PDA

View Full Version : Databases and text file usages

khortez
02-22-2015, 11:15 PM
It was mentioned that using DB NPCs and text files were better to save information like guilds rather than using clientr flags. Is the usage between the two preference?

IE: Choosing DB over text files or clientr.

And what are all the advantages of using the two methods?

Just looking to get the most information out of these methods that I can. Thanks for any assistance.

Elk
02-23-2015, 03:22 AM
i guess clientr isnt as easy to control as txt :0 as client flags are stored individually within player attributes... has a better structure and the source to read is only one then, instead of having the flags all scrambled over accross different accounts

DB NPCs?...

khortez
02-23-2015, 04:40 AM
Sorry for any confusion, I just mean databases.

Edit: just to say I've never used text files before, so getting into them is new for me. And I'm just getting the hang of using Databases

MysticalDragon
02-23-2015, 07:06 AM
It was mentioned that using DB NPCs and text files were better to save information like guilds rather than using clientr flags. Is the usage between the two preference?

IE: Choosing DB over text files or clientr.

And what are all the advantages of using the two methods?

Just looking to get the most information out of these methods that I can. Thanks for any assistance.

Honestly, its faster to store them in clientr. variables. But the choice really comes down to what features you plan to add? Do you plan on having GUI Profiles, where you can look up other guilds or are you only storing personal data? You could use a combination of both really, cache the information from SQL and store it on the player for a faster process.

Cubical
02-23-2015, 02:11 PM
text files are wack, store everthing in .bmp images and code your own OCR.

khortez
02-23-2015, 04:39 PM