PDA

View Full Version : Rain!


cyborg5
09-01-2001, 11:53 PM
graal should have weather systems, like soemtimes over farming land it should rain to help the trees a bit, and there should be fall (trees changecolor) and winter (grass tiles change to snow tiles)

Falcor
09-02-2001, 09:54 AM
could jsu8t me 4 tileset s and change the tile defs acoring to the time system =\ Problem with teldefs is that if you dont have the file it messes up graal really bad.

fuzie
09-03-2001, 03:50 PM
mah nat made a rain script!! and snow,looks real nice heh

mrkriton
09-11-2001, 02:41 AM
:confused: i herd that rain and snow npc's like that will lag the whole place up, but i thought having rain and snow would be great

to everyone i love :spam:

Jerom
09-11-2001, 03:04 AM
Originally posted by mrkriton
:confused: i herd that rain and snow npc's like that will lag the whole place up, but i thought having rain and snow would be great

to everyone i love :spam:
TOT and Faheria had rain, and it didn't lag. Yeah it lagged in the past before we had good scripting, but it's not laggy these days.

mrkriton
09-11-2001, 03:14 AM
Thats a great idea having rain and snow on the server. Except i hope it dosent become laggy

to everyone i love :spam:

SkooL
09-11-2001, 04:18 AM
There is enough lag with the time system and seteffect...:/

G_yoshi
09-11-2001, 04:26 AM
Originally posted by Jerom

TOT and Faheria had rain, and it didn't lag. Yeah it lagged in the past before we had good scripting, but it's not laggy these days.

that is because it is done serverside instead of clientside ;)

G_yoshi
09-11-2001, 04:26 AM
Originally posted by SkooL
There is enough lag with the time system and seteffect...:/

and can you prove this? Try updating your software or getting a new video card or more ram.

SkooL
09-11-2001, 04:31 AM
Originally posted by G_yoshi
and can you prove this? Try updating your software or getting a new video card or more ram. I have 256MB of RAM thank you very much. :D

mrkriton
09-11-2001, 05:20 AM
:o I got a cable modem and i rarley get lag :-)

to everyone i love...:spam:

General
09-11-2001, 05:38 AM
it will majorly screw up if you have "compatibilty mode" on...it will slow down your comp so ***ing bad

toad1413
09-11-2001, 02:11 PM
Originally posted by Falcor
Problem with teldefs is that if you dont have the file it messes up graal really bad.

I believe that I have a solution to that. :) Just put each of the tilesets on the admin house, and have setimgpart 0,0,16,16 on them. Also have them up in the top left hand cornet. That way, when people go into the admin house, it will download the tilesets. Easy. :)

G_yoshi
09-11-2001, 02:22 PM
Originally posted by toad1413


I believe that I have a solution to that. :) Just put each of the tilesets on the admin house, and have setimgpart 0,0,16,16 on them. Also have them up in the top left hand cornet. That way, when people go into the admin house, it will download the tilesets. Easy. :)

this is more than one use for that command ;)

toad1413
09-11-2001, 02:30 PM
Originally posted by G_yoshi


this is more than one use for that command ;)

Yup, I guess it is. ;)

Infamy
09-12-2001, 05:10 PM
it would cause more lag to the server, just like them darn railroad tracks.

kfa_2000
09-12-2001, 05:50 PM
yay snow script!

if (created) {
this.snow=28;
this.sfdef={1,1,63,63};
this.speed={1,1.5};
//
setarray this.snow, this.snow*3;
for (this.s=0;this.s<this.snow;this.s++) {
this.snow[this.s*3]=random(this.sfdef[0]*10,(this.sfdef[0]+this.sfdef[2])*10)/10;
this.snow[this.s*3+1]=random(this.sfdef[1]*10,(this.sfdef[1]+this.sfdef[3])*10)/10;
this.snow[this.s*3+2]=random(this.speed[0],this.speed[1])/10;
}
timeout=.05;
}
if (timeout) {
for (this.s=0;this.s<this.snow;this.s++) {
if (this.snow[this.s*3+1]>this.sfdef[1]+this.sfdef[3]) {
this.snow[this.s*3]=random(this.sfdef[0]*10,(this.sfdef[0]+this.sfdef[2])*10)/10;
this.snow[this.s*3+1]=random(this.sfdef[1]*10,(this.sfdef[1]+this.sfdef[3])*10)/10;
this.snow[this.s*3+2]=random(this.speed[0],this.speed[1])/10;
}
else this.snow[this.s*3+1]+=this.snow[this.s*3+2];
showimg this.s,snowball.png,this.snow[this.s*3],this.snow[this.s*3+1];
}
timeout=.05;
}

wetferret1
09-14-2001, 10:01 PM
Dose not work.

SkooL
09-15-2001, 12:22 AM
Originally posted by mrkriton
:o I got a cable modem and i rarley get lag :-)

to everyone i love...:spam: I run on a DSL connection at home...