PDA

View Full Version : graal overworld editor (poll)


LilbrojX
04-21-2001, 03:44 AM
The level generator is cool, but I think it'd be very cool if there was an editor, where you start off with a blank world or open your own by loading a bigmap.txt and it laces all the levels together, and your view of the world would be very far away. You can edit the terrain, the levels that are linked together, and add your own baddies from your very own baddy list!!! I think this is a good idea! (I'm working onsomekinda hypothetical screenshot, bare with me)

LilbrojX
04-21-2001, 04:54 AM
ok, this pic might help a little

PLEASE NOTE: SINCE NOTHING REALLY GOES MY WAY THE PIC I JUST TRIED TO SHOW IS UNAVAILABLE AT THIS TIME. DANG YOU GEOCITIES!!!!!!!!!

LilbrojX
04-21-2001, 04:58 AM
dang, this better work

grim_squeaker_x
04-21-2001, 04:59 AM
I think you mean you want the usual Graal Level Editor with the option to have all levels connected and scrolling between those different levels?

Thak2
04-21-2001, 05:17 AM
yes, also seems like he wants to be able to zoom in and out of these connected levels.

Psyker
04-21-2001, 08:25 AM
I think that's a good idea...
but should be seperated from the editor we have now.

Cloud_X
04-21-2001, 09:15 AM
i might be able to make it in vb if i could figure out how the levels save and stuff

Olorin
04-21-2001, 09:31 AM
Wow! that would be awesome but i dont know of how many people that make their own worlds hehe

LilbrojX
04-21-2001, 09:38 AM
I think it should be a seperate editor... wow, soo many replies and only 3 people voted :)

LilbrojX
04-21-2001, 09:38 AM
now all we need to do is to see if stefan likes it

fugitive316
04-21-2001, 12:10 PM
Great idea!

Even if you dont make worlds, you can still use it to make linked quests.

SSmutz
04-21-2001, 12:24 PM
Well, I think it's a good idea. And If it was kept seperate from the current level editor, I think it should be part of the level generator, since they both deal with making multi-level worlds.

grim_squeaker_x
04-21-2001, 06:37 PM
Maybe it should have auto-map making built in then as well?

Thak2
04-21-2001, 11:05 PM
Originally posted by grim_squeaker_x
Maybe it should have auto-map making built in then as well?

Yes, thatd be great. However I know if you are using the editor and viewing alot of levels connected together it will go very slow (especially on my 120 :(). Also if connect levels when playing offline worked it might not be needed.

grim_squeaker_x
04-21-2001, 11:10 PM
Originally posted by Thak2


Yes, thatd be great. However I know if you are using the editor and viewing alot of levels connected together it will go very slow (especially on my 120 :(). Also if connect levels when playing offline worked it might not be needed. Actually I've got my levels connected offline, just edit tutorialmap.txt to the levels you want and tutorialmap.png to what you want ;)

Thak2
04-21-2001, 11:23 PM
yay! Thanks Grim Squeaker!

LilbrojX
04-22-2001, 04:44 AM
I wish i knew how to code... anyone wanna try and do this?

Psyker
04-22-2001, 05:00 AM
Originally posted by Thak2


Yes, thatd be great. However I know if you are using the editor and viewing alot of levels connected together it will go very slow (especially on my 120 :(). Also if connect levels when playing offline worked it might not be needed.
I never thought I'd see this day. Thak has a slower processor than mine, the almighty 133!

grim_squeaker_x
04-22-2001, 05:42 AM
Originally posted by Psyker

I never thought I'd see this day. Thak has a slower processor than mine, the almighty 133! Oh my, you might have to give in your award in that case ;)

milotheman
04-22-2001, 09:28 AM
since your on the subject, is there any good editors out there
[email protected]
email me

SSmutz
04-22-2001, 10:07 AM
Rofl, I had 50 mhz on a Packard Bell when I started Graal, but now I have a newer computer thats about a year old thats 500 mhz.

Psyker
04-22-2001, 11:15 AM
Originally posted by grim_squeaker_x
Oh my, you might have to give in your award in that case ;)
NO! *polishes 28.8 modem*

Thak2
04-22-2001, 11:55 AM
Ohh, I have a better modem then you, but does it matter when im stuck with a horrible backwater canadian connection?

LilbrojX
04-22-2001, 03:08 PM
I once had a packard bell... I think we gave it to my grand parents... man that thing sucked, I don't know wether we did them a favor or wut... lol

MoonAngel
04-22-2001, 05:35 PM
i still have my 486 DX/33Mhz and its slow as hell but is fun to make expirements on =D such as, taking every possible measure to get blue screens of doom with Windows roflmao =P im just glad i bought my own computer now =)

as for the current topic, someone said with VB LOL!!!!
C++, please, no VB here! lol, ive used VB and although we can make cool things.. its too basic. get C++ =P

Psyker
04-23-2001, 12:29 AM
Originally posted by Thak2
Ohh, I have a better modem then you, but does it matter when im stuck with a horrible backwater canadian connection?
Hmm... I live in Canada, too. Windsor, Ontario to be exact. Anyway, I use Juno to connect. What do you use?

Thak2
04-23-2001, 01:59 AM
Juno! You win. I used to use that and I know how laggy it is (and how un-reliable). Now however im actually paying for the interent with Sympatico.

Thak2
04-23-2001, 02:01 AM
Originally posted by MoonAngel
someone said with VB LOL!!!!
C++, please, no VB here! lol, ive used VB and although we can make cool things.. its too basic. get C++ =P

yes, Visual Basic would not be good for the job. However I have made some fun addition games with it!

milotheman
04-23-2001, 02:53 AM
wow u got slow comp.
me have a 1000 mhz comp.

LilbrojX
04-23-2001, 04:57 AM
gosh, this went totally of my subject huh? :) oh well, any one who can code or something out there that wants to do this?

Psyker
04-23-2001, 06:35 AM
Originally posted by Thak2
Juno! You win. I used to use that and I know how laggy it is (and how un-reliable). Now however im actually paying for the interent with Sympatico.
Actually, Juno's real well right now.
Or besides the fact that I hexed the banners so they don't show up and I'm able to exit the Juno prog :D