PDA

View Full Version : Level editing FAQ's


Graal2001_LAT
08-08-2002, 10:24 AM
Okay, I have constructed a Level Editing FAQ. Please read this through before posting a new thread, because your answer could be here.


I will start with commands in the editor. (Training and then F4)

alt 0: Creates a log, which also shows people logging on / off
alt 1 : Takes a snapshot of the full level, not showing tiledefs, seteffects, or light effects.
alt 2: Takes a snapshot of the current screen, showing everything.
alt 3: Toggles the minimap on/off
alt 4: Toggles bitrate on/off [Only works online]
alt 5: Takes a snapshot of the level in .graal or .nw format.
alt 6: Records the players movements for scripting. [Does not work online.]
alt 7: Stops recording player movements and creates a recordpos.txt under the /levels directory. [Does not work online.]
alt 8: Zoom in.
alt 9: Zoom out.


For you people who are trying to add your own tileset you made, or add some custom tiles to the current tileset, look here.

addtiledef - This command replaces the whole tileset image with a brand new one. (remember the image has to be 256 colours (8 bit)) The code is this:
addtiledef tilesetimage,0,0;
The first 0 meaning levelstart, so that say you have a world with level names myworld_1-100. You would put 'addtiledef tilesetimage,myworld_,0;' so that all your levels will have the new tileset. The second 0 is type, 0=normal pics1.png and 1=a newworld type tileset order.


addtiledef2 - This command just replaces part of the tileset image, sort of like putting an image on top of the base image. The code is:
addtiledef2 tilesetimage,level name,x,y;
The x,y specifies where you want your image to go over the tileset.

Map tutorial

-The text file
You will need a text file with the levels ordered in it.
For example, name the file "bigmap.txt"
So, you open it, and write levels in it. You have a 4x4 map (4 by 4 levels). The levels are listed like this:
-----------------------------------
"mylevel_a-1.nw","mylevel_b-1.nw"
"mylevel_a-2.nw","mylevel_b-2.nw"
-----------------------------------
With the quotations.
That tells the graal.exe how to read your levels when you choose to generate a map.

-The Levels
Okay! We've written the text file, now to make the levels (and link them [not explained... I hope you have enough sense to figure it out!])
Make four levels, and name them

mylevel_a-1.nw
mylevel_b-1.nw
mylevel_a-2.nw
mylevel_b-2.nw

and place them in the same folder as the text file.
link them as needed.

Now, in Level-editting mode (f4) open the first level on your map press "M" and it will ask you if you want to generate a map. Select "yes" or "ok" or whatever, and it will eventually finish with an image asking to be named, sort of. Go to the folder that your levels and .txt are in, and save it. Boom, you have a map image.

To get your map and all the levels to link together, put the script
setmap mapname.png,bigmap.txt,30,60; in an NPC in the "starting" level.

Minimap: If you want a minimap just simply follow this: Anyway just take your map and resize it much smaller so that it looks appealing to you in the bottom left hand corner. From there add this code to your previous map script:
setminimap mapname.png,bigmap.txt,playerx,playery;



If you do not understand any of this, post here and I will answer your question. Special thanks to Torankusu and Zakur for their contributions.

zell12
08-08-2002, 10:28 AM
Spiffy Idea :)

Andor_RC14
08-08-2002, 07:38 PM
Very very well put Mmmmkay. One thing about the map though, you don't have to create a blank .png img in there before the rest of it. I find that harder since I cant make a .png that is just 8bit

Torankusu
08-08-2002, 10:51 PM
Originally posted by Andor_RC14
Very very well put Mmmmkay. One thing about the map though, you don't have to create a blank .png img in there before the rest of it. I find that harder since I cant make a .png that is just 8bit Uh, you have to or the script won't work and generate a map. There has to be an existing image, preferrably in 256 colors/8-bit.

zell12
08-08-2002, 11:14 PM
When generating a map, it all you need is the levels in one folder and then press "m" in the editor, and it creates everything for you -_-

Graal2001_LAT
08-09-2002, 03:17 AM
Originally posted by Andor_RC14
Very very well put Mmmmkay. One thing about the map though, you don't have to create a blank .png img in there before the rest of it. I find that harder since I cant make a .png that is just 8bit
Torankusu made the map, I will edit it later to how I do it, which seems easier.

Torankusu
08-09-2002, 03:22 AM
Originally posted by zell12
When generating a map, it all you need is the levels in one folder and then press "m" in the editor, and it creates everything for you -_- a text file is also needed, as well as an image. Or else you get an error in the NPC when you "test" it, thus, not allowing it to work.

Redwizard
08-10-2002, 10:20 PM
My map is glitchy, I have no idea why... can somebody explain to me why it has glitches and stuff in stripes like my map here? It is sooooo ***, and if i look really closely it looks like millions of tilesets shrunk really small

Torankusu
08-11-2002, 04:02 PM
Originally posted by Redwizard
My map is glitchy, I have no idea why... can somebody explain to me why it has glitches and stuff in stripes like my map here? It is sooooo ***, and if i look really closely it looks like millions of tilesets shrunk really small That happens some times, and it's not the way the map was generated. One of the computers at my grandparents does that, but the levels don't have that on them.

SingleChance
08-12-2002, 08:14 PM
Happend to me when i was making a good level but it actually shoed up on the levels=/

Graal2001_LAT
08-20-2002, 12:36 PM
Originally posted by Androk2k1
So How exactly do I make levels? I think that's what Level Editing is about...
That is a question without a definite answer, so I cannot write you something which gives you mad ability. (Oh, I believe the 'new' icon in the editor makes a level ;))

You have to make levels with your knowledge, and then study what you did. See where you can improve, possibly look at other level techniques and adapt your own. Level making takes time, the saying "practice makes pefect" is meaningful.

Cid_Night
08-21-2002, 01:13 AM
wow, thanks mmmmkay, this taught me how to make maps, now i am able to make large scale projects much easier, look at the map ima workin on...

Graal2001_LAT
08-23-2002, 02:22 AM
Originally posted by Androk2k1
What about mini map? What size should it be? How does it work?

Originally posted by Graal2001_LAT
Minimap: If you want a minimap just simply follow this: Anyway just take your map and resize it much smaller so that it looks appealing to you in the bottom left hand corner. From there add this code to your previous map script:
setminimap mapname.png,bigmap.txt,playerx,playery;

Graal2001_LAT
08-25-2002, 11:58 PM
Originally posted by zell12
not working >=(
Be more specific...

zell12
08-26-2002, 12:00 AM
The map was all black :O I fiexed it though, I had to regenerate the levels and overwrite the old .png img

WanDaMan
09-02-2002, 09:19 PM
Hmmm to create a map dont you
Save all the files for this in 1 folder
-----------
1,)make some levels and name them what you want.
2,)make a text document called Test.txt and add the levels in as "levelname.nw","levelname1.nw"
3,)then open graal and open the main level where you start
4,)put this in a NPC

------------
setmap graalmap.png,test.txt,x,y;
------------
5,)close the NPC box and press CTRL + M
6,)Save it as graalmap
7,)Then play the level and then press F4
8,)and press M Save it as Testmapsmall and save it to where all of the other levels,.png and stuff


Hmm isnt that right?!

Graal2001_LAT
09-02-2002, 09:57 PM
Originally posted by WanDaMan
Hmmm to create a map dont you
Save all the files for this in 1 folder
-----------
1,)make some levels and name them what you want.
2,)make a text document called Test.txt and add the levels in as "levelname.nw","levelname1.nw"
3,)then open graal and open the main level where you start
4,)put this in a NPC

------------
setmap graalmap.png,test.txt,x,y;
------------
5,)close the NPC box and press CTRL + M
6,)Save it as graalmap
7,)Then play the level and then press F4
8,)and press M Save it as Testmapsmall and save it to where all of the other levels,.png and stuff


Hmm isnt that right?!
Yes that's pretty much what I specified to do. Although my way is more professional. ;)

Torankusu_2002
09-03-2002, 04:13 AM
Originally posted by WanDaMan
Hmmm to create a map dont you
Save all the files for this in 1 folder
-----------
1,)make some levels and name them what you want.
2,)make a text document called Test.txt and add the levels in as "levelname.nw","levelname1.nw"
3,)then open graal and open the main level where you start
4,)put this in a NPC

------------
setmap graalmap.png,test.txt,x,y;
------------
5,)close the NPC box and press CTRL + M
6,)Save it as graalmap
7,)Then play the level and then press F4
8,)and press M Save it as Testmapsmall and save it to where all of the other levels,.png and stuff


Hmm isnt that right?! isn't this the same as what I wrote...?

WanDaMan
09-07-2002, 08:27 PM
sorry toran i didnt know but thats the way i do it and it works all the time for me :/

Timpan3
09-23-2002, 11:28 PM
Originally posted by WanDaMan
sorry toran i didnt know but thats the way i do it and it works all the time for me :/
Wow .. Are you learning english? Great work :D

WanDaMan
09-29-2002, 02:37 AM
Lol very fast ^-^

SupermanJR
10-09-2002, 03:37 AM
Okay. I took the time to make a vague tutorial for linking levels. You have to have Microsoft Word, (.bmp format), and Winzip.

I hope this helps a few of you guys.

<file removed - please repost in a safer format such as .htm or .txt>

cody1990
12-08-2002, 02:07 PM
where is the classic tileset saved

syltburk
12-08-2002, 04:53 PM
Originally posted by cody1990
where is the classic tileset saved


addtiledef pics1.png,(levelname),1;

i think for classic tileset its sunrise.png;








:)

Spark910
12-15-2002, 08:56 PM
He wanted to know where it was saved, not how to add a tileset!

syltburk
12-16-2002, 01:51 AM
Originally posted by Spark910
He wanted to know where it was saved, not how to add a tileset!
ah i see, go to graal2001 folder, levels, tiledef and whoala there it is.

PrinceDark
02-15-2003, 09:45 PM
.../graal2001/pics1.png

Spark910
04-15-2003, 08:14 PM
Anyone more Q's people want to know an answer to?

Azrael528
06-11-2003, 12:22 AM
Originally posted by Timpan3

Wow .. Are you learning english? Great work :D

ive seen much worse, and also for the people saying you have to create a blank .png image i havent had to do that and it still works for me, so i dunno...

zell12
06-11-2003, 12:39 AM
Someone make a program to add the level names automatically
to the map.txt thing. :(

Or someone can tell me how to add them manually. Say I got:
level_a-1.nw level_a-2.nw level_a-3.nw level_a-4.nw
level_b-1.nw level_b-2.nw level_b-3.nw level_b-4.nw
level_c-1.nw level_c-2.nw level_c-3.nw level_c-4.nw
level_d-1.nw level_d-2.nw level_d-3.nw level_d-4.nw

How would that be ordered in the txt?
Like:
"level_a-1.nw","level_a-2.nw","level_a-3.nw","level_a-4.nw",
"level_b-1.nw","level_b-2.nw","level_b-3.nw","level_b-4.nw",
"level_c-1.nw","level_c-2.nw","level_c-3.nw","level_c-4.nw",
"level_d-1.nw","level_d-2.nw","level_d-3.nw","level_d-4.nw",

Azrael528
06-11-2003, 04:15 AM
Originally posted by zell12
Someone make a program to add the level names automatically
to the map.txt thing. :(

Or someone can tell me how to add them manually. Say I got:
level_a-1.nw level_a-2.nw level_a-3.nw level_a-4.nw
level_b-1.nw level_b-2.nw level_b-3.nw level_b-4.nw
level_c-1.nw level_c-2.nw level_c-3.nw level_c-4.nw
level_d-1.nw level_d-2.nw level_d-3.nw level_d-4.nw

How would that be ordered in the txt?
Like:
"level_a-1.nw","level_a-2.nw","level_a-3.nw","level_a-4.nw",
"level_b-1.nw","level_b-2.nw","level_b-3.nw","level_b-4.nw",
"level_c-1.nw","level_c-2.nw","level_c-3.nw","level_c-4.nw",
"level_d-1.nw","level_d-2.nw","level_d-3.nw","level_d-4.nw", '

no, itd go:

"level_a-1.nw","level_b-1.nw"
"level_a-2.nw","level_b-2.nw"

and so forth, letters are horizontal and numbers are vertical locations

g0atex
12-29-2004, 07:01 AM
'

no, itd go:

"level_a-1.nw","level_b-1.nw"
"level_a-2.nw","level_b-2.nw"

and so forth, letters are horizontal and numbers are vertical locations
So to make it horizontal you'd have to make it "level_1a.nw","level1_b","level1_c","...", seems a little tedious to me. Does it matter?

haunter
12-29-2004, 07:44 AM
This thread is über old.

Closed because I can.