PDA

View Full Version : Gralet System Help


cell424
04-21-2001, 09:11 PM
I need some help with the gralet system..I cant seem to get it!!! If you can help me plz reply to this!

funnylinkwantsbomys
04-22-2001, 06:50 AM
what cant u get?

cell424
04-22-2001, 11:23 AM
I dont get any of it, I tired some scripts but nothing works!!!

Thak2
04-22-2001, 11:46 AM
you mean changing graphics for the online gralats?

cell424
04-22-2001, 08:30 PM
I just need the gralet system so if a bush lays a green rupee it turns into a green gralet and if a player does it also!but it works for all rupees

milotheman
04-22-2001, 08:45 PM
dont ask me i have no idea

Psyker
04-23-2001, 12:44 AM
I think I have an idea of how it works.

cell424
04-23-2001, 01:26 AM
Could u help me plz?

Thak2
04-23-2001, 02:04 AM
G2k1 uses the NPC server to make all gralats on any levels appear like that... so if you want to script it like that youll need NPC server experiance.

cell424
04-23-2001, 04:51 AM
I will make anotehr system for it like elven....

btedji
04-23-2001, 07:31 AM
I know how to make gralats but will not give you the script because im making it for my server. Here is a hint though:

Try using items[0].whatever variables and possibly playerlaysitem but that makes it slower.

-------------
bryan986
Navarone PW Owner

manton
04-24-2001, 05:11 AM
Could someone tell me how to make it detect what kind of Item is layed? I have the whole system,but I cant seem to make it check what Item is layed =/

grim_squeaker_x
04-24-2001, 08:18 PM
Itemname / item index
greenrupee 0
bluerupee 1
redrupee 2
bombs 3
darts 4
heart 5
glove1 6
bow 7
bomb 8
shield 9
sword 10
fullheart 11
superbomb 12
battleaxe 13
goldensword 14
mirrorshield 15
glove2 16
lizardshield 17
lizardsword 18
goldrupee 19
fireball 20
fireblast 21
nukeshot 22
joltbomb 23
spinattack 24
if (playerenters||timeout) {
if (isleader) {
for (this.i=0;this.i<itemscount;this.i++) {
if (items[this.i].type=itemindex) {
commands;
}
}
}
timeout=0.05;
timereverywhere;
}

Komieko
04-25-2001, 09:12 AM
hehe..doesn't work quite right..I just put setcharani gralats,1; in there but it doesn't put it where you drop the money and you can't pick it up..=/

KJS
04-25-2001, 10:30 AM
accually I dont think you can just
replace
the part he said command with
setcharani

I think you would have to have it lay an npc were you want it to and have a text file for the npc's script if you get what i mean
the code would look something like this

putnpc ,greengralat.txt,items[this.i].x,items[this.i].y

and in the txt file you would put something like

//Little Rupee Example Made by KJL
if(created){setcharani gralet,1;}
if(playertouchsme){
playerrupees+=1
//I say +=1 insted of ++ because like for red rupee
//you can just say +=30. and so on.
}

Komieko
04-25-2001, 10:41 AM
Screws up for me..I'd rather do it grims way..grim hee..would you mind making an example?

KJS
04-25-2001, 10:43 AM
well I was kind of using grims example and just expanding off of it. like told you what to replace with command..

that is one way you can do it

grim_squeaker_x
04-25-2001, 06:54 PM
Allrightyho I'll make the whole system for now...
//Gralat system thing which should probably be put in a system NPC if you don't have a pay server
//I'm not sure if the save[9][this.i thing works though.
if (playerenters||timeout) {
if (isleader) {
for (this.i=0;this.i<itemscount;this.i++) {
for (this.j=0;this.j<npsccount;this.j++) {
if (!(items[this.i].x in |npcs[this.i].x-2,npcs[this.i].x+3|&&items[this.i].x in |npcs[this.i].y-2,npcs[this.i].y+3&&save[9][this.i]==100)) {
if (items[this.i].type==0) level.gralatlaid=1;
else if (items[this.i].type==1) level.gralatlaid=5;
else if (items[this.i].type==2) level.gralatlaid=30;
else if (items[this.i].type==19) level.gralatlaid=100;
}
}
}
}
timeout=0.05;
timereverywhere;
}
//Under here the NPC for the gralat.txt file.
//I'm not sure if that in array thing works for this one but I think it does.
if (created) {
rupees=level.gralatlaid;
level.gralatlaid=0;
save[9]=100;
this.takeitems={0,1,2,19};
}
if (playerenters||timeout) {
for (this.i=0;this.i<itemscount;this.i++) {
if (items[this.i].x in |npcs[this.i].x-2,npcs[this.i].x+3|&&items[this.i].x in |npcs[this.i].y-2,npcs[this.i].y+3&&items[this.i].type in this.takeitems) take2 this.i;
}
if (rupees<5) setani gralats,0;
else if (rupees<30) setani gralats,1;
else if (rupees<100) setani gralats,2;
else setani gralats,3;
timeout=0.05;
timereverywhere;
}
if (playertouchsme) {
playerrupees+=rupees;
destroy;
}
I've scripted this from the top of my head and haven't tested it so there's a pretty big chance that it doesn't work.

Psyker
04-26-2001, 07:54 AM
Originally posted by grim_squeaker_x
I've scripted this from the top of my head and haven't tested it so there's a pretty big chance that it doesn't work. [/B]
Good lord! You memorized all those script commands?!

KJS
04-26-2001, 10:52 AM
it is not hard to memorize the commands and really easy if you script a lot.

most of my scripts I put up here are just off the top of my head and I am not sure if they work or not. But I also say that. See I just dont want to open up graal and take more time when the user that asks for it can try to figure out what is wronge if there is anything wronge.

they should be glade that you headed them the right way.

cell424
04-26-2001, 06:49 PM
Ok now I just need someone to help me with the script for the Gralet Thing, so if a player lays a green rupee or a bush,or a baddy it will turn into a green gralet. It would be the same for the blue,red, and gold also.IFyou can help me plz...

grim_squeaker_x
04-26-2001, 07:22 PM
Originally posted by Psyker

Good lord! You memorized all those script commands?! Yup, happens automattically after having scripted for about erm... 5 months in my case ^^

freddyfox
04-26-2001, 10:15 PM
Isn't this a PW Projects Team Member? Why does he need our help?

grim_squeaker_x
04-26-2001, 10:24 PM
Originally posted by freddyfox
Isn't this a PW Projects Team Member? Why does he need our help? Because he's making a server and doesn't know how to script, or doesn't have people working for it who know how to script?

cell424
04-27-2001, 04:41 AM
I cna script but not good enough for that Gralet System.. I made my System NPC but now I am remaking alot of stuff like the Police House and making new quests, I made the Lizard Shield&Sword Quest and 1 heart quest in like 3 days! And they are da best!!!I have people working on it also but they are busy working on other things also!

LazyDragoon
05-20-2001, 01:16 PM
Originally posted by grim_squeaker_x
Allrightyho I'll make the whole system for now...
//Gralat system thing which should probably be put in a system NPC if you don't have a pay server
//I'm not sure if the save[9][this.i thing works though.
if (playerenters||timeout) {
if (isleader) {
for (this.i=0;this.i<itemscount;this.i++) {
for (this.j=0;this.j<npsccount;this.j++) {
if (!(items[this.i].x in |npcs[this.i].x-2,npcs[this.i].x+3|&&items[this.i].x in |npcs[this.i].y-2,npcs[this.i].y+3&&save[9][this.i]==100)) {
if (items[this.i].type==0) level.gralatlaid=1;
else if (items[this.i].type==1) level.gralatlaid=5;
else if (items[this.i].type==2) level.gralatlaid=30;
else if (items[this.i].type==19) level.gralatlaid=100;
}
}
}
}
timeout=0.05;
timereverywhere;
}
//Under here the NPC for the gralat.txt file.
//I'm not sure if that in array thing works for this one but I think it does.
if (created) {
rupees=level.gralatlaid;
level.gralatlaid=0;
save[9]=100;
this.takeitems={0,1,2,19};
}
if (playerenters||timeout) {
for (this.i=0;this.i<itemscount;this.i++) {
if (items[this.i].x in |npcs[this.i].x-2,npcs[this.i].x+3|&&items[this.i].x in |npcs[this.i].y-2,npcs[this.i].y+3&&items[this.i].type in this.takeitems) take2 this.i;
}
if (rupees<5) setani gralats,0;
else if (rupees<30) setani gralats,1;
else if (rupees<100) setani gralats,2;
else setani gralats,3;
timeout=0.05;
timereverywhere;
}
if (playertouchsme) {
playerrupees+=rupees;
destroy;
}
I've scripted this from the top of my head and haven't tested it so there's a pretty big chance that it doesn't work.

That script doesn't work =T it turns your player into a shadow and the little light thing of the gralat instead =T

General
05-20-2001, 02:48 PM
the problem is these things
setani should be setcharani
gralats should be gralat (I think)

Munkey
05-20-2001, 05:02 PM
I happen to have a working gralat script. I think that shadow knight made it. You would have to ask his permission to use it before i'd give it out though. sorry.