PDA

View Full Version : lagging on servers


Tom
07-21-2007, 03:44 PM
Im now on vista, and when im on a server i randomly start lagging, like everything turns slow motion and the game responds slower to everything.

Pretty much like when your drunk tbh.

And its not internet lag either, proven.

Anyone know wth is going on?

zephirot
07-21-2007, 03:47 PM
Same for me.
I never lagged on V4, and I just can't play on V5

Vulcan
07-21-2007, 05:30 PM
Does it get worse over time, always the same..?

Tom
07-21-2007, 06:13 PM
cant really tell, but it starts off ok then starts.

Delta2004
07-21-2007, 09:31 PM
I don't experience this problem. That's odd though...

Tom
07-22-2007, 04:59 AM
any solutions?

Tom
07-27-2007, 05:13 AM
Yea, just figured its gotten worse as i carry on.

I pay for this game, i expect some solutions so i can actually use the product.

Angel_Light
07-27-2007, 05:35 AM
make screen smaller?

Tom
07-27-2007, 05:00 PM
Tried that

xXziroXx
07-27-2007, 08:45 PM
When you get the lag, log on Zodiac and say /clearlogs - do you still lag after that?

Tom
07-27-2007, 09:40 PM
Yea, i do :(

Understood
08-08-2007, 08:12 AM
Same problem, and yes it gets worse over time...It ALWAYS happens whenever I send out a mass message as well. Reconnecting fixes it for a little while and then it comes again.

zokemon
08-08-2007, 08:31 AM
ctrl + alt + delete and watch Graal4.exe in processes. Does the CPU and memory use gradually keep going up without declining?

cyan3
08-08-2007, 11:32 AM
I just got Vista a few days ago and i have the same problem.

Admins
08-08-2007, 04:26 PM
I tested it with automatic mass-reply message (all players blinking on the playerlist), and were not able to see any lag or memory leak. I need more information:
- does it also lag if you just have one blinking icon on the playerlist (tray icon blinking) or only when a lot of icons on the playerlist are blinking?
- on any server?
- does it cause a memory leak, the memory taken by Graal is increasing over the time (watch Graal in the task manager) ?

Understood
08-10-2007, 02:15 AM
I tested it with automatic mass-reply message (all players blinking on the playerlist), and were not able to see any lag or memory leak. I need more information:
- does it also lag if you just have one blinking icon on the playerlist (tray icon blinking) or only when a lot of icons on the playerlist are blinking?
- on any server?
- does it cause a memory leak, the memory taken by Graal is increasing over the time (watch Graal in the task manager) ?

It doesn't matter how many icons are blinking...I only really play Era, but I played Zodiac for a while and it didn't seem to happen there.

I've asked around on Era and several other people get the same problem...lag that they never got before graal 5.

Yes, the memory taken by Graal gradually increases over time.

I have a very good computer and graal shouldn't be lagging me...

Admins
08-10-2007, 12:17 PM
Does it also lag when there are no blinking PMs at all?

zokemon
08-10-2007, 04:01 PM
Since you claim it is Era specific and other people are experiencing this also only on Era, I'm surprised no one has posting this here (http://forums.graalonline.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=163).

I do have to agree though that my own server lags slightly more with v5 (seems to take up like twice as much CPU and a bit more memory when I am around the same particle effects I had in v4.

Understood
08-12-2007, 04:13 AM
I just deleted the graal folder and installed again...it's probably a temp fix, but it's not hard to do...

although while I was doing it I found another Era-related problem...I don't think you automatically download the Era tileset when you connect.

When I connected to Era I saw only black and NPCs...I got the era tilesets from someone and manually put them in my tiles folder...but it still didn't work, so I messed around in my options and unchecked "Use filename cache" and that fixed it...I found out several people had the same problem, and I showed them what they needed to do.

Admins
08-14-2007, 06:37 PM
What was the filename?

About the playerlist lag: still cannot see any problem on Era, does it only happen at special places / maps ?
Update: the playerlist didn't lag me, but when walking over the era map it was taking a lot of memory, will check what the problem for this is.

ReBorn_Spirit
08-14-2007, 07:15 PM
Playerlist up or not, the entire server and client stop responding for times upwards of 5 seconds at random intervals since the graal 5 change.

It could be a software compatibility issue as I'm on XP x64. But since other people are getting it, its hard to say. I have no logged errors for you but have seen this atleast a few times a day. There is no way Graal should be able to lock up both of my processors enough to make it pause like that.

Crow
08-14-2007, 07:16 PM
Update: the playerlist didn't lag me, but when walking over the era map it was taking a lot of memory, will check what the problem for this is.

OH YES PLEASE DO THAT!! Its lagging on Era since v4 its out, its so annoying.

Admins
08-14-2007, 11:39 PM
Hmmm The problem seems to be hugh number of npcs on the era map. I have reduced the memory taken by the npc a little bit in my version, although it is still a lot. I don't have the problem of playerlist lag still though.

Crow
08-15-2007, 01:01 AM
Stefan, you are going offtopic, this thread is not about playerlist lag :asleep:

Understood
08-15-2007, 08:08 AM
tileset_era01-summer-online.png

I talked to Era staff about it and someone told me they told Vulcan, but I don't know if anything has been done.

And about the lag, I turned off mass messages today, and I didn't get any lag...if that helps.

Admins
08-15-2007, 05:49 PM
The file is online, has been uploaded a few days ago.

Tom
08-17-2007, 12:37 AM
33,720 K Graal.exe

And rising 0_o

cyan3
08-17-2007, 01:30 AM
Graal4.exe 91,032k :(

Tom
08-17-2007, 03:19 AM
X_x not played long enough for that. Too much lag to even try lol