PDA

View Full Version : vista


06-24-2008, 09:15 PM
Graal runs very slow with Vista on my laptop. It's new and has a good spec [ram, gfx card etc]. How can I make it faster? It's like walking on and then needing to wait three seconds to move my character...

Elizabeth
06-24-2008, 11:09 PM
it does it on my pc too.
learn to live with it
) :

Stephen
06-24-2008, 11:19 PM
You could trying turning Aero off in your themes - use the XP or classic theme.

cbk1994
06-24-2008, 11:41 PM
How can I make it faster?

Upgrade to XP.

DrakilorP2P
06-25-2008, 02:21 AM
Boot into a second operating system and see if it still happens.

blazeingonix
06-25-2008, 03:42 AM
close msn, vista has a lot of problems omg,, new computers still having xp?

cbk1994
06-25-2008, 03:47 AM
close msn, vista has a lot of problems omg,, new computers still having xp?

I think they just stop selling it (Microsoft did) which means OEMs can't (as far as I know).

People make posts like this about how much Vista sucks, and then when anyone mentions a certain alternative, they start defending Vista.

blazeingonix
06-25-2008, 03:54 AM
Ok now don't fight. it was a question

06-25-2008, 09:32 AM
shouldn't graal fix it??

cbk1994
06-25-2008, 09:59 AM
shouldn't graal fix it??

It should. It probably will. In v6.

Which will introduce 20 more bugs, which make the game run bad. :)

Admins
06-25-2008, 12:49 PM
Are other games running fine + fast? Laptops sometimes come with bad graphic drivers pre-installed.

Deas_Voice
06-25-2008, 01:57 PM
Are other games running fine + fast? Laptops sometimes come with bad graphic drivers pre-installed.

yeah my nvidia grapic card crasht like uhm 4 times last week o.o;
i dont have much games on my laptop but yes they are running fine.

blazeingonix
06-25-2008, 02:04 PM
Is graal stefan , is graal , don't try to find any excuses .

cbk1994
06-25-2008, 04:05 PM
yeah my nvidia grapic card crasht like uhm 4 times last week o.o;
i dont have much games on my laptop but yes they are running fine.

Try uninstalling it, and then installing it again with the correct drivers from the website.

Deas_Voice
06-25-2008, 04:21 PM
Try uninstalling it, and then installing it again with the correct drivers from the website.

i don't know the "correct drivers" lol
and by uninstall&install it again u mean the program right?

06-25-2008, 09:44 PM
Graphics
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Display adapter type NVIDIA GeForce 7000M / nForce 610M
Total available graphics memory 799 MB
Dedicated graphics memory 64 MB
Dedicated system memory 0 MB
Shared system memory 735 MB
Display adapter driver version 7.15.11.5666
Primary monitor resolution 1280x800
DirectX version DirectX 9.0 or better

Deas_Voice
06-25-2008, 10:07 PM
Graphics
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Display adapter type NVIDIA GeForce 7000M / nForce 610M
Total available graphics memory 799 MB
Dedicated graphics memory 64 MB
Dedicated system memory 0 MB
Shared system memory 735 MB
Display adapter driver version 7.15.11.5666
Primary monitor resolution 1280x800
DirectX version DirectX 9.0 or better

where do u check those things?

cbk1994
06-25-2008, 10:08 PM
i don't know the "correct drivers" lol
and by uninstall&install it again u mean the program right?

No, the drivers.

Deas_Voice
06-25-2008, 10:12 PM
No, the drivers.

im not so wize with what you are telling me, mind telling me how do i find it?
ps; yeah i know what drivers is but not where to find it

cbk1994
06-25-2008, 10:59 PM
im not so wize with what you are telling me, mind telling me how do i find it?
ps; yeah i know what drivers is but not where to find it

Open System in control panel, go to Advanced, open Device Manager.

It might have changed on Vista.

Stephen
06-25-2008, 11:32 PM
Shared memory tends to suck anyways.

Graal has always been laggy (on the gmap) for me. I've had several different rigs and they always have a top of the line video card in them.

cbk1994
06-26-2008, 12:50 AM
Shared memory tends to suck anyways.

Graal has always been laggy (on the gmap) for me. I've had several different rigs and they always have a top of the line video card in them.

You mean on Vista, right?

I have XP with a basic graphics card (ATI Radeon X1600) and it works flawlessly. Same on Mac with the same card and the new version of Graal.

Admins
06-26-2008, 12:53 AM
Well there are newer drivers, that one is from december last year. It's not always easy to know if it will work on laptops though, they sometimes require special drivers depending on the motherboard/chipset.
The next Graal version should be a little bit faster for that card/configuration, but we will need to see.

06-26-2008, 10:16 AM
updated drivers, abit faster. it generally only gets slow when 2+ people are in the same level...

cbk1994
06-26-2008, 10:40 AM
updated drivers, abit faster. it generally only gets slow when 2+ people are in the same level...

So pretty much any level?

Stephen
06-26-2008, 01:13 PM
You mean on Vista, right?
No.

I have XP with a basic graphics card (ATI Radeon X1600) and it works flawlessly. Same on Mac with the same card and the new version of Graal.
Try GK GMAP with it.

Crono
06-26-2008, 01:25 PM
Graal has always been laggy (on the gmap) for me. I've had several different rigs and they always have a top of the line video card in them.

I was told that Graal doesn't really use the graphic card though, mostly CPU/Ram. :o

cbk1994
06-26-2008, 08:50 PM
Try GK GMAP with it.

yEVqMNMftnA

Running on Mac OS 10.5 Leopard, with a Pre-Release version of Graal (Intel) for Mac.

2.33 GHz MacBook Pro
2 GB RAM
ATI Radeon X1600 with 256 MB Dedicated Memory

Flawless.

It works about the same, slightly slower on Windows (could be because it's not the beta version, could be that it runs on bad drivers (since I use boot camp), could just be the windows version is not as fast. I don't know)

Stephen
06-26-2008, 11:10 PM
yEVqMNMftnA

Running on Mac OS 10.5 Leopard, with a Pre-Release version of Graal (Intel) for Mac.

2.33 GHz MacBook Pro
2 GB RAM
ATI Radeon X1600 with 256 MB Dedicated Memory

Flawless.

It works about the same, slightly slower on Windows (could be because it's not the beta version, could be that it runs on bad drivers (since I use boot camp), could just be the windows version is not as fast. I don't know)
K. try setting your resolution above 640x400.

06-28-2008, 01:03 AM
any level with people in it generally, thats all...

Crono
06-28-2008, 01:25 AM
K. try setting your resolution above 640x400.

Yo, don't ignore my post this cud be srs.

Stephen
06-28-2008, 01:38 AM
Yo, don't ignore my post this cud be srs.
It uses DX7.

06-29-2008, 12:56 PM
anything??

Crono
09-17-2008, 06:17 PM
My home PC uses Vista 64bit and graal runs fine on it, but I recently bought a laptop and it has random spikes on graal where I suddenly begin to skip a lot. It uses Vista 32bit.

Laptop specs:
P7350 @ 2ghz (dual core)
3 gigs of DDR2 ram
9600M GT

PC specs:
E6550 @ 2.8ghz (dual core)
2 gigs of DDR ram
9600GT

Tried different graphic card drivers and dx updates on the laptop, no luck. Think it may be 32-bit Vista acting up with Graal? This is about v5.

Crono
09-21-2008, 10:28 PM
The above seems to be fixed by selecting Windows Classic as your theme as opposed to Aero.

Still weird how it doesn't do this on my PC.

Unkownsoldier
09-25-2008, 12:05 AM
Vista lag was a challenge at first for my self. Yet I found a great solution, If your resolution is high such as 1280x800 then making the resolution smaller makes it not lag yet it makes your computer look horrible. So just go into f3 options and check full screen and one less resolution then you are now and it still looks fine and it runs fine.

Stephen
09-25-2008, 12:18 AM
Stefan claims the lag is poor drivers, even though my computer runs Crysis near flawlessly. :asleep:

Unkownsoldier
09-25-2008, 12:58 AM
Well I can't help you then