PDA

View Full Version : playerfont


SaijinGohan
09-14-2003, 06:12 AM
Hmm, I don't know how you could work this out Stefan but I think its a good idea. When you use showtext for instance it would be real nice if you could have the font set to the players default font. I would like that because it would keep things in uniform and could'nt be that hard to implement. How about it?

Kaimetsu
09-14-2003, 06:16 AM
Yeah, I guess there could be a variable for the selected font/size/whatever. It's a good idea, but I don't know why it was in the Bug Reports section.

SaijinGohan
09-14-2003, 06:23 AM
Well it didnt look like it was in bugs reports to me. Oh well, sry for putting it in the wrong spot.

CheeToS2
09-14-2003, 06:37 AM
it uses their default font when you don't specify one to use :x

Kaimetsu
09-14-2003, 06:39 AM
Originally posted by SaijinGohan
Well it didnt look like it was in bugs reports to me.

That's because I moved it. I didn't just imagine it.

Thallen
09-14-2003, 07:56 PM
Originally posted by Kaimetsu


That's because I moved it. I didn't just imagine it.
Ohhhh. :rolleyes:

-Ramirez-
09-14-2003, 08:33 PM
Yeah, I'd like to have this added as well. The font size would also be a must-have.

SaijinGohan
09-17-2003, 04:17 AM
Originally posted by CheeToS2
it uses their default font when you don't specify one to use :x

Well not for me. I use System and it gives the Tempus Sans ITC or whatever.

DustyPorViva
09-17-2003, 04:29 AM
When I script, if I don't specify a font, it automaticly uses my selected font... but that is just my experiences.

Tyhm
09-17-2003, 12:58 PM
I think the point now is less displaying it and more reading it: Okay, they're using Arial Narrow, size 40, so I should scale the default font to 0.25%...

Kaimetsu
09-17-2003, 02:26 PM
Originally posted by Tyhm
so I should scale the default font to 0.25%...

That'd be some pretty small writing :-p

SaijinGohan
09-17-2003, 03:34 PM
Yeah especially for us big screen users, but Tyhm has the right idea. :D

Tyhm
09-17-2003, 10:41 PM
If you've got a sign like this

[_______]

And you've designed some dynamic text such that when someone's using the default font, it looks like

[ Bomboria ]

You don't want people with highres mode seeing it as

[Bom]boria

but you don't wanna force them to use Tempus Sans ITC either. So you use their font at your size. But since you can't manually set pointsize, it's all about zoom, right?

SaijinGohan
09-18-2003, 01:08 AM
Well if you set pointside in the showtext you can calculate the image width accordingly. But to calculate you would need a variable for the default playerfont unless you manually set it yourself with zoom or in my way, in the showtext. The point is we need some more things for text stuff Stefan

Kaimetsu
09-18-2003, 01:30 AM
Originally posted by Tyhm
but you don't wanna force them to use Tempus Sans ITC either. So you use their font at your size. But since you can't manually set pointsize, it's all about zoom, right?

Oh, I agree, I was just commenting on how very tiny 0.25% is.

Tyhm
09-18-2003, 01:46 PM
D'oh, yeah, 25% = 0.25 != 0.25%. I meant 1/4, not 1/400.