PDA

View Full Version : Map Building


DopePenguin
09-26-2001, 11:24 AM
I reallie wanna know how make a map.....= / like the outside of it and everything. I just cant get the damn map to put the lvl on it...= / can someone help me out? id appeaciate if you do...:p

Thak2
09-26-2001, 07:29 PM
make a bigmap.txt file with the level names in the order you want them. Like:
"levela1.graal","levela2.graal",
"levelb1.graal","levelb2.graal"

save it in the folder with you levels, then right click on one of the levels you want mapped, click on Open With, and open it with graal.exe, then in the editor hit "M".

mmmmkay
09-27-2001, 04:33 AM
Originally posted by Thak2
make a bigmap.txt file with the level names in the order you want them. Like:
"levela1.graal","levela2.graal",
"levelb1.graal","levelb2.graal"

save it in the folder with you levels, then right click on one of the levels you want mapped, click on Open With, and open it with graal.exe, then in the editor hit "M".

its easier with the map maker program for the level txt BTW

Darlene159
10-23-2001, 09:55 PM
Where do I get the map maker program?

I have never done the text, and not sure how to do it

Petey84
10-24-2001, 01:56 AM
Shakaku:
Did u generate the levels, or make them all by hand?

Jerom
10-24-2001, 02:57 AM
Map maker program = levelgenerator
Download it with the setup.exe, update the developer to the latest, and you should get it.

Darlene159
10-24-2001, 11:48 AM
thats not what I meant, if you already have a bigmap.txt, and you have to completely change it becuase alot of the level names have changed, but you still have alot of the old levels still in use, do you have to manually fix it?

Jerom
10-24-2001, 06:58 PM
Okies, to fix those parts...
I'm going to show you how to make a map.txt.
Each level is obviously within quotations: "
Seperate each level name with commas: ,
At the end of each level line, when you want to start a new layer of levels that is, do not put a comma after the levelname:
"level1.graal","level2.graal"
"level3.graal","level4.graal"
Added
"level1.graal",level2.graal","newlevel1.graal"
"level3.graal","level4.graal"

Notice I added a level on the first line.
So your map would have 3 levels on the first(top) line, and 2 levels on the second line(bottom line in this case).

grim_squeaker_x
10-24-2001, 07:05 PM
Originally posted by Jerom
"level1.graal","level2.graal"
"level3.graal","level4.graal"
Added
"level1.graal",level2.graal","newlevel1.graal"
"level3.graal","level4.graal"The added one should be:
"level1.graal",level2.graal","newlevel1.graal"
"level3.graal","level4.graal",""
Otherwise Graal will bug up. :)

Darlene159
10-24-2001, 08:33 PM
Thank you very much guys:)

Poogle
10-24-2001, 11:49 PM
Originally posted by Thak2
make a bigmap.txt file with the level names in the order you want them. Like:
"levela1.graal","levela2.graal",
"levelb1.graal","levelb2.graal"

save it in the folder with you levels, then right click on one of the levels you want mapped, click on Open With, and open it with graal.exe, then in the editor hit "M". Dude its like this:
"level_a-1.graal","level_b-1.graal"
"level_a-2.graal","level_b-2.graal"
:p That should work!

Jerom
10-25-2001, 03:15 AM
Originally posted by Poogle
Dude its like this:
"level_a-1.graal","level_b-1.graal"
"level_a-2.graal","level_b-2.graal"
:p That should work!
dude, he was giving an example, dur dur dur!!
You could name the filenames of the levels anything you wanted to, they don't have to be levelgenerated levels in order to be written with the map.txt.

Jerom
10-25-2001, 03:17 AM
Originally posted by grim_squeaker_x
The added one should be:
"level1.graal",level2.graal","newlevel1.graal"
"level3.graal","level4.graal",""
Otherwise Graal will bug up. :)
true, forgot about the extra bar, whoops :D
Keep in mind I posted that at 4:52 in the morning ;)