PDA

View Full Version : DR Computer!


excaliber7388
12-01-2006, 05:11 AM
Okay, I'm working on a website for the DR Computer.
Why?
I'm making it open sourced.
I plan to release the DR Computer script, for everyone to use and edit (considering you follow the terms, such as, all changes have to be uploaded, only change the newest version, do not take credit from anyone who worked on it, etc). I'm hoping to make a LOT of additions to it through the community. As of now, I'm working on an RSS feed, slideshow, and the page with the terms and script on it. I explain more on the site. Right now, every age but the rss, the terms/script page, and a few images. The slide show also has some problems I'm working on. I also don't have many screenshots (since I can't get on my server for some reason :\).
Anyway, give me your thoughts on the project, the page, etc :D
http://drcompproject.tripod.com/Welcome.html
Yeah...tripod :\. I used my own formatting though. Still, I'm looking for a different free hosting service since tripod has screwed me over before :\

Eagle
12-01-2006, 05:55 AM
The screenshots of it actually look pretty cool, I didn't picture it looking like that.

excaliber7388
12-01-2006, 05:58 AM
I plan to make it very customizable. Right now, you can customize your home page, the desktop, and your window options (whether parent windows stay open after you click on a program, or if they close).
I plan to make the computer type interchangeable (the image of the computer), options for email, other programs, etc.
GS2 is a pretty powerful language, and I want this to take advantage of everything it has to offer.

KuJi
12-01-2006, 06:05 AM
I plan to make it very customizable. Right now, you can customize your home page, the desktop, and your window options (whether parent windows stay open after you click on a program, or if they close).
I plan to make the computer type interchangeable (the image of the computer), options for email, other programs, etc.
GS2 is a pretty powerful language, and I want this to take advantage of everything it has to offer.

How does the website viewing work?

P.S. I *MIGHT* be able to pull off a full direct-aim chat to players around any server if they have the script hooked up.. :D

I'd really have to see it though

excaliber7388
12-01-2006, 06:26 AM
As of now, the computer uses openurl. I's like to use something else, because openurl cannot be well controlled. Basically the only thing I can do with it right now, is add tabbed viewing, make use of a user-defined home page, and maybe some options for the tabbed viewing. Graal doesn't support it much.
Aim chat would be very cool. I was thinking of using IRC commands, but if there's a way to hook up to aim, that'd be pretty cool.

MysticX2X
12-01-2006, 06:26 AM
Please hurry. I need to get on the computer!

KuJi
12-01-2006, 06:29 AM
As of now, the computer uses openurl. I's like to use something else, because openurl cannot be well controlled. Basically the only thing I can do with it right now, is add tabbed viewing, make use of a user-defined home page, and maybe some options for the tabbed viewing. Graal doesn't support it much.
Aim chat would be very cool. I was thinking of using IRC commands, but if there's a way to hook up to aim, that'd be pretty cool.

openurl goes out of the box?

Well, I can use IRC to send information to each server to make a Chat Program on the computers - message me on aim and I'll see what I can do.

XT Joey TX

ryu_no_bishie
12-01-2006, 06:34 AM
for ****s sakes find a different host without sound banners X.x

excaliber7388
12-01-2006, 06:39 AM
for ****s sakes find a different host without sound banners X.x
Fine me one.
I had to upload hundreds of files (images, etc).
All because I couldn't figure out which filenames it didn't like. Found out it was one from the rss's (I think). SO I'm going to continue to upload stuff, but if you find one that will allow me to upload a .zip file, with everything in it, and it will unzip it and use them, I'm all there.
I was thinking of using .mac, but that would have my full name connected to it, and I'd prefer to not do that.

KuJi
12-01-2006, 06:41 AM
Fine me one.
I had to upload hundreds of files (images, etc).
All because I couldn't figure out which filenames it didn't like. Found out it was one from the rss's (I think). SO I'm going to continue to upload stuff, but if you find one that will allow me to upload a .zip file, with everything in it, and it will unzip it and use them, I'm all there.
I was thinking of using .mac, but that would have my full name connected to it, and I'd prefer to not do that.

lol, that's pff... easy in shell :D

excaliber7388
12-01-2006, 06:46 AM
http://www.filesend.net/download.php?f=e240a0a35add5c3c4c231a6adbe1f114

Script is up! :D

KuJi
12-01-2006, 06:49 AM
I'll start trying to do it :D

*Edit* 2600.. lines? =!

Possibly supply the images?

excaliber7388
12-01-2006, 06:54 AM
Oh right...images XD I'll put them up

KuJi
12-01-2006, 06:55 AM
Oh right...images XD I'll put them up

no offense, but I really think this script has not enough content to hit 2400 lines.. even with the 150 guis you got =1

GraalScript: Loop limit exceeded in script of Weapon Systems/Computer

excaliber7388
12-01-2006, 07:01 AM
It has a game or two, some programs, etc. I'd like to reduce the size of the gui stuff my making them trough variables dynamically. Also, there's some old gs1, if/else stuff instead of switch, etc. There's a lot to do with it, that's why I wanted everyone to be able to work on it. Some form of gui creation thing would be neat. It would have to have variables for every aspect of a gui, then each part of the program would have their own variables. It could get troublesome for multiple windows though. I'm sure something can be worked out. I can't see this shrinking too much though.

KuJi
12-01-2006, 07:02 AM
It has a game or two, some programs, etc. I'd like to reduce the size of the gui stuff my making them trough variables dynamically. Also, there's some old gs1, if/else stuff instead of switch, etc. There's a lot to do with it, that's why I wanted everyone to be able to work on it. Some form of gui creation thing would be neat. It would have to have variables for every aspect of a gui, then each part of the program would have their own variables. It could get troublesome for multiple windows though. I'm sure something can be worked out. I can't see this shrinking too much though.

I can see this shrinking 400-1000 lines for useless **** you have in their =1.

excaliber7388
12-01-2006, 07:31 AM
Do it.
As long as it functions the same or better :D

KuJi
12-01-2006, 07:43 AM
Do it.
As long as it functions the same or better :D

Haha, you can probally make functions for opening new windows - as well as opening multiple of the same type.

Join a class to get information for each window to open etc.

excaliber7388
12-01-2006, 07:54 AM
Haha, you can probally make functions for opening new windows - as well as opening multiple of the same type.

Join a class to get information for each window to open etc.
I didn't want to split up the script up so much, but it couldn't hurt.

coreys
12-01-2006, 04:06 PM
http://www.filesend.net/download.php?f=e240a0a35add5c3c4c231a6adbe1f114

Script is up! :D

Hmm...an ad that says "Find Girls in Austin!"...lol. Took me a second to realize that there was even a download there, cause all I saw was adds at first. Anyways, I might check it out when I get back from school. The screen shots looked pretty cool.

excaliber7388
12-01-2006, 04:34 PM
Free file service without a subscription is hard to find.
Besides, it's not like the ads are R rated :)

Want to know something funny about RSS (really simple syndication)?
It's the least simple part of the entire page :\

excaliber7388
12-03-2006, 12:51 AM
Okay, everything except the news portion works.
I also added the images to the site, and I added forums :D
http://drcompproject.tripod.com/Welcome.html
Forums:
http://www.createforum.com/phpbb/index.php?mforum=drcompproject

Bl0nkt
12-03-2006, 01:11 AM
Lmao @ "Made on a Mac"

I envy you for making idiots think it was a Mac that made this all possible. Exploit what you can.

excaliber7388
12-03-2006, 01:15 AM
Yeah, I made the entire thing in iWeb :D
And since I'm not normally this artistic or this good at html, yeah, it was the Mac that made this possible.

*Also for RSS feeds, you could always use the ones on the forums.
feed://www.createforum.com/phpbb/rss.php?mforum=drcompproject

xXziroXx
12-03-2006, 02:07 AM
Tripod.. *shivers*

Use atspace.com, free web hosting without any adds.

excaliber7388
12-03-2006, 02:45 AM
Yeah I hate tripod.
I'm waiting for my username+pass from that one you suggested.
If I can upload my files easily, I'll be over there, and tripod can kiss my shiny white ass.

Skyld
12-03-2006, 01:19 PM
Lmao @ "Made on a Mac"

I envy you for making idiots think it was a Mac that made this all possible. Exploit what you can.
Actually, iWeb inserts that icon itself.

excaliber7388
12-04-2006, 03:08 AM
Actually, iWeb inserts that icon itself.
Well...I may have added it to some of the other pages as well ;)

excaliber7388
01-08-2007, 05:43 PM
Now, I've noticed something interesting.
The computer seems to work fine for everyone else, except me.
I couldn't help but wonder if this could have something to do with the Mac guis, as it loads the computer the first time, but after you close it and try to re use it, it closes on its own. I can't figure this out, or why it works fine the first time, but not any other time.

Angel_Light
01-09-2007, 12:25 AM
you can use freewebs for the site

excaliber7388
01-09-2007, 12:38 AM
you can use freewebs for the site
Unless it can allow me to upload files with any file name (lengthwise) and it allows me to upload with a .zip folder and it extracts everything for me, I don't want to hear about it. :(

So, does freewebs do that (I don't feel like setting up an account just to find out)?

As for my last post, involving the random closing of my Computer when I'm on my Mac......