PDA

View Full Version : Level Loader


DustyPorViva
11-21-2008, 10:04 PM
Made this little function that loads a level into an object so everything can be accessible. I hope this will encourage people to get into level editors more, perhaps, or just make it easier for those that are. I've attached the class folder(which is named as it should be named a class).

It works like this:
temp.loadlvl = "new4.nw";
this.lvl = new TStaticVar();
this.lvl.join("loadlevel");
this.lvl.LoadLevel(loadlvl);
The level must be in the direction of Graal/levels(if clientside, I haven't tested it on the serverside so I'm not entirely sure what director it uses... probably levels/), or sub directories if you do so via...
temp.loadlvl = "myworld/new4.nw"
which will find the level in Graal/levels/myworld/new4.nw.

Then you can simply echo the information like so...
echo(this.lvl.tiles[0]);
to echo the tiles of layer 0, or...
echo(this.lvl.npcs[0].text);
to echo the text(script) of NPC 0, or...
echo(this.lvl.npcs.size());
to get the count of NPCs in the level.

Here are a list of accessible variables...
tiles[A] will return the tiles of layer A

links[A].destlevel gives the destination level of link A
links[A].x gives the x position of link A
links[A].y gives the y position of link A
links[A].width gives the width of link A
links[A].height gives the height of link A
links[A].destx gives the destination x of link A
links[A].desty gives the destination y of link A

signs[A].x returns x of sign A
signs[A].y returns y of sign A
signs[A].text returns text of sign A

npcs[A].x returns x of npc A
npcs[A].y returns y of npc A
npcs[A].text returns text of npc/script A
npcs[A].image returns image of npc A

chests[A].x returns x of chest A
chests[A].y returns y of chest A
chests[A].content gives the content of chest A
chests[A].sign returns the index of the sign for chest A

A.size() will return the amount objects in A(layers/links/signs/npcs/chests)

Planned additions:
> a savelevel function, for saving a level to NW format.
> a tiles(x,y,z) which will return the tile from coordinates x,y in layer z, from the tiles returned in my function.
> loading baddies? I don't quite know if I want to do this, but if people demand it I will add it.

Please let me know if you encounter any bugs.

Codein
11-21-2008, 10:06 PM
Nice work man :)

Tigairius
11-21-2008, 10:14 PM
Great job :)

Soala
11-21-2008, 10:18 PM
Very nice !

cbk1994
11-21-2008, 11:06 PM
Very nice!

Baddies aren't needed, in my opinion, but your other planned things look nice.