excaliber7388 (Post 1407481)
No, I used to write code on a notepad and copy it when I came home.

A while ago when I didn't have an Internet connection for a while, I used to script whole systems offline in notepad, and then bring it on a floppy to a friends house to upload it every other week or so. >_<

Loriel 07-24-2008 01:40 PM

Yes it would be that hard

DrakilorP2P 07-24-2008 01:59 PM

Stefan is afraid of reverse engineered private servers even though that already happened.

excaliber7388 07-24-2008 03:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DustyPorViva (Post 1407668)
Heh, Stefan already posted he won't update ANY of the offline tools... YAY!

Which is unfortunate, because the online tools aren't too great. The Mac RC/Level editor is very slow. Part of the reason I quit dev was the lousy tools for it. I was going to make an offline Mac level editor a while back, but decided it wasn't worth my time (hey, it's not my company, and I won't be paid for it).
If I was getting money for it, then that would be a different story.

DustyPorViva 07-24-2008 05:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by excaliber7388 (Post 1407721)
Which is unfortunate, because the online tools aren't too great. The Mac RC/Level editor is very slow. Part of the reason I quit dev was the lousy tools for it. I was going to make an offline Mac level editor a while back, but decided it wasn't worth my time (hey, it's not my company, and I won't be paid for it).
If I was getting money for it, then that would be a different story.

Ya, it's a dumb move but he has so much confidence in the online tools. We've been trying to get him to change his mind for a while :/

Skyld 07-24-2008 05:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DustyPorViva (Post 1407757)
Ya, it's a dumb move but he has so much confidence in the online tools.

As do I. Why? Because it means that we can provide immediate updates to every client on Graal, on every platform, at the same time. That's an incredible bonus because it means that three separate sets of tools aren't having to be released and updated every time a new feature is added. That would be costly in terms of developer time and you would then see less other updates.
Quote:

Originally Posted by excaliber7388
The Mac RC(/Level editor) is very slow.

How exactly is it slow? I'm guessing it has something to do with being ran on an Intel Mac, since it is very fast for me on PowerPC.

DustyPorViva 07-24-2008 05:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skyld (Post 1407782)
As do I. Why? Because it means that we can provide immediate updates to every client on Graal, on every platform, at the same time. That's an incredible bonus because it means that three separate sets of tools aren't having to be released and updated every time a new feature is added. That would be costly in terms of developer time and you would then see less other updates.

I don't disagree in the power of the online tools, but I see NO reason to abandon the offline tools. Stefan's not the one developing online tools, so it's not like this would spread his workload anymore than it did beforehand. He could have simply went on updating the offline tools while people like you worked on the online ones.

As for less updates? It's not like there are many updates in the first place... if fewer updates meant an updated editor, dammit, I'll take it.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright (C) 1998-2019 Toonslab All Rights Reserved.