PDA

View Full Version : Display issues.


nullify
08-05-2004, 11:18 AM
Having problems with Graal 3 on Linux 2.4.22. I've updated and recompiled my video driver modules, still no luck. I'm unsure of what the problem is. Any suggestions would be great.

Thanks.

Crono
08-05-2004, 12:53 PM
"ohnoes linux owns windows"

Right...

calum
08-05-2004, 01:22 PM
It could be to do with libmng, but then again im no expert...

Rick
08-05-2004, 03:23 PM
Having problems with Graal 3 on Linux 2.4.22. I've updated and recompiled my video driver modules, still no luck. I'm unsure of what the problem is. Any suggestions would be great.

Thanks.
a) Open console.log and look for any errors.
b) Check if you are running drivers that enable OpenGL acceleration in X.

nullify
08-05-2004, 04:13 PM
a) Open console.log and look for any errors.
b) Check if you are running drivers that enable OpenGL acceleration in X.
No errors, forgot to mention that. And yes, all of my drivers are available and functioning, I have starcraft working perfectly, so it's not an OpenGL issue.

haro41
08-05-2004, 05:03 PM
v3 has a problem with displaying mng's properly. Transparency is not recognized either. same thing on mac version

nullify
08-05-2004, 07:03 PM
v3 has a problem with displaying mng's properly. Transparency is not recognized either. same thing on mac version
Well, simple PNG and GIF file formats aren't being displayed properly either.

TSonicWarp9
08-13-2004, 11:44 PM
It hasn't anything to do with the way your computer handles OpenGL, it's the programs fault. Wait for them to update Graal with those fixes.

Rick
08-13-2004, 11:46 PM
v3 has a problem with displaying mng's properly. Transparency is not recognized either. same thing on mac version
Actually, it's the fault of gif2mng not creating 'proper' MNG files.

TSonicWarp9
08-14-2004, 12:10 AM
gif2mng doesn't seem to have a problem on my end, but I really don't have time to check into it, it may be the fault of both Graal program and gif2mng program.

For anyone on Mandrake linux, you can correct transparency of your images with the free image editing software the comes with it.

ReBorn_Spirit
08-27-2004, 01:35 PM
Anybody notice... Starcraft doesnt use 3D.... thats still 2D...

Admins
10-21-2004, 09:41 PM
Sorry that I have not seen this thread earlier.
If the transparency is not working then its definitely OpenGL software rendering (v3 is doing full mng, and recent versions of Graal's gif2mng are producing mngs which are also working correctly with other viewers).
What does glxinfo say? What I have read is that i810 support is already in the default XFree server.

Section "Module"
...
# This loads the GLX module
Load "glx"
# This loads the DRI module
Load "dri"
EndSection

nullify
10-22-2004, 01:20 AM
GLX and DRI are enabled. Self compiled DRI modules to boot (no pun).

and
Anybody notice... Starcraft doesnt use 3D.... thats still 2D...
IF you are going to try to prove me wrong first make sense.

Admins
10-22-2004, 07:09 PM
Um he may be meant that Starcraft might have some special internal software-rendering which is working without OpenGL, while Graal always uses OpenGL. Still would like to know what your glxinfo says and what the console.log says (might be in ~/.garagegames/graal/console.log or so)

nullify
10-22-2004, 10:57 PM
I remember back on 2.4.22 I never had any OpenGL errors. But I do now.
Logs are as follows:

Admins
10-24-2004, 04:24 AM
Hmmm it says it is Mesa DRI (direct rendering), is it at least fast ?
If its slow and messed up, then there must be a problem with the Intel driver, in this forum someone posted that its working now with kernel 2.6.9, don't know if you plan to update anytime soon though: http://bugs.archlinux.org/?do=details&id=1556

nullify
10-24-2004, 09:53 AM
My rendering is decent, it can handle Unreal pretty well on on both Windows and Linux. And referring to 2.6.9, yeah updraded yesterday, same problem unfortunately.

Admins
10-27-2004, 03:47 PM
Well the question is if Graal is running fast (with light effects), or if its slow (which would inidicate that it's software rendering)

nullify
10-28-2004, 01:01 AM
Er, since the lights use transparency, I can't see them even being rendered in the first place. it's just a big white square.

Slash-P2P
10-28-2004, 01:14 AM
Er, since the lights use transparency, I can't see them even being rendered in the first place. it's just a big white square.

I get that problem sometimes. I just resize the graal window by 1 px or something and everything works fine.

Admins
10-28-2004, 04:30 PM
Er, since the lights use transparency, I can't see them even being rendered in the first place. it's just a big white square.
Still need to know if the game itself is running fast?

nullify
11-04-2004, 08:55 AM
It's reasonable full screen, just a bad delay. (sorry for the late response, I've been offline for a while).

zell12
11-04-2004, 01:52 PM
Stefan it would be nice if you would fix the OpenGL for Graal. We get the same errors on the Windows version at 32-bit colors, and no errors at 16-bit. Mabey Graal cannot support 32-bit colors? :/

Admins
11-05-2004, 10:01 PM
You mean problems with transparency?

nullify
11-06-2004, 04:55 AM
Thread derails aren't preferred.