PDA

View Full Version : Levels for first Gmap


lTBSl
04-11-2012, 02:08 AM
What do you guys think is a good number, but not to many levels for a First Gmap for a server? not a demo that actual live gmap

BlueMelon
04-11-2012, 02:14 AM
You can always change the size so any size would be fine..

lTBSl
04-11-2012, 02:18 AM
So go smaller?

DustyPorViva
04-11-2012, 02:23 AM
You can always change the size so any size would be fine..

It's not exactly the easiest thing to resize an already existing gmap. It can be done, but it's not easy.

Crono
04-11-2012, 02:26 AM
you should probably figure out what you wanna do first. you shouldnt just generate some gmap and fill it in like a canvas.

lTBSl
04-11-2012, 02:26 AM
Yeah having a plan always the best.

fowlplay4
04-11-2012, 02:34 AM
100.

lTBSl
04-11-2012, 02:41 AM
Thanks FP4 the only one to give a response lol

fowlplay4
04-11-2012, 02:49 AM
Maybe 64 (8x) instead, both are very manageable amounts especially if factor into landscaping elements like cliffs, trees, and so on.

Crono
04-11-2012, 03:26 AM
Thanks FP4 the only one to give a response lol

because theres no real way to determine a reasonable gmap size if you dont know what you're doing beforehand. nothing is stopping you from generating a large gmap and just working on what you want while the rest is blacked out or blocked off though.

DustyPorViva
04-11-2012, 03:42 AM
If you're working with a continent-design overworld then this is a fairly easy question. Make it larger than you'll need and whatever isn't used is simply ocean.

papajchris
04-11-2012, 03:50 AM
Zodiacs first legit gmap was 8x8 and it was beautiful imo.

sort of like tink... after the makeup