PDA

View Full Version : Music Question


scriptless
04-23-2015, 01:21 AM
So I was wondering if anyone know what kind of files graal accepts for music? I have seen .wav files work, but midi's and mp3's do not seem to be working for me. Is there any special way these files have to be saved?

Draenin
04-23-2015, 01:42 AM
Did you bother to check volume controls? And can you paste what you have in a script to run it?

scriptless
04-23-2015, 01:52 AM
Weapon Npc:
//#CLIENTSIDE
function onCreated() {
play("svrvilla.mp3");
}

Also tried .mid version. Yes I have my graal volume on 100%, I always listen to graal sounds or used to until I stopped hearing them on classic servers. I still hear GK's fine tho.

Draenin
04-23-2015, 02:50 AM
You'll need to have them actually uploaded to your server, or you can host them on a separate server and stream them through the radio channel using playlooped.

Playlooped may also work for MP3s on a server, but I'm not totally certain about that.

Also, try it without quotes, and make sure that the server has access to the folder the files are stored in. (Hopefully somewhere in your levels folder, as that is actually the 'mainfiles' folder that a lot of files need to be in to work.)

cbk1994
04-23-2015, 06:04 AM
What platform? It varies at least somewhat between Windows and OS X (but I don't know the full list, else I'd give it). Not sure about Linux but I guess that's not an issue anymore :3

Elk
04-23-2015, 08:54 AM
.ogg
.mp3
.wav
.midi

also depends what channels and hz and bpm

for mp3s to work or wavs, you need to create the respective folder configurations for the download to be accessible clientside, it then downloads... an external stream by url works too if you can come up with the bandwidth

mp3s or generally bigger files are suggested to be available for download seperately, as it creates quite some downloadstream depending on how many people download it, also depending if they have filechache enabled or not (so it saves it locally on their pc, instead of downloading again and again all over upon trigger whichever)

Cubical
04-23-2015, 09:28 AM
serious related question. what is the best application and format to record a fart in. i want to record one that's so crisp you can taste it. need for my server that revolves around creating smelliest flatulence.

Draenin
04-23-2015, 10:06 AM
serious related question. what is the best application and format to record a fart in. i want to record one that's so crisp you can taste it. need for my server that revolves around creating smelliest flatulence.
Adobe Soundbooth / Audition, using a condenser or dynamic mic. Record in MP3, OGG, or other lossless formats, and don't record anything that's under 44,100hz.

Also, you can find plenty of disgusting samples via Google, but I understand your need for that rich, authentic sound.

also depends what channels and hz and bpmIt hertz me to know that you think BPM has anything to do with audio quality. BPM is a way of more accurately measuring a song's tempo.

scriptless
04-23-2015, 10:20 AM
You'll need to have them actually uploaded to your server, or you can host them on a separate server and stream them through the radio channel using playlooped.

Playlooped may also work for MP3s on a server, but I'm not totally certain about that.

Also, try it without quotes, and make sure that the server has access to the folder the files are stored in. (Hopefully somewhere in your levels folder, as that is actually the 'mainfiles' folder that a lot of files need to be in to work.)

Well none of the default ones are working from mainfiles/music that say there downloadable when I do /find *.mid... I know I saw something with hrz and quality which is why I asked if it needed to be formatted a certain way. I tried opening a mid in garage band and saving it as a mp3 but it didn't work. I just want to use the default graal music any way its freakin possible but it doesn't seem to be letting me.

Also I am using OS X and Windows 8.1 for Surface Pro. Neither OS seems to work. I have this in my folder options:

##########################
## Sounds Configuration ##
##########################
file audio/music/*.mp3
file audio/music/*.xm
file audio/music/*.mod
file audio/music/*.s3m
file audio/sounds/*.mid
file audio/sounds/*.wav
file audio/sounds/*.mp3

I tried putting music in there and nothing. Also:

Default game file(s) found (relative to levels/, max 50 files):
mainfiles/music/svrvilla.mid: downloadable, 18571 byte, 2001-11-26 11:35:24

Draenin
04-23-2015, 10:23 AM
Did you give the server rights to that folder as well? It needs rights to the folder you created in folder config, otherwise it's looking for a directory that it doesn't have rights to read from.

Whenever you make a folder, remember that both you and the server will probably need rights to it.

scriptless
04-23-2015, 11:17 PM
I got it working. Figured it out was a combination of a few things. First, the file was to large. I should have noticed the message in rc. I did get that fixed but was trying as a mid which apparently is not supported at least on Mac or Linux.

Draenin
04-24-2015, 03:39 AM
I got it working. Figured it out was a combination of a few things. First, the file was to large. I should have noticed the message in rc. I did get that fixed but was trying as a mid which apparently is not supported at least on Mac or Linux.
MIDI (mid) is a super old format with lots of limitations, too. Granted, you can get lots of free music in that format, but be aware that there's also a fair amount of music out there under the Creative Commons license.

Glad to hear you got things resolved, though. :D

Elk
04-24-2015, 05:57 AM
opengameart is a great thing

scriptless
08-25-2015, 10:45 PM
So out of curiosity does anyone know why when I open a MIDI in garage band for example and play it back it uses different instruments then when I play it with windows media player? I have tried other programs too but I just can't seem to get it to sound exactly the same. I really would like the Stef mid's in mp3 format to put on my iPod nano. I already put the Graal Kingdoms music on it.. it helps me feel more in the zone when I'm doing certain things..

Elk
08-25-2015, 11:58 PM
different internal midi plugins

scriptless
08-26-2015, 03:20 AM
Is there anyway to use the same ones that WMP uses then? Would really really be amazing if it was.

Elk
08-26-2015, 09:20 PM
err not plugin, codec i think...

and uh, youd need to look up what codec your wmp is using i believe...