PDA

View Full Version : Server Restart Command


Admins
01-14-2008, 08:45 PM
We have added a new command for server owners to restart their server:

/global servercontrol restart
(you can also do /global help)

This is similar to the old website admin panel. It only works for server owners, and only for developer servers (not classic and gold).

Skyld
01-14-2008, 11:23 PM
Sidenote: If you are having trouble using servercontrol restart or you need a gold/classic server restarted, you can contact myself or Bell.

Tigairius
01-14-2008, 11:29 PM
Thanks! I'm glad this finally got implemented.

Chompy
01-15-2008, 12:24 AM
Nice feature :)

Switch
01-15-2008, 12:28 AM
Yess
What's it do restart the GServer? If so does that like completely erase it or something? Never tried or found out..

Skyld
01-15-2008, 12:41 AM
Yess
What's it do restart the GServer? If so does that like completely erase it or something? Never tried or found out..
It will shut down the NPC-Server and GServer, and then start them again. It won't delete anything.

You maybe ought to /savenpcs first though (since I'm not sure if it'll do that itself).

Twinny
01-15-2008, 12:43 AM
Yess
What's it do restart the GServer? If so does that like completely erase it or something? Never tried or found out..

You can already 'restart' the GServer by killing the process then calling it again (/npckill and /npcstart). Chance you can lose active dbnpcs doing this so you should do a /savenpcs first just to make sure. Should only kill the Gserver when it is completed locked up. Good way to test this: use /stats and see if the "Top 20 of npcs taken most CPU time:" shows up. If it does, see if any of the processes are way to high and solve is needed. If not, cycle the gserver ^^

Skyld
01-15-2008, 12:44 AM
It will restart the whole server. You can already 'restart' the GServer by killing the process then calling it again (/npckill and /npcstart). You can lose active dbnpcs doing this so you should do a /savenpcs first.
You are probably safer using /npcshutdown to make sure that script executions are cleanly ended, /npckill is a bit more of an extreme measure.

Switch
01-15-2008, 12:47 AM
ah k, thanks.

Twinny
01-15-2008, 12:51 AM
You are probably safer using /npcshutdown to make sure that script executions are cleanly ended, /npckill is a bit more of an extreme measure.

Sucks that only the owner can do it though. Maybe if the admin/globals can add authorised people? Would suck if development had to be stalled until a a global/owner can be notified of the problem :(

Tigairius
01-15-2008, 01:38 AM
Sucks that only the owner can do it though. Maybe if the admin/globals can add authorised people? Would suck if development had to be stalled until a a global/owner can be notified of the problem :(

I think you're asking for too much :(

Inverness
01-15-2008, 06:28 AM
Twinny it sounds to me like you're confusing the GServer and the NPC-Server?

Twinny
01-15-2008, 07:46 AM
Twinny it sounds to me like you're confusing the GServer and the NPC-Server?

Yeah, you're definitely right there ^^

Admins
01-15-2008, 06:16 PM
Restarting the gserver is normally only needed when there is some problem when updating / resizing a gmap, to make sure the old levels are unloaded.

Pimmeh
01-15-2008, 06:27 PM
Yeah, Gmap problems do get fixed with this!
I had a problem about a week ago, thanks a lot Stefan!

DustyPorViva
01-15-2008, 07:48 PM
Hmm, I uploaded a gmap that was just regular levels(not terrain), but when I warp to the gmap, everything is screwed up and it's being considered a terrain... is that the same problem?

bscharff
01-19-2008, 01:38 AM
Maybe allow anyone with the "change staff accounts" RC right to use this command? (Since it has no other use that I am aware of)

Inverness
01-19-2008, 02:32 AM
No, only the owner needs to have such abilities, not anyone he foolishly gives full rights to.

Crow
01-19-2008, 01:11 PM
No, only the owner needs to have such abilities, not anyone he foolishly gives full rights to.

100 percent agree. (friggin fix the bad request error with percent symbols already D:)

Skyld
01-19-2008, 01:42 PM
Maybe allow anyone with the "change staff accounts" RC right to use this command? (Since it has no other use that I am aware of)
It is something that does not really have any use for non-global staff anymore.