PDA

View Full Version : Battle Algorithm

Chompy
11-30-2006, 05:36 PM
Well, I am making a battle system, but I am not necessary good at algorithms,
I'm trying to find an algorithm to control the damage, the only algorithm I made, which I thought was good, was this. Well, I hate math, but I know its useful :)

speed = 0.42;
weight = 5;
damage = 3;
(speed ^ 0.05) + weight * damage + (speed * 4)
/* its suppose to be weaker if the speed is low, since you don't got power,
also its suppose to control if the weight is lower-> lower damage
(higher speed and weight = higher damage)
but I wanted to make it, if the speed is too high,
its suppose to make it lower, if its too slow,
well I am not good at algorithms
*/

Also, if you would like to help me with my battle system, someone could post algorithms, ideas, suggestions on a good algorithm etc..?

Btw, I am interested to get someone to help me make good algorithms (or learn me how to make better ones), if anyone is interested in teaching me, pm me or leave a post here :)

Andy0687
11-30-2006, 09:04 PM
Well, I am making a battle system, but I am not necessary good at algorithms,
I'm trying to find an algorithm to control the damage, the only algorithm I made, which I thought was good, was this. Well, I hate math, but I know its useful :)

speed = 0.42;
weight = 5;
damage = 3;
(speed ^ 0.05) + weight * damage + (speed * 4)
/* its suppose to be weaker if the speed is low, since you don't got power,
also its suppose to control if the weight is lower-> lower damage
(higher speed and weight = higher damage)
but I wanted to make it, if the speed is too high,
its suppose to make it lower, if its too slow,
well I am not good at algorithms
*/

Also, if you would like to help me with my battle system, someone could post algorithms, ideas, suggestions on a good algorithm etc..?